Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long Time Coming, 5 Aug 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Longmire: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I am late to the series, Longmire, as it has just started it's third season. Having run out of good TV on most nights, I reverted to Netflix and discovered Longmire. Watching one episode, and I knew I had found another series to follow. I have viewed the first season, and though I find the series slow moving it sticks with me. And, the reason is, of course, the writing and the characters.

The series follows Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming's Absaroka County, big country with tall fur trees, snow and plains you can see from here to Monday. Longmire, it seems is returning to work after his wife's death. Longmire is an intelligent, likable fellow, who knows his job, but has been blindsided by his wife's death. Longmire is layer by Robert Taylor, an Australian actor. He has a small staff, a new deputy, Vic, a pretty blonde, brought to Wyoming from Philadelphia, to follow her husband's job. Another deputy, Branch Connally, is a know it all SOB, who is working behind Lngmire's back to run for Sherriff. Branch is a lazy man, looking for the easy way, and, not fit to be Sherriff. There is another deputy who doesn't seem to know much, but he tries hard. An office manager, Dorothy, runs the place and keeps it from falling apart.

Longmire's old friend, Henry, played by Lou Diamond Phillips, who runs the local bar, 'Red Pony', is essential in telling him the truth, and he ruins interference with the local Indian Reservation. At one time L gmire jailed thenChief of the Reservation, and there is no love for Longmire within the Indian group. Longmire's daughter, Cady, is a lawyer in a local firm. She and Henry have kept Longmire from falling completely apart during the last year.

In each episode some sort of crime, usually a murder occurs. Lngmire in his wisdom never jumps to conclusions, always looks at the facts, and often is on the side of the underdog. Something his deputy, Branch, always fails to do, and he falls on his face. The characters and the writing set this series apart. Plus the big country is so beautiful, even though I read filming takes place in New Mexico and Nevada. It is the wide open spaces that gives pause to the sparse talking Sherriff. He means what he says, and he talks only when he really needs to. In one episode, Longmire travels five hours to tell a wife her husband is dead. In the telling, falls apart. His wife's death is always near the surface.

I understand the long awaited election is to take place soon, and like some in Chicago, I vote for longmire even though I do not live in Wyomng.

Recommended. prisrob 08-05-03
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 5 Jun 2013
By 
R. J. Cross (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Longmire: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
A surprising good show. Well written, well acted and charming funny. Lou diamond Philips is particularly good as the friend of the old hand sheriff. The scripts are is good as the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Longmire : Series one, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longmire: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Each episode is loosely based on the books. I have only read the first book as of yet but parts of the story line of this book appeared in the first and last episodes. Having said that both the book and the DVD's are excellent. I could not put the book down or stop the DVD player until the end. If you fancy a modern Western / Detective this is for you. Thoroughly recommended. Can't wait for series two, and am now ordering the second book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent modern day western detective, 20 Oct 2013
By 
B. D. Compton "Gettysburg" (Johannesburg,South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Longmire: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I found this little gem at the the loval DVD hire shop and was thoroughly absorbed in the series as the plot and characters are so well developed for a TV show, i would imagine that the books would be even better, but for a TV show these were excellent. In adddition the stories are centred around Absoroka County, New Mexico, close to an Indian Reservation and interwoven in many of the stories are Indian culture and the plight of the remnants of the Indians on a reservation.

The actors i do not know, except for Lou Diamond Philips, who plays the Indian owner of the local bar 'The Red Pony' and a friend of Sheriff Longmire. He is excellent but so are the rest of the cast, there are no disappointments.The scenery is great as is the cinmatography and the whole series is very well produced.

In my humble opinion, it knocks spots of "Justified' in every cinematic and acting way and if you want to see well told stories, which mostly include a murder, then i cannot recommend this series highly enough. It is a pity that they only seem to have made one series, probably because it was not commercial enough for the average non thinking viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longmire - Season 1 (DVD)
Very good. I want to visit Wyoming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A modern day western in the style of Justified, but with an older main character, 6 July 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "maria2222" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Longmire - Season 1 (DVD)
Longmire (Robert Taylor) is an old fashioned Wyoming sheriff who doesn’t hold back from a good fist fight if it can help resolve the disputes fast and efficiently. He is mourning his wife’s death while trying to hold on to his office as sheriff, which is being challenged by one of his own deputes, Branch Connally (Bailey Chase). His best friend, Henry (Lou Diamond Philips) is an Indian who runs the local bar and his team is made up of 1 flirty female (Katee Sackhoff) and 2 male deputes Branch as mentioned before and Ferg (Adam Bartley).

He doesn’t have a mobile which means that he constantly inconveniences everybody around him because they either can’t get hold of him or they have to chase him down to send him off on some murder investigation. This is one thing that I really don’t like about the series. It makes him seem selfish and childish – and of course a lawman would have a phone in this day and age! The missing phone seems to play a major role in the first episodes, but thankfully that warrants less of a mention as we get to know the characters and their interaction.

It is quite slow moving, but as the acting is of a very high standard throughout and it is based on good stories without gore and with a minimum of blood on display – even after all the fistfights and gun shots, so I was kept entertained throughout. I have not read the books on which they are based, so I do not know how well they follow those stories, but if they’re anything like the series, they would be worth a read.

If you like Justified and Deadwood, there is a likelihood that you would appreciate this series as well.

I watched it on Netflix, so this is only a comment on the contents and quality of the series and not any DVD extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Longmire Review, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This DVD collection is well worth the value for the price paid, I would definitely recommend this box set to anyone that follows the Longmire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longmire: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Fab show. Great cast. Good stories. Beautiful scenery. This is a great show and I am looking forward to the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to roots no-nonsense detective series, 4 May 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Longmire: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Robert Taylor (Storm Warning) stars as Sheriff Walt Longmire, a World weary old school style Sheriff struggling to overcome recent hardships & fending off attempts of being usurped as Sheriff, while trying to police his state of Wyoming USA.

Overall the thing we like about Longmire most is it's rustic charm & not trying to be another scientific, slick CSI wannabe T.V show. Even it's camera work is a mixture of very professional cinematography & some nice rugged hand held wobbly camera work that suits the feel of the show nicely. They also don't go OTT with gruesome visuals of dead bodies thanks to some prudent camera work to hide the explicit sight nice a subtly with the use of the surroundings, as the cast sell the situation so well that you can picture things yourself pretty well enough. It's unique backdrop of rolling hills, forest's, streams & wildlife gives the additional feel of isolation & added danger to catching the bad guys. Where the main staple is a nice combination of cases to solve, that more often than not we find ourselves just watching them unfold in awe of the shows basic yet engrossing style, as opposed to always trying to guess who did it. The personal lives of the characters, they're relationships & interactions offer up a nice distraction as well, while occasionally rolling out some past T.V & movie actors in bit parts helps inject fresh diversity.

On the acting front the casting very well done. Well traveled Australian actor Robert Taylor fits perfectly into this role at this stage in his carer. He embodies the last of old school law enforcement in his twilight years perfectly, with his strong on screen presence of rugged charm & unflappable coolness under pressure as a beacon of hope or rock for his younger officers to rely on or look up to. His characters interest in the Native American culture, given the US state of Wyoming's past & current reservations that are used in the show, have an uneasy & distrustful relationship towards white people. This is where Lou Diamond Phillips (Young Guns ) as Henry Standing Bear, the owner of the local watering hole, The Red Pony, comes in ably as the intermediary between the two cultures when needed, and his finger on the local grapevine offers up nuggets of information. Katee Sackhoff (Battlestar Galactica) heads up Longmire's deputies as the feisty 'Vic' Moretti, who Walt is like a father figure too. Bailey Chase (Saving Grace) as Branch Connally on the other hand is the cocky deputy who thinks he can do Walt's job better than him (both are visually pleasing for the male & female audience to enjoy) & Adam Bartley as Ferg is the bumbling new recruit who doesn't take sides. While Cassidy Freeman (Smallville) as Walt's daughter Cady, adds a little family drama.

In conclusion, while Longmire is a step back in time from before the likes of CSI jazzing up the detective crime shows, that's not necessarily a bad thing. In fact, it's a nice straightforward detective series that is a welcome change from all that scientific, CSI stuff. Contains mild language, violence & mature themes. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Western, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Longmire: The Complete First Season [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
I love the story and how it is told.
Only a bit anxious before getting next episodes, hope it will be soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews