Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars9
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2013
I will start off by saying that this series is so much fun. I've not laughed so hard in ages. The comedy is sublime and the story being as unique as it is only adds to the humour throughout and overall experience of watching it. I watched this dubbed and thought it was a very good translation. It was also executed very well too - something I was concerned about after hearing some people say it wasn't very good.

I know another reviewer on here commented the subtitling (or lack thereof in some places) takes away from this release, but it honestly didn't on my viewing of it. If anything it added to the uniqueness of the show. That may differ for some people, but for the record lack of subtitles for songs in anime doesn't concern me.

(Also in case anyone doesn't know, music rights are separate to the rights of any TV show in general. So if a song isn't subtitled (or ends up not being on a DVD completely) it's likely because they couldn't get the rights required. In this case the rights being to include subtitles (or an appropriate translation) the license holder was happy with. If you don't believe me, just google music licensing and you'll see how much of a head ache it is.)

For anyone interested, the bonuses on this release are a promotional video, and karaoke versions of the opening and ending themes.

Well worth buying if you ask me :)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2013
How to describe this excellent piece of Japanimation?
Quirky, crazy awesome, darkly comic can all describe this Anime.
The art is superb, the soundtrack is quality and the writing is brilliantly done, sucking you into a story of fate, invisible penguins, time jumping, stalking and tragic comedy.
For the first few episodes you will not really have a clue as to what is happening but letting the story slowly unfold is part of the fun and the episodes fly by.
This is now one of my favourite Anime's and will sit proudly alongside Madoka Magica, Elfen Lied and Serial Experiments Lain in my collection.
On a side note, you sometime's see little thing's paying homage to other Anime's in the background, the DeathNote is a blink and you miss it ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
Penquindrum is sure to keep you intrigued and willing to watch it to the end (this box set contains only the first half of the series) - the series is entertaining - sweet - dramatic - nostalgic - weird. I certainly was intrigued when one reviewer could not classify Penguindrum and in the "genre" section wrote - "Who Knows?".... After watching all of it, I still do not know, and quite happy with that! Certainly worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
Don't mistake me, penguindrum is a sheer masterpiece unlike anything probably since kunihiko ikuhara own last work: revolutionary girl utena. It's a superb, abstract- surrealist piece of art that should be watched and appreciated by every fan of anime and great television alike who are willing to pay attention and analyse the wonder that unfolds in this utterly magical show; as certainly, Kunihiko ikuhara is master auteur and his works are intricate, deep and emotionally powerful. However, kaze uk's release is sadly, horrid. The packaging is attractive and the menus slick and dynamic, true, however unless you are fluent in Japanese, the subbing problem of penguindrum is crippling.

Kaze does sub a number of on screen Japanese words, however they are far too inconsistent. A number of Japanese signs are left un-subbed in this release with even more Japanese signs being left untouched in the japanese Sub track due to kazes preference to keep to two lined subbing. The problem with this subbing issue is that 99% of what ikuhara shows on screen is deliberate and there for a reason, thus the viewer is missing out on large number of threads of thematic and symbolic undertones that permeate penguindrum. However, the subbing problem does not stop there.

Another problem is the subbing for songs. The opening and ending subbed versions are left apart from the actual episodes and kept as karaoke disc extras, however rock over japan is left unsubbed. Also if you view penguindrum in English dub track, the insert song sequences of the theatrical character singing in episode 4, which is fully integrated into the narrative, are left both un dubbed AND UN-SUBBED, making it a deal breaker for watching the show with the english dub track during that episode.

And of course for kaze uk releases you cannot switch between English dubbed and Japanese subbed tracks on the fly, causing a major annoyance for the viewer.

If you don't have a region less DVD player, then grit your teeth and buy this version, if you do however, go for the American sentai release, yes their version has a few sub typos and the packaging is fairly unflash, but it is wayy better a version than this.

The important thing to take from this review though is that you MUST watch this incredible show. Just not with this box set.
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2014
Even though I got this last it explains how the young girl dies and keeps coming back to life the the survival tacktice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
i was really looking forward to this anime after all the good write ups there where but i found it a little bit dull
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2013
Penguin drum may sound a bit weird at first glance but is actually a lot better than it sounds. The animation, story and music are all brilliant. Although it may not be to everyone's tastes it is definitely worth looking in to as it offers a good change of pace.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
If anything this show is bizzare, but in a good creative way.

Animation is decent, very vibrant and alive. Feeling simple and complex at the same time.

The English dub is mostly OK. A real shame about the lack of sub-titles during a few of the songs (while not necessary, it did break the immersion during those scenes.) Fortunately this is a minor issue as the visuals do a good job and make it easy to figure things out from context.

The characters are really likable and given plenty of depth. The story however is ..... complicated, but intriguing. Scenes go from comedic to very dark very quickly creating a very unique atmosphere. There are also numerous scenes that are very emotional, touching on some rather serious topics which usually don't get presented this bluntly in Anime.

Overall:
Penguin Drum is enjoyable and fun to watch, but be prepared for a strange tragic (kinda) comedy. The plot can be a bit hard to follow, but stick with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2016
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)