Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action, blood, tragedy, blood, supernatural, blood with a clever psychological element
Saya Kisaragi is seemingly normal girl who can be clumsy at times, and is kind to everyone that she knows and meets. Living in the hometown shrine she learns the "art of the sword" from her father, who is the head of the shrine.
She fights against creatures known as "ancient ones", which are a series of monsters that feed upon humans, using a sword left by her...
Published 7 months ago by Xodus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable
Not great as it does not live up to it's potential. More style than substance left feeling disappointed in the series.
Published 5 months ago by john taylor


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action, blood, tragedy, blood, supernatural, blood with a clever psychological element, 3 Jan 2014
Saya Kisaragi is seemingly normal girl who can be clumsy at times, and is kind to everyone that she knows and meets. Living in the hometown shrine she learns the "art of the sword" from her father, who is the head of the shrine.
She fights against creatures known as "ancient ones", which are a series of monsters that feed upon humans, using a sword left by her missing mother, and has promised to defend her peaceful town.
As she fights against them she learns more about who she really is, her real enemies, her real mission, and more importantly .... to whom did she promise?

This series is more than your average hack and slash gore fest anime. Yes there is blood, lots of it in fact at times, and there is also gore, but don't let this fool you. Once the key storyline starts moving after a couple of episodes you appreciate how clever it is, how even the smallest of moments are interconnected, and the message about what it means to be human.

This style of show is not normally what I watch (romance comedies where normally the only blood I see are from nosebleeds), and yet this series had me watching it all in one sitting, thoroughly enjoying the series and left me wanting more.

Watching this in blu-ray the animation is fantastic, and the action scenes superb and well paced, and combined with the storyline this series is definitely worth watching.

I have given this series a solid 4 stars out of 5. As much as I love the action and storyline there are a couple of niggles that wouldn't quite go away (can't go into without giving away spoilers), so I couldn't give it 5 out of 5.

I am very looking forward to Blood C: The Last Dark being released.

On a side note the Blu-ray itself I found odd in the sense that I had no control over the subtitles. If I wanted to watch the japanese version the english subtitles was always on (whether I wanted them on or not), and if I watched the english version I could not turn on the subtitles at all. I tried the disc on 2 different machines and got the same result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, shocking action-horror!, 21 Jun 2013
This review is from: Blood C - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The producers of Blood+, Blue Exorcist and the Evangelion reboot team up with Manga powerhouse CLAMP (Cardcaptor Sakura, Chobits and character designers for Code Geass) to bring the story of a highschool girl, and her nightly fight to protect her village from man-eating monsters. Blood C is a brilliantly shocking horror series, laced with mystery and suspense. I'd recommend the series to any horror-action fan, particularly those who enjoyed Hellsing, Bleach and Blood+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blud, blud, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I got this because I liked the original Blood - the last vampire. Somewhat of a personality / scenario change not an improvement but OK on a standard anime merit - still gory but gory isn't everything
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Twisted, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good anime is quite gruesome in some parts but is entertaining if you don't mind snuff and watching people get eaten alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Not great as it does not live up to it's potential. More style than substance left feeling disappointed in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gory happy fun times, 15 Aug 2013
If you like gory anime, combat, blood and interesting monster models you've come to the right place. You follow the summer life of Saya who has promised to protect everyone but who did she make her promise too? By day she's a student and by night a shrine maiden who must kill the elder bairn.

One thing i would say is this 12 episode series doesn't finish the story, the Blood-c Movie (Blood-C the last dark) is where i believe the story ends but the anime can still holds it's own, so take a chance try this out and don't forget to have some guimauve ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CLAMP does Blood, 23 July 2013
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Blood C - Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Saya Kisaragi is a High School girl who lives in a small rural town and lives in a shrine with her father where she works as a shine maiden and at night however Saya hunts down mysterious and dangerous creatures known as Elder Bairns who prey on the townsfolk. As Saya goes on with her life however, she discovers that things aren't quite as simple as they seem.

'Blood: The Last Vampire' was probably the first anime I ever watched and CLAMP have written some of my favourite manga (such as 'xxxHolic', 'Chobits', 'Cardcaptor Sakura' etc.) and so when I first heard that CLAMP were making the latest instalment of the Blood franchise (which includes 'Blood+' and the live-action remake of the original) I just had to watch it. Although the series is set in an alternate continuity to any of the other parts of the franchise 'Blood-C' retains the gore of its predecessors (viewable here in all its glory compared to the censored broadcast version I originally watched online) combined with the style and character designs typical of CLAMP. The animation of the series is generally good throughout with the Elder Bairns having some nice designs while the action is very nicely choreographed.

The English dub of the series is reasonably good with the majority of the cast giving good performances. Alexis Tipton was good as Saya and Lindsay Seidel did a brilliant job as the Motoe twins. Todd Haberkorn was also pretty much the only person who could have voiced his character considering who it turned out to be. The original Japanese is included of course but unfortunately I could not switch between the two while it was play for some reason.

The only real problem with the series is that it is a very slow starter with the first five episode or so being rather episodic but once the plot starts to get going in earnest, around episode six, it does become very good with some very nice plot twists. This is not to say that the first half of the series is totally boring as it does have some nice action and some reasonable humour here and there but the second half is a lot better. Unfortunately the series leaves a few things hanging at the end with the true end of the series being the film 'Blood-C: The Last Dark' and I am very much looking forward to its release.

Overall I feel that the series deserves around four to four and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vampires, monsters and... blood, 27 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blood-C is either one of the most brilliantly shocking horror series ever created, or one of the biggest practical jokes ever played on an anime-viewing audience. Through a violent, mystery-laced narrative, it explores some classic "big questions": Do those who fight monsters turn into monsters themselves? What does it mean to be a human or beast, to be good or evil? Where is the line drawn between fiction and reality? However, uneven storytelling and a bizarre plot twist right at the end leave an odd aftertaste.

p.s. Sorry but this info was nabbed from some where else.... <--- Noel McCabe
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very very mediocre, not worth the full price., 4 April 2014
By 
A. Timmins (dudley UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
( contains spoilers ) Sorry to the fans of this series but, the plot is very average , girl is fabled creature/government experiment etc. I really found this a challenge to watch all the way through, but did so in the hope it would improve. The end of it is this : spurting blood and guts does not a good anime make!

The good
Some good fight scenes
very gory in parts ( if you like that stuff )

The bad
Very very slow moving , i nearly didn't make it past the first 4 episodes ( bear in mind i watch a lot of anime, everything from fruits basket to bakemonogatari, FMA etc ) this picks up in certain parts and then the story gets so boring you start getting distracted by the tiniest things happening around you.
The lead protagonist can be so annoying , walking along the road singing totally random claptrap such as "im so happy , i cleaned my room , father will be happy, the sun is shining"in a squeeky most irritating voice, i think i actually regurgitated listening to it at one point. Also the voice acting is particularly unconvincing in parts.
She also has this strange habit of standing there watching her so called friends die before she fights, this is particularly noticeable in the school scene towards the end of the series.
Some of the main creatures are ok , but a couple at the end are so ridiculous that they spoil the series even more.

If you must watch this pick it up used or on sale, so glad i only paid 10.00 for it. It will basically just sit with my anime collection and never be watched again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great re-imagining of the blood saga, Series starts off a little slow, but quickly picks up with some great fight scenes. Really enjoyed watching it, although would have liked it to have had more episodes to the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blood C - Complete Series [DVD]
Blood C - Complete Series [DVD] by Naoyoshi Shiotani (DVD - 2013)
12.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews