Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I honestly can't understand the negative reviews
When I went to pre-order my PS4 the one launch time that stood out as something a bit different was Knack. It wasn't the same old shoot 'em up or racing game, it looked something more unique and that is why I picked it as the game to go with my new PS4.

Then the reviews started coming in and really slating the game and I did think about cancelling the pre-order...
Published 7 months ago by Michael

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite got the knack of it
Some games just seem to set themselves up to fail. Take Knack, a game created for the Playstation 4 by one of the heroes of the original Playstation, Mark Cerney; creator of Marble Madness and producer of Crash Bandicoot. How could that possibly go wrong?

Knack feels a lot like Crash, it’s a platformer with no pretence of being anything else and...
Published 20 hours ago by Paul B


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I honestly can't understand the negative reviews, 1 Dec 2013
By 
Michael (Stockport, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
When I went to pre-order my PS4 the one launch time that stood out as something a bit different was Knack. It wasn't the same old shoot 'em up or racing game, it looked something more unique and that is why I picked it as the game to go with my new PS4.

Then the reviews started coming in and really slating the game and I did think about cancelling the pre-order and chording another game but I am so glad I ignored all the negative reviews. Knack is such a fun game to pick up and play. There is no big learning curve like in other games and it is a real throwback to the classic platformers. In fact It's probably one of the best launch titles I've played of any console.

The controls are very easy to learn and the gameplay reminds me a bit of the Ratchey and Clank games, collecting power ups and beating up enemies.

I honestly cannot believe the poor reviews the press have given this game. I think it appeals to a wide audience and adds something a little different to gaming catalogues that are overflowing with FPSs and racing games. I hope Sony make it into a series like Jak and Daxter or Ratchet and Clank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars have you the knack?, 1 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
Excellent game. Its fun, not too difficult and has a decent story which you follow. Concept of the main character is clever.

Scenery is also wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite got the knack of it, 9 July 2014
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
Some games just seem to set themselves up to fail. Take Knack, a game created for the Playstation 4 by one of the heroes of the original Playstation, Mark Cerney; creator of Marble Madness and producer of Crash Bandicoot. How could that possibly go wrong?

Knack feels a lot like Crash, it’s a platformer with no pretence of being anything else and it’s all about jumping, hitting enemies, avoiding things and collecting power ups. The gameplay is pretty much as old school as you can get. So why was it a flagship launch title for PS4?

The main focus here is on the titular character himself and his ability to grow big or small using ‘relics’ found throughout the game. In the initial previews this looked like a cool idea, controlling the size of your playable character and using some neat particle effects to show off the power of the console. In practice, Knack grows bigger and smaller only when scripted to do so and usually without any help from the player.

So that leaves us with the platforming element, which is pretty much old school platforming by numbers; path from A to B with a few creatures to kill, then a locked area that needs to be cleared before being opened. It’s not bad by any means and there’s nothing wrong with it, but it’s certainly not anything new or exciting.

Throughout each level there are yellow crystals to collect that give you a sort of solar power. This allows you to fire pieces of your relic-based body at enemies or turn into a whirlwind. These powers are essential for clearing some of the more pesky enemies, but use it too early and you’ll run out of power to use it again when you most needed.

Being defeated at this stage will then lead you back to some rather harsh restore points, forcing you to go through all those sections again, but at least it lets you keep the power you’ve already harvested. This leads to repeating levels a few times until you have enough of the sunspark power to get through (and know where to use it), which does get tiring at times.

Knack is a good looking game, too, but hardly a poster boy for the next generation. The bright, colourful levels and the main character himself are used to good effect and some of the enemies are huge. The issue is that, as with the gameplay, the graphics are nothing new and easily ignored as you play through another level set in ice/rocks/tunnels.

While all of the above makes it sound as if Knack isn’t worth picking up, this isn’t entirely true. The game is a fun little platformer that will appeal to younger players and those looking for a simple old-fashioned game for their next gen console, but with no complicated next gen setups or over-blown multiplayer modes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great exclusive., 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
A very simple game. Plays alot like God of War. Graphics are brilliant. I can't understand why people don't like it. The game probably lasts about 5 hours give or take. They is three difficulties to choose from. I would recommend medium or hardest because the game was quite easy on medium setting. If people keep bashing every new game that is realesed then all we would get is shooters. People complain all the time about how all we get is shooters, then knack is realesed and people bash it. Was it as good as crash bandicoot? Probably not. But still a great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for the under 12's, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
Why oh why are there not more fun PS4 games for the under 12's this one ticks all the boxes, great graphics and although I don't play it the kids seem to enjoy themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple yet incredible game, 12 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
Knack was a blast to play, I actually got engaged by the story quite a bit with a few plot twists.

The graphics overall are quite impressive, although not up to the likes of Shadow Fall but still better than any offering on the 360 or PS3! The gameplay is basic, the way it was designed, and it works really well to just pick up and play with tonnes of collectibles and a companion app.

This is perhaps joint best launch game for Playstation 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must BUY!!!!, 1 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
Where to start??

This game is by far the most underrated game of all time because it has everything. Graphics are crazy, gameplay is great and responsive, the sound of the things you collect can be heard directly in the controller.
The game is challenging enough which makes it for all ages.
On top of all this, it's playable in co-op.
You don't have a second controller but you have a vita? One player can control the game with Vita and the other one with the DualShock 4.
Everything is made for the player to enjoy and have a great experience.
BUY this game, you won't regret it at anytime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
This game is amazing the graphics are stunning and the story o f the game it's self is funny and keeps you wanting to play more of it all the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Game for Everyone, 3 Dec 2013
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
Easily my favorite PS4 retail game (next to Resogun). The visuals really pop off the screen. It's a game that appeals to all ages, but is extremely challenging on the normal difficulty. Highly recommended for every PS4 owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's fun, why is that a problem?, 4 Dec 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Knack (PS4) (Video Game)
Quite simply Knack is a fun launch game. The graphics are solid but the idea and concept could have been done on the PS3 and that's why it's been slated by the critics - the graphics are better than PS3 but reviewers want bleeding edge Pixar animation, which for a launch title this is not at that level, albeit I think the PS4 could get to that after the developers have a few years playing with the hardware.

It's a typical 'Playstation' game, a bit like a Crash Bandicoot/Spyro type game. It's fun, the mine with the relics is the best chapter so far (I think chapter 5). The number of enemies on screen is quite impressive at times.

Single player covers 11 worlds and is around 12-13 hours to go through each time, to get all the extra's double that. It's also 48GB in size so no wonder it was never a download only game. Co-op play is also decent.

The ability to grow and shrink in a platformer has been done for 25 years, this however puts a new spin on the way it is done and is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Knack (PS4)
Knack (PS4) by Sony (PlayStation 4)
18.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews