Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
Book 7, in the John Wells series

This series is wonderful and has stayed strong with idea and action stemming right from the news. This time, John our action hero after tackling bad guys across the world’s conflict zone may seem to be a bit weary but is no less as complex and satisfying protagonist. In “The Night Ranger” he enters new...
Published 7 months ago by Toni Osborne

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving but light on suspense
The Night Ranger is the seventh book in Alex Berenson's series about CIA agent John Wells, and yes, dear friends, I think I have read them all. (I say "I think" because the titles and covers are so generic that really, I can't be sure). The first book in the series presented an interesting, flawed hero - a CIA agent who has gone so deep undercover in Afghanistan...
Published 8 months ago by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast moving but light on suspense, 22 Jun. 2014
By 
Julia Flyte - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The Night Ranger is the seventh book in Alex Berenson's series about CIA agent John Wells, and yes, dear friends, I think I have read them all. (I say "I think" because the titles and covers are so generic that really, I can't be sure). The first book in the series presented an interesting, flawed hero - a CIA agent who has gone so deep undercover in Afghanistan for so long that he finds it near impossible to adapt back to life in the US. Since then, it feels like Berenson has tried a few different approaches to Well's character. Inside the system, outside the system. Romantically involved, lone ranger. (A balance which I think he's now got right).

This story is about four recent college graduates who volunteer for a short stint in a Kenyan refugee camp. When they are kidnapped, Wells is asked to go to Africa and attempt to find them. The story is riddled with coincidences, unlikely behaviours and cardboard characters, but the action is fast enough and the twists frequent enough that you can largely ignore the flaws. The one element which I truly disliked was the author's cynicism towards refugee camps.

It's is a perfectly acceptable, mindless read, light on suspense but heavy on action. It wraps up quite abruptly, leaving the impression that the author was churning it out to meet a deadline. If you've read and enjoyed this series, this is not one of the strongest but it's okay. If you haven't read the series, don't start here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely not up to par with his earlier books, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the book itself isn't terrible, it was definitely a couple of steps down from Alex Berenson's other novels. John Wells is out of his element and seems out of character in this book. Maybe that was the author's intent (being in Somalia vs. Afghanistan), but it just made reading the book feel like a slog. The bickering between Vinny Dutto and Schaefer got old after the first exchange.
If you've never read any Alex Berenson books before then don't start with this one - go with The Faithful Spy or The Ghost War instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 17 July 2014
This review is from: The Night Ranger (Ebook) (John Wells Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Book 7, in the John Wells series

This series is wonderful and has stayed strong with idea and action stemming right from the news. This time, John our action hero after tackling bad guys across the world’s conflict zone may seem to be a bit weary but is no less as complex and satisfying protagonist. In “The Night Ranger” he enters new territory and goes underground in East Africa to track four kidnapped aid workers for WorldCares, deal with the thugs and rescue them.

What makes this series exciting is the author’s deep understanding of geopolitics and what makes it tick. In this one he deftly portrays how the aid industry is prone to waste and corruption. His fictional aid agency is well- drawn to show how an egotistic director could possible profit from being at the head. This story is a fast read with plenty of action that weaves both the complexities of politics and the everyday life in Africa. The prose is taut, the dialogue first class, so smooth. I love the characterization even the bad guys had strong personalities and they are supplied with all the modern gadgetry to entertain us.

This series is not boring or has become stale. The plots are exciting and fun to read there are no dull moments, a sure way to keep us interesting from start to finish. This novel is hard to put down it is so grabbing. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Night Ranger., 31 July 2013
I have read and enjoyed Alex Berenson's John Wells series from the start and this latest did not disappoint. The only difference was that I felt an empathy with one of the bad guys. Wizard was a kidnapper, drug dealer and killer but he had that something that elicited sympathy and empathy, certainly far more than the hostages did.I love the action in Berenson's stories,it keeps me on the edge of my seat. Although John has calmed down somewhat in recent outings, become less brutal and cold, this does not detract from the danger and excitement of the stories. Can't wait for the next Wells outing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Once again Alex Berenson scores. I've now read all of the books in this series, and will be counting down the time until the next release (probably next year!). Good action and characters in unfamiliar (to me) settings mean I invariably am educated subconsciously about areas of the world and issues that I would only normally see on a News broadcast - whilst turning the pages at a fast rate. Gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 21 July 2013
By 
Amazon Customer "Bookworm" (Boston Lincolnshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wasn't sure at first whether this book would be a good as the others but once i got stuck into it, i was hooked. it had a great storyline and it made you want to read on until the end. A great read and well worth the wait. Definetly recomend it to those who have enjoyed the much loved Mitch Rapp series by the late Vince Flynn and enjoy a good thriller suspense. Give it 10/10!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Wells at His Best, 25 April 2014
By 
L. Lee Bowman (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night Ranger (Ebook) (John Wells Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Night Ranger is another great John Wells adventure.......based on solid research and a sound understanding of special operations. A must read for 'Berenson Fans'!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Weakest so far, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night Ranger (Ebook) (John Wells Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
Not a very impressive book. The author did a quickie here. Hopefully next book will be better. Perhaps he had to pay off a mortgage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night Ranger (Ebook) (John Wells Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading it, I'd say John Wells appears more real than Jack Reacher. Looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Night Ranger (Ebook) (John Wells Book 7) (Kindle Edition)
I've just finished reading A.Berenson latest and like the previous seven found it to be a good entertaining thriller.His characters are very strong and his dialogue is first class.My only problem now is having read books 1-8 in the last two months I have to wait at least nine months for his next novel a long pregnant pause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews