Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have reference and inspiration book
I have an extensive collection of embroidery/textile craft books - I love them! Just when you think you can't possibly find a book as good as your best in the existing collection you come across a gem.

This book is packed with inspiration and very clear instructions for working stitches in threads, yarns and ribbons. There are also suggestions for what the...
Published on 17 Jan. 2013 by Mrs. L. Burn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Review
I thought it had no new material and was just a repeat of her old work.Pictures good.explanations good.I was disappointed
Published on 9 Mar. 2013 by Maxy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have reference and inspiration book, 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. L. Burn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have an extensive collection of embroidery/textile craft books - I love them! Just when you think you can't possibly find a book as good as your best in the existing collection you come across a gem.

This book is packed with inspiration and very clear instructions for working stitches in threads, yarns and ribbons. There are also suggestions for what the stitch can create well. ie this stitch works well for... I was pleasantly surprised at the variation and distortion of 'well known' embroidery stitches. Montano has prepared little photographic samples of stitch combinations as well as clear instructions on how to create stitches.

If you are looking for a book with start to finish projects this, I would say, is not for you. However, if you want inspiration with a new take on working with fibres or just plan to leaf through and enjoy a thoroughly well written and illustrated book, it is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free Form Embroidery, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches into Fiber Art (Kindle Edition)
Very useful book.
Explains pictorially how to do the stitches, but even more importantly suggests when and where to use the stitches giving examples in Judith Baker Montano's own work.
I have the book on my kindle which is ok, but is in black and white , however I have found it incredibly useful in colour on my laptop, strategically positioned in front of me while working on my embroidery pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Free form hand embroidery at it's best!, 25 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you love to hand stitch embroidery and want some inspiration then buy this book. Illustrations and drawings show you how to use the stitches in a real art form. This author understands embroidery and art from pesonal experience. You can design your own images or copy those in the book. I have shown it to friends who are now buying it too. Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new stitcher, 2 Feb. 2013
By 
corgiboys (Worcestershire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The ideas in the book are so contemporary. I've never enjoyed embroidery so bought this book to see if I could start to like it. I loved it - using traditional stitches in a new and exciting way was so creative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a help!, 19 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is not only interesting to look at but really useful too. It gives suggestions for suitable stitches to reproduce or create trees, flowers ,coral etc . It shows how to use thread and fabric to 'paint' pictures ànd gives ideas on how to present finished pieces. There are lovely hand painted illustrations of a variety of trees and plants and advise on the combination of stitches required to reproduce them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fabulous book, 15 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a must have have for anybody who would like to expand their embroidery skills to their own designs. It is for anybody who is looking for inspiration for their own work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loevly book, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a fantastic book filled with soem intersting textile ideas and provides goodtutorials for people who may have nit trie dthese techniques before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but not quite for the complete beginner..., 12 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As an absolute beginner to the world of free-form embroidery this book has proved a handy starting point. The tools of the trade are explained in detail, as are the different threads, ribbons and yarns. The list of fabrics that can be used is comprehensive, too despite it not being abundantly clear which fabrics work best with which weight ribbons/ threads etc. I presume practice is all that's needed but a little bit of hand-holding would have been useful.

The stitch guide is fantastic. Compiled in alphabetical order it gives finished examples, and which effects they're most useful for. This part of the book is invaluable and almost worth investment for that alone.

The latter stages give suggestions for creating trees, seascapes and landscapes which, as a beginner, I found inspirational rather than instructional.

I like the book very much, but could do with a bit more fabric use info and, perhaps, an easy-to-follow step-by-step picture to complete. If you've some experience already of free-form embroidery, you could do a lot worse than add this book to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love pictures of finished work and great diagrams for stitching, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I did some classes with Judith In Long Beach 2 years ago and loved her work. This book captures some lovely examples of her work and her easliy accessible teaching methods... I have already begun to use it and am sure i will use it lots, unlike some needlwork books which sit on my shelf more as picture books than tools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and beautiful, 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Jo (GREAT YARMOUTH, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Free-Form Embroidery with Judith Baker Montano: Transforming Traditional Stitches into Fiber Art (Kindle Edition)
easy to follow with clear simple diagrams. I love the the exploration of one scene/topic in limited stitches very effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews