Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN EASY TO FIT TOWBALL BIKE CARRIER
Delivered quickly and on a Saturday. Good service. The carrier is a good concept, generally well designed and built and it sits surprisingly solidly on the towball.

However, there are a couple of caveats. Initially, we could not fit either of our mountain bikes as the horizontal arms were too far apart (21"). I had to drill extra holes further down the Vee...
Published 23 days ago by Derekm

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Badly made product dreadful customer service
This product looked great. But it is really poorly made and doesn't fit all cars ! We tried it on 3 different standard tow bars it fitted none you then try and phone them and the phone is on answering machine . I email them and they won't accept it back unless I pay for cost to return
Don't buy one of these is my advice .
Published 11 months ago by richard cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN EASY TO FIT TOWBALL BIKE CARRIER, 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
Delivered quickly and on a Saturday. Good service. The carrier is a good concept, generally well designed and built and it sits surprisingly solidly on the towball.

However, there are a couple of caveats. Initially, we could not fit either of our mountain bikes as the horizontal arms were too far apart (21"). I had to drill extra holes further down the Vee posts to refit the bike support arms at 16" apart.

The first (gents) MB fitted quickly and perfectly, but the second (ladies) took some juggling. One of the clamps fitted under the crossbar behind the steering head and the other was a bit of a fiddle, finally fitting in the Vee between the saddle tube and the rear down tubes. Ideally, the bike support arms could do with being about 3" longer.

Don't let these comments put you off a basically good product. If you have a drill, a 6mm bit and accept 15minutes of basic DIY, it does what it says on the tin.

Note to Tooltime: I think you should suggest to the manufacturer that:-
a) they make the bike support arms about 3" longer and
b) they drill extra pairs of holes down the Vee posts, so that the bike supports can be fitted closer together. If the spreader bar had to be fitted in any of the lower holes provided, the bike supports would be even further apart.

In a production environment, these two small mods would only cost pennies and would vastly improve what is already a generally sound product and would warrant 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Product quality ..& TIPS how to secure bikes to bracket to stop the bikes being stolen, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
A little thinking about how to strap on a childs two wheeler bike ,adults bike no problem ,sorted after a few minutes ,the bracket is of high standard fits tight keeps bikes away from car bodywork and price I do,nt think you,d find cheaper .delivery very quick and every thing in parcel was well packed ,tip they supply a keyhole pin to insert in hole of cross piece locking bars ,exchange this with a long type padlock and this then stops anyone from removing the bracket off the tow ball , a length of chain around bike frame and through bracket with another padlock makes bikes safe whilst unattended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tool and surprisingly easy to use, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
This was a speculative purchase and I am pleased with the product. It is excellent value for money. The speed that one can set up and hang the bike ready for a trip is good. I live in a rural area and the roads can be lumpy and twisty but the carrier sits well and the bike is secure. The addition of a bit of bungee cord finishes the job and you are good to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doe`s exactly what it says it will do., 22 May 2013
By 
J. Blower - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
Looked around for a while for a cycle carrier. Saw this on Amazon and for the price gave it a go. Can`t be more pleased with it. I bought a pad lock to lock it in place. Works perfect just what you need and a bargin for the price.Fast delivery too. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
The rack arrived in a small box. Some adjustment may be necessary said the instructions. Not at all! Put onto towbar and fitted in seconds. Removal the same. It is not bad looking and fully functional and around 20. Time will tell how long this will last, but it is made of steel so should be ok.
The benefit over the non clamp version is obviously the clamps which put the price up by a heady 3 or so, but save the bike's paintwork
Bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not used yet but managed after a lot of pressure ..., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
Not used yet but managed after a lot of pressure to attached to tow bar, don't think it doesn't fit, just apply a lot of strength to it, easiest way is to stand on step ladder and press down with foot but put pins in quick as it pops up slightly when you let go
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Universal Car towbar mountedbike carrier, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
Amazingly simple, sturdy and quick to attach, great value. Worth spending a little time sorting how the bikes fit and getting pipe insulation for padding, very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Works really well first time out!, 9 Jun 2014
By 
M. Patterson "Old F**t" (Southend, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
Not that second time out will be any worse. It's just that I have only used it once as a trial and I though it was remarkably strong and rigid and safe with a bike fitted. It does take a bit of 'grunt' to operate the 'scissor' mechanism both for fixing and releasing, but other than that it is quite easy to use, and with the locking pin in place I cannot see how it will fail on, say, a long haul down to the Med through France!! I didn't give it 5 stars only because the scissor mechanism is quite tough to operate, and also because I have only used it the one time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for vans, 4 Feb 2014
By 
M. Siviter (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
Brilliant for a car but not much good for a van or estate as the bike handlebars are too close to the car and have to be turned sidewards with the front wheel removed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Badly made product dreadful customer service, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Car Towbar Mounted 2 Cycle Bike Carrier with 4 Clamps
This product looked great. But it is really poorly made and doesn't fit all cars ! We tried it on 3 different standard tow bars it fitted none you then try and phone them and the phone is on answering machine . I email them and they won't accept it back unless I pay for cost to return
Don't buy one of these is my advice .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews