Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forward Unto Dawn
I was surprised to suddenly find this recently despite the fact it apparently came out at the same time as Halo 4. I hadn't seen anything about it previously and nor had the majority of my friends, all of whom are fans of the games. However, needless to say it was a pleasant surprise, maybe next time Microsoft and 343 will do a better job of advertising.

So how...
Published 15 months ago by Je Salter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One for Halo fans
After watching the rather uneven Halo Legends a while back I wasn't expecting too much from this, but the live action TV ads provided some hope that this would be watchable. That turned out to be the case, in fact it starts really well with Cortana slowly losing her mind on the Forward Unto Dawn while the Masterchief is in cryo-sleep.Her distress beacon is picked up by...
Published 8 months ago by M. Brookes


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forward Unto Dawn, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Je Salter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was surprised to suddenly find this recently despite the fact it apparently came out at the same time as Halo 4. I hadn't seen anything about it previously and nor had the majority of my friends, all of whom are fans of the games. However, needless to say it was a pleasant surprise, maybe next time Microsoft and 343 will do a better job of advertising.

So how was the first highly anticipated Halo film, thankfully it was 'cheese less', well made, well acted and with a more than acceptable storyline. It reminded me of some ways of Starship Troopers (the good one) as it's set at an Academy, Corbula Academy although the Cadets are a few years younger even bordering on too young but you soon forget that.

I won't go into the story or specific details because I don't want to spoil it but what I can say is that 343 were very careful to get everything accurate and true to the games and books including at times some superb special effects and recreations. The blueray also contains an awful lot of extra's that are worth watching.

Forward Unto Dawn is a good start to a film franchise that should have been developed and released an awful long time ago. With Microsoft developing a series with Steven Spielberg, good times are ahead for Halo fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AT THE END OF THE GAME, THE KING AND THE PAWN GO INTO THE SAME BOX, 15 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
The story begins at the space academy where a group of privileged teens train to fight the "insurgents" a group of "over taxed farmers" as cadet Thomas Lasky (Tom Green) puts it. He has trouble with cryo-sleep as it makes him violently ill. He also has a love interest in Silva (Anna Popplewell, Queen of Narnia). The film centers around the character of Lasky and his relationship with his fellow students as well as his medical condition.

The students realize something isn't right. When the academy is attacked, they must all man up.

This is part of a series. As a stand alone film, it makes little sense as the background information is provided in bits and pieces. This is geared toward a teen/ young adult audience, having the feel of "Starship Troopers" with its over the top military propaganda speeches.

Rated TV-14, although outside of the violence, it could very well be PG. One co-ed locker room scene with girl in bra top. One use of "D" male member word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT LIVE ACTION MOVIE..", 2 Mar 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This story is set before the events of halo 4, a fantastic story about a group of trainee UNSC soldiers who are forced into combat with the covenant when they attack, amazing live action feature length film with quality effects, the warthog is awesome and master chief is badass with a great costume built for this feature, this was a free download on Xbox live but this hi def version is much more quality with extra bonus content unseen, a must for fans!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forward unto sequel., 19 Feb 2013
By 
The Truth "How it is" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
Surprisingly, this was quite a good film. I'm not a fan of the games (It's not that I don't like them but I've only ever played one) but that didn't spoil my enjoyment of it nonetheless.

I had never heard anything about this and thought it would probably be rubbish, but it surprised me in many ways. I'm not sure how much it cost to make, if it was a large or small budget film, because it seemed to have been filmed in relatively few locations (perhaps so it cost less to make) yet at the same time there where some amazing props and effects in it too.

Watching it, it seems to have stayed true to the Halo franchise, with costumes, vehicles, weapons and aliens all being faithfully recreated on screen. Viewers will recognise things like sticky grenades, the alien's plasma shields and the different types of aliens for instance.

Perhaps most surprisingly of all though was the story line. It wasn't groundbreaking by any stretch of the imagination - it was very simple in fact, revolving around a military academy in which the young recruits come under attack - but it was a decent set up for what looks like it could be a pretty exciting Sci-Fi franchise if it takes off; it certainly left me eager for more as the young squad (or what's left of them) scramble away from their training facility under the guidance of 'Master Chief' - no longer wet behind the ear rookies.

The acting too was pretty good too, which was a bonus given the young cast who all managed to pull off their roles convincingly enough. There is a bit of a slow start, but in the end it all kicks off and perhaps. My one grumble: perhaps the action could have come a bit sooner in the film and I would have liked to have seen more.

Things just get going and when the action starts it's all over too soon leaving you eager for more, but by the end of it, I'd enjoyed the film and wanted to see the next instalment... I just hope there is one. If I had the next film, I would have leaped up and stuck it in my BluRay player as quickly as possible. Part two looks like it'll be great. Fingers crossed there is one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
good film if u like scfi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
very good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sci-fi film ever!, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best sci-fi film i've seen since x-files! It's full of action, some parts pretty sad and the rest well... what more can I say but epic! I recommend this to any halo fan out there! you got to buy this or your missing out on something truly amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Halo 4, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was not sure about this when I bought but,really enjoyed it.
Master Chief was,as should be,mysterious and commanding.
Give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
was well pleased with the blue ray and it now sits within my collection with pride, need more halo movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars halo 4, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD] (DVD)
this movie is a lot better than i thought it was going to be,don't see much of master chief but non the less a good story line and well worth purchasing if your a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD]
Halo 4: Forward Unto Dawn [DVD] by Stewart Hendler (DVD - 2013)
£5.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews