Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars127
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.33+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 November 2014
I have played Halo a few times. First person shooters are not really my thing. I became a competition between my friends how quickly they could wipe me out. Despite that I did really like the storyline and the of course the graphics. I thought I would try this movie as it looked interesting. A very good movie, about the horrors, courage and sacrifice of war. I am told this is an in-between movie between Halo 3 and 4 then goes back in time to fill in the gaps of the other main character Thomas Ladsky.

The movie does really bring home the horrors of war. The cadets trained young. The pressure on them, their own ideologies, and of course the fighting and deaths. Thomas comes from a great military pedigree. His brother was a great soldier; his mother is a great leader. Though he has the making of a great leader he it tormented and traumatised. Given a choice, fate intervenes here it is killed or be killed. May be meeting a Halo legend will help. This movie has all the ingredients, good actor, a wide range of emotion, and does not hide from the brutality and sacrifices of war now or in the future.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
I was surprised to suddenly find this recently despite the fact it apparently came out at the same time as Halo 4. I hadn't seen anything about it previously and nor had the majority of my friends, all of whom are fans of the games. However, needless to say it was a pleasant surprise, maybe next time Microsoft and 343 will do a better job of advertising.

So how was the first highly anticipated Halo film, thankfully it was 'cheese less', well made, well acted and with a more than acceptable storyline. It reminded me of some ways of Starship Troopers (the good one) as it's set at an Academy, Corbula Academy although the Cadets are a few years younger even bordering on too young but you soon forget that.

I won't go into the story or specific details because I don't want to spoil it but what I can say is that 343 were very careful to get everything accurate and true to the games and books including at times some superb special effects and recreations. The blueray also contains an awful lot of extra's that are worth watching.

Forward Unto Dawn is a good start to a film franchise that should have been developed and released an awful long time ago. With Microsoft developing a series with Steven Spielberg, good times are ahead for Halo fans.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The story begins at the space academy where a group of privileged teens train to fight the "insurgents" a group of "over taxed farmers" as cadet Thomas Lasky (Tom Green) puts it. He has trouble with cryo-sleep as it makes him violently ill. He also has a love interest in Silva (Anna Popplewell, Queen of Narnia). The film centers around the character of Lasky and his relationship with his fellow students as well as his medical condition.

The students realize something isn't right. When the academy is attacked, they must all man up.

This is part of a series. As a stand alone film, it makes little sense as the background information is provided in bits and pieces. This is geared toward a teen/ young adult audience, having the feel of "Starship Troopers" with its over the top military propaganda speeches.

Rated TV-14, although outside of the violence, it could very well be PG. One co-ed locker room scene with girl in bra top. One use of "D" male member word.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 March 2013
This story is set before the events of halo 4, a fantastic story about a group of trainee UNSC soldiers who are forced into combat with the covenant when they attack, amazing live action feature length film with quality effects, the warthog is awesome and master chief is badass with a great costume built for this feature, this was a free download on Xbox live but this hi def version is much more quality with extra bonus content unseen, a must for fans!!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
Where do I begin - I LOVE THIS FILM (albeit it's a bit on the short side). I only wish Peter Jackson/WETA had had the courage to produce the full length feature film years ago when they had the chance - they would have easily made their money back just through the fans of the games alone.

This mini-film is a truly riveting story of a young man's personal conflict with his feelings about the war on the Insurgents, and centres around his life in a training academy for young UNSC cadets, who are at this point oblivious to the new terror about to be unleashed upon the Human race. Before long, all hell breaks loose, and we're introduced to some familiar heroes and foes. The story is convincing in it's own right, and as an added bonus, the opening and ending of the film also provide links between Halo 3 & 4, providing a nice bridge into the Halo universe for those that have not played the games yet (WHY NOT?).

I plumped for this Deluxe Edition, as I have with many of the games, and don't begrudge paying the extra for a Blu-ray/DVD combo set, as it is something I will cherish and watch for years to come.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
After many years of loyalty to the Playstation, I recently broke ranks and bought an XBOX 360. The main reason, Halo.

When I get into something I like to see support material, anything that adds to the world/universe/mythology. Matrix has the Animatrix, The Dark Knight has Batman Gotham Knights and Star Trek and Stargate have audiobooks.

Halo 4 has this. Forward unto Dawn is a great piece of filming, an introduction to a new universe of possibilities.

The build up is good, slow and steady, focusing on characters. A small military academy, a group of young cadets. A young man's journey.

Then "he" appears. The Master Chief.

Having never played the game and experienced first hand his presence, it was amazing. A giddy thrill to see him on screen. Live and very kicking.

This is for people who like sci-fi and particularly fans of the Halo series. As an introduction to the series it is excellent and well worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2013
This is what movie studios should look at when they finally try to make a Halo movie again.
Get Neil Blomkamp back with Peter Jacksons studios and get a Halo movie made, because Forward Unto Dawn proves that even with a small budget a Halo movie would be incredibly EPIC!

I love Halo, and have been a huge fan since day 1.

Forward Unto Dawn was funded by Microsoft for 343 Industries before the launch of Halo 4.

It is absolutely amazing and should be seen by all. 10/10 Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
As a massive Halo fan I couldnt help but be let down and disappointed with the poor overuse of CGI and the even poorer actors in this movie/drama.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
This is a well made film consisting of a good story line , graphics are clean and well dome, ties in the already known story of halo ready for the next step forward in the ongoing saga, pity that they haven't done this for all of the previous story of halo from the beginning up to now, that would be awesome. if you've not played the game or read the books this film is still worth checking out as it does stand up on its own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2014
Very loyal to the games, and the attention to detail is great. This needs more publicity and a string of prequels and sequels to help it make sense, but it is a very good, very bold attempt to recreate a genuine masterpiece. I really hope this is just the start of a franchise to rival the Marvel stuff. Can't speak highly enough of this film as a starting point.

HEROIC! LEGENDARY!! All hail the chief....!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.