Customer Reviews


370 Reviews
5 star:
 (229)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-powered and super-enjoyable.
As a new convert to PS4 after years of being an Xbox 360 player, and having never owned a PS3, I came into this Second Son with no experience of the previous inFamous games. This is the first game I bought for my new PS4, and it didn't disappoint. As a fan of superhero films and games, the plot and powers of the character appealed to me.

The game centers on a...
Published 9 months ago by Ant Etches

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Newcomers to series might enjoy, not so great for veterans
On one level this is a pretty good game. Graphically it has few equals on console and as such it was/is a great "show off" game for early PS4 adapters. For the most part it also plays quite well and the new super hero mechanics certainly feel a step up from the previous inFamous games on PS3.

However, the problems which manifested in the previous games,...
Published 6 months ago by JunkieXcel


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-powered and super-enjoyable., 18 Aug. 2014
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
As a new convert to PS4 after years of being an Xbox 360 player, and having never owned a PS3, I came into this Second Son with no experience of the previous inFamous games. This is the first game I bought for my new PS4, and it didn't disappoint. As a fan of superhero films and games, the plot and powers of the character appealed to me.

The game centers on a 24 year old delinquent called Delsin Rowe, who accidentally absorbs the powers of a superhuman "conduit", and is interrogated by force by the concrete-powered head of the Department for Unified Protection, Brooke Augustine. She and her organisation are out to capture and detain all super-powered humans. Delsin sets off from his tribal home with his straight-laced cop brother Reggie to confront Augustine and topple the authoritarian D.U.P. Along the way he meets others who have great powers, and gets a chance to use them.

This is a really fun game. Delsin's various powers are incredibly satisfying to use, and the fluidity of the controls helps to feel as empowered as Delsin is in the game. You start off with the ability to throw fireballs at people, and as the game progresses you gain other cool powers such as Neon and Video. Enemies can prove quite tough at first if you are a newcomer to this franchise, but after a while defeating them becomes fun and fairly easy. The graphics are superb, the makers of this game really went to town to make the fictionalised Seattle setting seem realistic, with gleaming puddles of water and stunning sunsets and textures. The usually dependable Troy Baker does a good job with Delsin, and the supporting cast are equally strong. The dynamic between the livewire main character and his sensible brother makes for some great interaction. Some have said that they found the main character irritating and cheesy, but I didn't find this in my opinion. It's a shame some of the other characters weren't fleshed out more in the game, rather than just through some stylish cut scenes.

The strongest point of this game are the incredible powers that you collect and upgrade throughout the story. These allow you to disappear through vents, throw fireballs, speed up the side of buildings, fire laser beams, summon an avenging angel and unleash incredible karmic attacks on large swathes of super-powered enemies. The choices you make determine what kind of powers you gain. Save people and avoid killing civilians and you gain good karmic powers, kill people and trash the city and gain bad karmic powers. Whichever one you choose, both are impressive.

On the downside, the game is fairly easy, as I hinted at earlier and in some ways it is a little too simple. I finished it in about 15 hours all together, and although you do get other challenges aside from main missions, they are very easy and repetitive tasks, such as drawing anti-DUP graffiti and shooting down drones. These invariably lead to showdowns with groups of heavily armed soldiers, but they are soon despatched. This does not detract from the fun of the game, however. The morality system in the game is probably the weakest aspect, with the binary system being very simplistic. It's a simple choice of "Good" or "Bad" choices, but the bad choices do not ring true to the character because he is clearly not a bad guy. A more complex morality system would have made the story more interesting.

Overall, I would highly recommend this to casual gamers and superhero fans who are just looking for a good, solid game to get stuck into on the PS4. If you haven't played an inFamous game, don't be put off, as you don't need to have played them to find this an incredibly fun and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 28 Mar. 2014
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
This was one I wasn't sure about but decided to buy it because of the hype. I have to say i thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. Gameplay is fun and interesting plus the graphics are second to none. On the bad side i felt it was a little short!
Definite;y worth picking up though if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Next Gen becomes inFamous, 18 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
The original inFAMOUS was the reason I purchased my PS3 last gen so as a long time fan of the inFAMOUS series I was greatly anticipating this one.

The first thing you'll notice as you fire this game up is how good it looks, I was in awe of the water, sky and lighting as I raced along the beach in the opening moments.

The controls are quite fluid and easy to get to grips with, the character animation is done well here. If you've played any of the previous series installments you'll immdiately feel at home with the games basic mechanics.

The plot is set some time in the future after the events of inFAMOUS 2 and focuses on protagonist Delsin who is on a mission to help the people of his village...or take revenge if you'd prefer. The series morality is still here with various decisions and missons that can be undetaken which will influence how people perceive Delsin and also alter his power set.

I enjoyed playing with the new powers and testing what you could do with each new upgrade. Being able to switch between power types was really cool and helped to mix things up a bit rather than being confined to one set of abilities.

I completed this twice to achieve both endings/outcomes, beyond my two playthroughs I cant say I felt much compulsion to go back to this one, however there is plenty of hours to be had from 2 run throughs.

Although I personally prefered Cole's outings in the previous games, second son is a good addition to the series, a fantastic introduction to next gen and is worth picking up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


109 of 122 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now you're playing with power!, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Right. Let's keep this brief:

Pros
- This is probably the best looking game available on any console right now.
- The voice acting is top notch and the motion capture is the best I've ever seen.
- Character and power animation is similarly impressive.
- Delsin feels agile and easy to control.
- The power sets are superb and are well explained in game.
- The combat is empowering and requires some actual strategy.
- Seattle is beautifully realised and navigation feels natural. Textures are high-res and the attention to detail is astounding.
- The game never seems to load and there is almost no texture pop-in, which is incredible for an open world game!
- Delsin's enthusiasm for his powers rubs off on the player.
- The karma system adds replay value and, depending on your choices, changes the tone of the game. You'll probably want to play through twice.
- 'Paper Trail' missions are to be added weekly, reportedly providing 5 hours of additional free content.
- The game doesn't take itself too seriously. Its greatest ambition seems to be the pursuit of FUN.

Cons
- At 10 - 16 hours, the game isn't short, but it could be longer.
- There are no actual side quests, only 'side content', which often requires players to collect, destroy or spray paint things and is pretty uninspired (I'm not counting the 'Paper Trail' missions as they are not on-disc).
- Delsin's quips can be a little arrogant/cheesy, which might be off putting to some people.
- The karma system doesn't even hint at a full moral spectrum (a-la Mass Effect/Witcher 2), only allowing players to be fully good or fully bad.
- The frame rate occasionally falters, though this is rare.
- The lack of a day/night cycle is disappointing.
- For whatever reason, the game does not allow you to swim, returning Delsin to shore (following a button press) when he enters the water.

Overall rating: 9/10
- inFAMOUS: Second Son joins the likes of Batman: Arkham City, Crackdown and Prototype as one of the best examples of the open world/superhero genre, and is absolutely worth the retail price.
- Recommended to all PS4 owners.

* If you think I missed anything or made a mistake, feel free to let me know and I'll correct it when I have time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 29 Nov. 2014
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Simply a great game, being a new person to Sony's console this was my first experience and it was a really good one. The game looks beautiful and with your different coloured powers the game shows off it's excellent lighting effect. With really fun combat to boot and a nice range of powers to fight with that just improves the experience. Then with amazing free running with said powers to get you round the well designed city that makes every bit of the game fun. However the only bit where the game falls apart is the story it's a very simple plot which there's nothing wrong with. The main character is a bit annoying but the other characters are certainly less so, however they all are fantastically voice acted. I highly recommend you pick this up its a fantastic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, despite being short., 21 Nov. 2014
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Infamous Second son is a definite must have for ps4 owners, it's a great game with fun and addictive gameplay and probably the best looking graphics on the system. While the storyline compared to the previous two infamous games felt lacking and the game was rather short, it however still manages to be entertaining with great missions and lots of stuff to do in Seattle. The series' Karma system also returns in Second Son, with the players once again choosing to use their powers for good or evil, and the story changing slightly based on their choices. Delsin is joined in his battle against the DUP by his police officer brother, and by a variety of NPCs and conduits who can also be persuaded to use their powers for good or for evil. Delsin, while not as cool as Cole McGrath is still a rather interesting character and can be fun sometimes. The gameplay is good solid fun, the only issue could be it's fairly repetitive, although you unlock different powers which includes smoke, neon, T.V. and concrete, the actions you make and things you have to do don't change much, for me it didn't matter, I was constantly blown away by the detail and effects so never got tired of it. The story should offer you around 10-11 hours from start to finish. Tackle the heroic and ruthless arcs and you can double that. The storyline is nicely paced and doesn’t try to force you through the story too quickly. Sucker Punch also added a few innovative touches like how you could use your dual shock 4 controller like a spray can which I thought was awesome. It has intelligent AI, they run for cover, shoot dodge and act well compared to games like Killzone Shadowfall where the computer opponents seemed to be blind and act irrationally. Overall it's well made, entertaining and the true first must have on ps4. Tonnes of replayability , it's just down right fun, gorgeous graphics mixed with a decent story and amazing effects! What more can you want, easily a must buy for your ps4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Newcomers to series might enjoy, not so great for veterans, 20 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
On one level this is a pretty good game. Graphically it has few equals on console and as such it was/is a great "show off" game for early PS4 adapters. For the most part it also plays quite well and the new super hero mechanics certainly feel a step up from the previous inFamous games on PS3.

However, the problems which manifested in the previous games, particularly in inFamous 2, haven't really been addressed by Sucker Punch. Parkour is still imperfect and can be a cause of frustration as your character routinely gets caught in geometry. The gameplay mechanics also tend to get quite repetitive. The setting, Seattle, is beautifully drawn but is lifeless. Combat can become tedious and a chore as your character becomes a bullet sponge for hordes of enemies who spawn aggressively as soon as they are triggered. The traversal superpowers are impressive but your combat powers feel underbaked and really Naughty Dog should be focusing more on incorporating environmental damage as part of the gameplay, particularly given the extra power of the PS4.

For me the first inFamous game remains my favourite. inFamous 2 really felt like inFamous 1.5 to me, with some retrograde steps. Second Son is a graphically impressive title but in pure gameplay terms hasn't really moved that much further on from the first inFamous game.

Finally, I found the story and the writing to be particularly weak, accompanied by a "phone it in" voice performance from the normally excellent Troy Baker.

Newcomers to the series may enjoy it more than veterans, who may find it far too familiar for their liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars don't power though it, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
it got to me nice and fast and i played though on good karma doing EVERYTHING
spray painting was nice and showed off the dual shock 4 a bit and nice area "show downs" which give you fast travel
the start of the story kinda confused me a bit because of infamous 2 but i started to get into it after about 2 hours
the picture and detail on the faces of the characters was mind blowing and i was starting to like the good karma side of the story
at one point of the game something happens to a character that i was liking and it did make me feel sad and as much as i wanted to switch to evil karma at the end because of it i didnt.
but in no time at all i finished the game in a total of 4 hours and 50 which was a little bit surprising since i finished at 100%
so i started again, to do the evil karma story and i put it on expert to see if it would last a bit longer..but it didn't.

some parts of the story with evil karma is REALLY good and i love those parts... but there was a lot of parts were it was... well boring

but if you are bored and you want to sit down for maybe a hour or two to play and good game then i think this is a very good game to buy but if you sit down and power though it all it will be dull and sometimes boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun. So much fun., 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
This being my first Infamous game I didn't know what to expect. Having read the reviews, it everyone was saying that it was just the same as previous instalments, giving it lower scores because of this). Personally, I don't care if there were 50 of these before. It is awesome. It would be a 4 stars but it is just so much fun I think it deserves the full 5.

--Story--
There have been mixed reviews for the story. Story is pretty standard, stop bad guy, save your friends, happy ever after. There are a couple of twists and turns but nothing drastic, its a decent story. Normally when I play open world games I explore a lot in between missions but I kept going back to the game missions, which is surely a good sign. Characters are interesting enough.

The map is exciting. Split into different sectors, you have to defeat the command posts in each sector to take control. The battles are difficult enough, making for a good challenge with what feels like genuine rewards

--Graphics--
Utterly stunning. It is beautiful. A mix of interesting details and unbelievable scale. Stunning

--Gameplay--
This is what sets infamous second son apart. Everything is simple and easy. Running up walls felt effortless and thoroughly invigorating. Combat is fluid, even if the locking system can't quite read your mind. There is a good mix of abilities and the finisher abilities are epic. Only thing I will say is that once you get neon, I rarely went back to smoke. I played this constantly for hours and hours over the weekend and never got bored, hunting out the next squad of DUP (bad guys).

--Overall--
I think this games only crime is coming out after GTA 5. While it may not be perfect in terms of story (its good but not amazing) and the open-world feels like it lacks a bit of life, the pure beautiful fun to be had easily masks over these issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In my top ten of all time!, 4 May 2014
By 
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
This game was included in the PS4 bundle I bought recently. I heard it was a short game from reading other reviews, so I approached it with the thought of getting to the end, achieving the 100% completion rate (side missions etc).

7 weeks later I've just got there and although I didn't have any really long gaming marathons, I did invest quite a lot of hours into it and it certainly didn't seem short at all. And that was just playing with Good Karma. Now I've started again with Evil Karma, which is a great way to get value for money.

I've been playing games, on and off for 25 years and this is one of the most fun games I've ever played. If I listed a top 10, it'd be in there - I'm glad I get to play again with Evil Karma otherwise I wouldn't have wanted it to end.

Add fantastic graphics with amazing night and day lighting, a good lead character and you have the first 'must buy' game on the PS4.

Buy it. Aim for 100% completion when you play and you'll be very glad you picked up this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4)
inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) by Sony (PlayStation 4)
£19.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews