Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Tigon masterpiece
**** few slight spoilers ****
BOSC, emerged from the legendary Tigon stable shortly after the brilliant Witchfinder General which, in many aspects, it resembles and to which it can be justifiably regarded as a companion piece. Similarly set in 17th century England, BOSC also explores rural pagan beliefs and practices. Here though, the roles are most definitely...
Published on 15 Aug. 2005 by Cartimand

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tigon's Talons.
Out of Tigon Productions comes Blood On Satan's Claw. Directed by Piers Haggard (who co-writes with Robert Wynne-Simmons) it stars Patrick Wymark, Linda Hayden, Barry Andrews, Michele Dotrice & Wendy Padbury. Story is set in rural 17th century England and sees a village fall under demonic possession after a living one eyed skull is unearthed by the local ploughman...
Published on 30 Jan. 2011 by Spike Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BUY IT., 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood on Satan's Claw [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Excellent transfer, stunning bluray quality. All other formats and releases have been somewhat dark. Since the first time I saw this film on television ages ago, I just assumed it was supposed to be dark, gloomy 'mood lighting' because of the subject matter. After watching this bluray, I see realistic daylight luminosity, in full sun and cloud-cover. The all-important ritual nude scene at the end of the film reveals ALL which had previously been obscured in shadow. In all other releases I have seen, VHS and DVD, the nude dancer had always been visible only in silhouette; now we see her in the flesh. I suspect this key scene was darkened intentionally in the past, so it could be broadcast on television without needing to edit out the scene entirely. Later, that darkened version found its way to almost all (if not all) subsequent VHS and DVD releases. This bluray, however, has excellent light, dark, contrast, sound and color... and all of the naughty bits, as the film makers intended. Let's face it- with a title like 'Blood on Satan's Claw, aka Satan's Skin', this is not Disney. It's a raw, moody, atmospheric, gothic horror film in the best sense of those terms. The disc comes with a fairly good set of extra features. I am extremely happy that this UK release is truly region-free. It plays on my Samsung and Phillips players in North America fine... BUY IT. WATCH IT. LOVE IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Neglected Classic of British Horror, 24 April 2010
By 
G. K. Lowell "gkl206" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Blood On Satan's Claw' deserves to sit alongside 'the Wicker Man' and 'Witchfinder General' as one of the truly great British horror films. Astonishingly visually beautiful considering it was intended as a cheap exploitation film, it combines exquisite shots of the English countryside and interiors reminiscent of the Dutch masters. The period setting makes comparisons with 'Witchfinder General' inevitable but while there is no supernatural element whatsoever in that film, 'Blood on Satan's Claw' has an open ending which leaves both the possibility of the events being caused by mass hallucination and of genuine demonic activity.

A note on the DVD transfer. Earlier DVD editions of 'Blood on Satan's Claw' were matted to suit 4:3 televisions, meaning that you either had to suffer a small rectangle floating in acres of black on a 16:9 TV or blow up the picture making it very grainy. The March 2010 reissue is, as described, a proper widescreen edition removing those indignities from the film. Unfortunately it also omits the very informative commentary and featurettes which accompanied older editions, but being able to see the film properly is the most important thing. I'll be keeping my older version for them, though.

What's it about? Well, a ploughman in rural England in the seventeenth century uncovers something odd. Is it something ancient and evil or are the peasants simply worrying superstitiously? The Judge, an excellent performance by Patrick Wymark, initially inclines to the latter view, but as more and more weird and nasty events occur his modern, scientific world-view is challenged. Especially as the ironically-named Angel Blake - a performance of astonishing power, subtlety, and eroticism by seventeen year old Linda Hayden - begins to lead the local youth into very sinister "games".

The film is an 18 certificate and there are one or two moments which are quite tough viewing, notably a rape scene featuring former Doctor Who assistant Wendy Wadbury (Whovians might also look out for Anthony Ainley as the local vicar/schoolmaster)and a sequence where Michelle Dotrice has "Satan's Skin" (the rather better US title for the film) s removed via primitive surgery.

It's not perfect: the screenplay was hurriedly put together from three short stories and if you look carefully at the plot it's easy to see the joins, but this is an extraordinary film which deserves to be much better known than it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood On Satan's Claw, 17 Mar. 2012
By 
Santiago (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
I also own the previous anchor bay release and I must say this transfer is superior. the picture is superb for an older movie. the anchor bay release features commentary from the director, writer and actress Linda Hayden as well as a featurette on Linda, so I'm glad I have the previous release for these extras, but for the movie this release is far superior in picture quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Blu-ray transfer, 8 May 2013
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood on Satan's Claw [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I have the DVD which Odeon Entertainment released a couple of years ago & this Blu-ray is a great improvement for PQ. Good value on extras too.
However don't pay amazon £22.50 for it (-their price as of today, 08/05/13-)! get it from sainsburysentertainment.co.uk as I did and save yourself £6.51!! Surprisingly, it says "amazon verified purchase" but I didn't buy it here! I may have bought the DVD here a while back- there is much confusion on amazon between both formats when it comes to reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars stylish Tigon horror, 15 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I too discovered this through Mark Gatiss' recent History of Horror series on BBC4. Although I don't think it reaches the same heights as The Wicker Man, it is a really atmospheric film, beautifully and lushly filmed on it's limited budget and small set of country locations - a million miles away from some of those rather wintry-looking grey-blue Hammer exterior shots. A ploughman (Barry Andrews) turns up some half-human remains in a field and Satan soon returns to earth, manipulating and rebuilding himself predominantly through the local children and a few adults who starts to grow the patches of "Devil's Skin". It is an episodic film (disjointed to some), and I especially enjoyed the first half hour in the aunt's house - wonderfully claustrophobic stuff, making much use of low camera angles to reflect the original discovery of "the fiend"'s bones in a ploughed field and aided by a particularly solid performance from Patrick Wymark in his last film role. Good also to see James Hayter (the voice of Mr Kipling in my youth) as a pompous and dim-witted local squire, continuing that noble line that runs from Frankenstein's burgermeisters to the old fools in Herzog's remake of Nosferatu! The next half hour focusses on the effects of the evil on the local children, especially ringleader Angel Blake (a nod to the illustrations of William Blake there in the name perhaps?). She has a nude scene which for once seems totally appropriate and tasteful for a Tony Tenser production (no prudish body-stockings as in the Wicker Man!). There are some stunning images of forest and countryside here - when two boys first encounter young Cathy out picking flowers the shot is beautifully framed with flowering blackthorn or some such bush - and this section builds to the much vaunted rape (tame compared to Straw Dogs, say, but appropriate to the themes of evil awakening in these children). The film loses a little of it's narrative power from here on - maybe a constraint of the budget - and can seem a bit muddled at times. For example, the young hero suddenly gets from one spot to another at the end of the film in what seems no time at all. Also, the maid who has lost two children to the evil seems remarkably composed all things considered and wastes no time in taking in a young witch to replace her daughter. There's a tendency to develop characters in one section and then drop them later completely (the Parson, for example, and also Simon Williams' young nobleman). And I never understood where the aunt went to. But overall the film ultimately keeps on course, builds to a tense conclusion, ends abruptly with a freeze-frame as many Tigon productions do and is most definitely one of the best entries in the British horror canon. Extras include choice of original mono or Dolby 5.1, which seems to lend an eerie phasing to rainfall or strings. There's also a nice long trailer for the film, plus shorter trailers for Dr Terror's House of Horrors (starring Lee, Cushing et al, as well as Roy Castle and Alan "Fluff" Freeman (!) and one of the best horror omnibuses) and The Asphyx, which I hadnt heard of before but which looks dreadful! There's no documentary or commentrary on my copy of the DVD, but a good essay on the making of the film in the accompanying booklet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best horror films ever made, 3 July 2015
One of the best horror films ever made. It has that kind of freaky subversive feel. A pleasure to find on late Friday night as a kid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a true vision of what people feared was real, 12 July 2010
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This movie is a really good horror flick. It is very period authentic and it gives a great feel for what people really feared in those days. You can imagine that most people in villages of the late 1600's would believe that every bit of this was possible. They probably sat around and told tales just like this one. Which makes this a fantastic movie that doesn't try to be hip, it goes for a good creepy tale of horror. People were highly superstitious right up until the `1900's in most places only this tale plays it as not a village in hysteria which did happen in those very repressed days, but as a real evil lead corruption. The evil corrupts and leads people into violence ,sex and murder. In reality the hysterias would lead innocent people into getting killed by fearful people who believed stories just like this one!. Which we enjoy today as a horror movie.
That makes this story a eye opener if you watch this flick and look at it like that. I thought the acting was excellent as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blood on Satan's Claw, 20 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A British horror film that I have seen translated into several foreign languages. Set in 15/16 century agricultural England, when witch craft was supposedly in its hey day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk horror, 27 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is arguebly the best horror film ever made. I can write lengthy reviews but is repeating what everyone else is saying if you google. Like everyone said the only negative was the devil in the finale that looked unconvincing. I think the maker of the film share that view too. It was done on a budget and special effect at the time was not good enough. I'm not one for remakes but I would support the idea of updated scenes (like they did for Star Wars episode 1-4) so that they could make the devil look more credible and update the fight scene too.
I wonder if there are additional footage that did not make the cut back then but worthy of inclusion now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satan's Claw, 3 May 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A beautiful and atmospheric film set against a backdrop of isolation, susperstition and wild countryside. A semi-human set of remains are unearthed in a ploughed field, which set off a series of macabre goings-on between the young people of the village.
The story is very well acted, and the three characters of the Judge, Margaret and Angel are particularly effective. Presumably given an '18' certificate for one rape scene and various scenes of female nudity, the film is not as creepy as it could have been, given the story matter.
Some parts of the narrative are disjointed with some features having little or no explanation. For example, no tie-up between the frightened girl locked in the attic and subsequent discovery of her acquiring clawed hands was forthcoming, neither was the 'thing' that hid under the attic floorboards. Some actors were left hanging around, seemingly waiting for a part. The ploughed-up remains were never examined beyond the first couple of frames.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood on Satan's Claw [Blu-ray]
Blood on Satan's Claw [Blu-ray] by Piers Haggard (Blu-ray - 2013)
£19.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews