Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE DON'T FEED THE ZOMBIES
I didn't realize this was an Asylum production until after I purchased it. That said, I was not disappointed. The action takes place San Francisco. It is implied that due to government cutbacks (blame the Tea Party first crowd) the water supply got infected which lead to the zombie outbreak. There is a group doing research on Alcatraz headed by Dr. Lynn Snyder (Mariel...
Published 18 months ago by The Movie Guy

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The B-movie of B-movies
Okay, this movie is bad, but - come on - you already know that, don't you? With a title like `Rise of the Zombies' it's hardly trying to be Avatar. And it's not. It's not even just another lame entry into the seemingly never ending abyss of zombie movies out there at the moment. It's got to be one of the most awful attempts at a zombie film since `The Dead Next Door.'...
Published 17 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE DON'T FEED THE ZOMBIES, 4 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rise Of The Zombies [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't realize this was an Asylum production until after I purchased it. That said, I was not disappointed. The action takes place San Francisco. It is implied that due to government cutbacks (blame the Tea Party first crowd) the water supply got infected which lead to the zombie outbreak. There is a group doing research on Alcatraz headed by Dr. Lynn Snyder (Mariel Hemingway). There is another guy trying to develop a vaccine at Berkley who makes regular transmissions. When zombies start floating up at Alcatraz, that forces the two groups to come together.

I like the zombie effects. We had the split in half crawling zombie; the limb out of joint zombie; a suicide zombie; a new born baby zombie; and an amputation to prevent infection. Being California, long handled tasers and not AR-15s are the weapons of choice versus zombies. There is a an over abundance of zombie action. In one weird unconvincing scene Hemingway pulls a knife on Trejo who then looked scared. The dialouge needed some improvement, but considering it was Asylum, I can't complain. The really bad special effect was the new born baby, which was obviously a doll from behind, and a several months old live baby from the front. It gave me a chuckle. Trejo's appearance is slightly more than a cameo.

Also known as "Dead Walking" this appears to be the opening of a series like "Walking Dead."

Parental Guide: TV-14. No f-bombs, sex, or nudity. Plenty of zombie violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The B-movie of B-movies, 31 May 2013
This review is from: Rise Of The Zombies [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, this movie is bad, but - come on - you already know that, don't you? With a title like `Rise of the Zombies' it's hardly trying to be Avatar. And it's not. It's not even just another lame entry into the seemingly never ending abyss of zombie movies out there at the moment. It's got to be one of the most awful attempts at a zombie film since `The Dead Next Door.' And why is it so bad? Because it tries to be good.

It has no real budget. The CGI effects are truly awful (your average commercial has a higher budget). And the actors can't act. And, those who can, are given so little to work with it becomes pointless even having them there.

It's about a zombie plague, blah, blah, blah in San Francisco where people have set up a camp on Alcatraz. Only it gets overrun (pretty easily, for the record) and they head to the city to try and find a cure. Along the way expect the usual zombie headshots, people getting bitten and idiots not doing the sensible things, allowing themselves to get bitten (only all with a really low budget).

Danny Trejo is the film's highlight, but he's woefully underused. Yes, this film is bad - its major flaw is that there are simply a hundred better zombie films out there. Even those other B-movie undead films which you've probably hated are better than this.

If you like zombie films, you'll probably have seen (and own) better than this. If you don't like zombies then this one won't win you over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very good for what it was and gory, 25 Oct 2014
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise Of The Zombies [DVD] (DVD)
This was a pleasant surprise and it reminded me of the walking dead series only it had more gore scenes.
For a b-movie zombie flick it was very good especially in first half of the movie.
After a while it fell a little but it was never boring.
Just like zombie town and dead men walking and flight of the living dead it deserves a place in your dvd horror zombie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars oh dear!, 13 July 2014
By 
P. I. Simunovich "Yoda" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rise Of The Zombies [DVD] (DVD)
How do the careers of the likes of Mariel Hemmingway end up like this? Against my better judgement I purchased this on sale in a local store. It's like buying a lottery ticket, you hope for the best know it's a lost cause. There are some half decent scenes and it's chock full of B and C list celebs and to be fair I've seen worse. The production values however are poor. For example, the scene on the Golden Gate bridge.. The rails of the bridge wobble and in close up are obviously rough sawn fencing timber painted red! Zombie heads and faces are deathly blue/grey yet many maintain a healthy tan on hands and arms and the ceasarian is totally ridiculous. Yes it's low budget but really? It's easy to see how some of the abandoned street scenes were pulled off; people would have run from the streets to avoid being part of the shoot. What makes it look better than it is, is some half decent cinematography. I shouldn't expect much I know but I think that way this film trys to take itself seriously is what makes it sad. This is one of those movies that should sit at the back of a shelf till sheer desperation and boredom forces you to push play. Again, I v'e seen much worse and it does improve a little as it goes on but I should have known better. They say the definition of insanity is repeating the same thing and expecting a different result. If you're hard core or if you want to see the demise of a few acting careers give it a go. It's still a hell of a lot better though than the likes of 'Zombie Honeymoon' which should only be watched in bath with a toaster in your lap. Buyer beware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good., 7 July 2014
By 
Simon Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a good film, I enjoyed it.
Ok it's not World War Z and is a low budget film, the effects are pretty good, unlike most low budget films Danny Trejo works well in the film although he is not the main character.

The group of survivors are split into three groups leave Burton stays behind to try and find a cure while two groups go in land one try's to go sanctuary while the other go I search of a scientist. There's plenty of action and gore and in parts you do root for the characters.

Te acting is good unlike most low budget movies. The fight scenes are well rehearsed. The plot line is simple but that's what you want from a zombie film.

I gave it three stars because it's not brilliant but it's also not a rubbish movie.

I rented it and enjoyed it. So on that note make of what you will, but I'd say it's worth renting if your unsure about buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!!!!!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise Of The Zombies [DVD] (DVD)
Again Danny Trejo good actor, but when not the main actor in the film he seems to play a better part for some reason. In this film Rise Zombies you see more of him then some of his other films. Boston girls, his in it for three mins and falls over the stadium, and dies. The front cover clearly shows his picture on it has if his in the film for along time, but he isn't. Rise Zombies is not bad all though he still dies!!! Sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise Of The Zombies [DVD] (DVD)
gave this 5 stars for good packaging , it also arrived the next day, was what it said it was . i will definetly be recommending this ti all my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Zombie fans should enjoy, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rise Of The Zombies [DVD] (DVD)
It may not be the best zombie film out there but it's definitely worth a watch and if your a fan of the zombie film genre then you'll probably enjoy it. The acting was give and take, there are some of the cast who were superb (LeVar Burton) in my opinion he is the best actor in the entire film and gives a brilliant performance, some others in the cast give a good and enjoyable performances and then there are some who seem to have forgotten how to act. Over all it's an enjoyable zombie film that fans of the genre will enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Ok film, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Zombie movies, it's my favourite Horror Genre. Now this film is good but I've seen better, like Dawn of the Dead (Original).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars zombie movie that could have been so much better, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
could have been so much better from the constituent parts
effects and cast were fine, but the storyline had been chewed upon and on its way to being digested
an okay zombie movie if you're just passing some time, do not free an evening for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rise Of The Zombies Blu-ray
Rise Of The Zombies Blu-ray by Nick Lyon (Blu-ray - 2013)
£7.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews