Customer Reviews


265 Reviews
5 star:
 (165)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-powered and super-enjoyable.
As a new convert to PS4 after years of being an Xbox 360 player, and having never owned a PS3, I came into this Second Son with no experience of the previous inFamous games. This is the first game I bought for my new PS4, and it didn't disappoint. As a fan of superhero films and games, the plot and powers of the character appealed to me.

The game centers on a...
Published 2 months ago by Ant Etches

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but maybe not the big ps4 game you're waiting for.
Good, looks fantastic, but not really doing anything gameplay wise that previous infamous games haven't done. If you're an infamous fan that loved the previous games, great. If they didn't set your world on fire, neither will this.
Published 5 months ago by Mr B


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars High-powered and super-enjoyable., 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
As a new convert to PS4 after years of being an Xbox 360 player, and having never owned a PS3, I came into this Second Son with no experience of the previous inFamous games. This is the first game I bought for my new PS4, and it didn't disappoint. As a fan of superhero films and games, the plot and powers of the character appealed to me.

The game centers on a 24 year old delinquent called Delsin Rowe, who accidentally absorbs the powers of a superhuman "conduit", and is interrogated by force by the concrete-powered head of the Department for Unified Protection, Brooke Augustine. She and her organisation are out to capture and detain all super-powered humans. Delsin sets off from his tribal home with his straight-laced cop brother Reggie to confront Augustine and topple the authoritarian D.U.P. Along the way he meets others who have great powers, and gets a chance to use them.

This is a really fun game. Delsin's various powers are incredibly satisfying to use, and the fluidity of the controls helps to feel as empowered as Delsin is in the game. You start off with the ability to throw fireballs at people, and as the game progresses you gain other cool powers such as Neon and Video. Enemies can prove quite tough at first if you are a newcomer to this franchise, but after a while defeating them becomes fun and fairly easy. The graphics are superb, the makers of this game really went to town to make the fictionalised Seattle setting seem realistic, with gleaming puddles of water and stunning sunsets and textures. The usually dependable Troy Baker does a good job with Delsin, and the supporting cast are equally strong. The dynamic between the livewire main character and his sensible brother makes for some great interaction. Some have said that they found the main character irritating and cheesy, but I didn't find this in my opinion. It's a shame some of the other characters weren't fleshed out more in the game, rather than just through some stylish cut scenes.

The strongest point of this game are the incredible powers that you collect and upgrade throughout the story. These allow you to disappear through vents, throw fireballs, speed up the side of buildings, fire laser beams, summon an avenging angel and unleash incredible karmic attacks on large swathes of super-powered enemies. The choices you make determine what kind of powers you gain. Save people and avoid killing civilians and you gain good karmic powers, kill people and trash the city and gain bad karmic powers. Whichever one you choose, both are impressive.

On the downside, the game is fairly easy, as I hinted at earlier and in some ways it is a little too simple. I finished it in about 15 hours all together, and although you do get other challenges aside from main missions, they are very easy and repetitive tasks, such as drawing anti-DUP graffiti and shooting down drones. These invariably lead to showdowns with groups of heavily armed soldiers, but they are soon despatched. This does not detract from the fun of the game, however. The morality system in the game is probably the weakest aspect, with the binary system being very simplistic. It's a simple choice of "Good" or "Bad" choices, but the bad choices do not ring true to the character because he is clearly not a bad guy. A more complex morality system would have made the story more interesting.

Overall, I would highly recommend this to casual gamers and superhero fans who are just looking for a good, solid game to get stuck into on the PS4. If you haven't played an inFamous game, don't be put off, as you don't need to have played them to find this an incredibly fun and rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game!, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
This was one I wasn't sure about but decided to buy it because of the hype. I have to say i thoroughly enjoyed this game from start to finish. Gameplay is fun and interesting plus the graphics are second to none. On the bad side i felt it was a little short!
Definite;y worth picking up though if you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now you're playing with power!, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Right. Let's keep this brief:

Pros
- This is probably the best looking game available on any console right now.
- The voice acting is top notch and the motion capture is the best I've ever seen.
- Character and power animation is similarly impressive.
- Delsin feels agile and easy to control.
- The power sets are superb and are well explained in game.
- The combat is empowering and requires some actual strategy.
- Seattle is beautifully realised and navigation feels natural. Textures are high-res and the attention to detail is astounding.
- The game never seems to load and there is almost no texture pop-in, which is incredible for an open world game!
- Delsin's enthusiasm for his powers rubs off on the player.
- The karma system adds replay value and, depending on your choices, changes the tone of the game. You'll probably want to play through twice.
- 'Paper Trail' missions are to be added weekly, reportedly providing 5 hours of additional free content.
- The game doesn't take itself too seriously. Its greatest ambition seems to be the pursuit of FUN.

Cons
- At 10 - 16 hours, the game isn't short, but it could be longer.
- There are no actual side quests, only 'side content', which often requires players to collect, destroy or spray paint things and is pretty uninspired (I'm not counting the 'Paper Trail' missions as they are not on-disc).
- Delsin's quips can be a little arrogant/cheesy, which might be off putting to some people.
- The karma system doesn't even hint at a full moral spectrum (a-la Mass Effect/Witcher 2), only allowing players to be fully good or fully bad.
- The frame rate occasionally falters, though this is rare.
- The lack of a day/night cycle is disappointing.
- For whatever reason, the game does not allow you to swim, returning Delsin to shore (following a button press) when he enters the water.

Overall rating: 9/10
- inFAMOUS: Second Son joins the likes of Batman: Arkham City, Crackdown and Prototype as one of the best examples of the open world/superhero genre, and is absolutely worth the retail price.
- Recommended to all PS4 owners.

* If you think I missed anything or made a mistake, feel free to let me know and I'll correct it when I have time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Powers don't kill people, it's the person behind the powers that kill people.", 19 Aug 2014
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Thoroughly enjoyed playing this game, I anticipated getting it since I first saw the announcement trailer. If you enjoyed the first two, which I loved and still have, then you will definitely have fun playing this one. Troy Baker and Travis Willingham do fantastic jobs as Delsin and Reggie Rowe, and really make the game more meaningful and emotional. Despite the characters not being as good, in my opinion, as the characters in inFAMOUS 1 and 2, Sucker Punch managed to do their best at creating a dynamic and enjoyable story with unique and diverse characters. The story does not feel as important or as clever as the story for Cole MacGrath but it is still good. The city of Seattle is beautiful and i still cannot decide which, out of Empire City, New Marais or Seattle are the best places to reign chaos through the streets, which is very impressive and the graphics for this game are unbelievably realistic. I recommend taking your time playing through the game and just appreciating the beauty and artistic feel of the game, complete everything and do everything that the game offers but do not rush it and try to mix it up so that it does not feel repetitive doing the same kind of missions over and over again. Overall, this game is really fun and, even though I like the previous last gen games more simply because they are classics, I truly do recommend you to try this one out and love it just as much as I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars don't power though it, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
it got to me nice and fast and i played though on good karma doing EVERYTHING
spray painting was nice and showed off the dual shock 4 a bit and nice area "show downs" which give you fast travel
the start of the story kinda confused me a bit because of infamous 2 but i started to get into it after about 2 hours
the picture and detail on the faces of the characters was mind blowing and i was starting to like the good karma side of the story
at one point of the game something happens to a character that i was liking and it did make me feel sad and as much as i wanted to switch to evil karma at the end because of it i didnt.
but in no time at all i finished the game in a total of 4 hours and 50 which was a little bit surprising since i finished at 100%
so i started again, to do the evil karma story and i put it on expert to see if it would last a bit longer..but it didn't.

some parts of the story with evil karma is REALLY good and i love those parts... but there was a lot of parts were it was... well boring

but if you are bored and you want to sit down for maybe a hour or two to play and good game then i think this is a very good game to buy but if you sit down and power though it all it will be dull and sometimes boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun. So much fun., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
This being my first Infamous game I didn't know what to expect. Having read the reviews, it everyone was saying that it was just the same as previous instalments, giving it lower scores because of this). Personally, I don't care if there were 50 of these before. It is awesome. It would be a 4 stars but it is just so much fun I think it deserves the full 5.

--Story--
There have been mixed reviews for the story. Story is pretty standard, stop bad guy, save your friends, happy ever after. There are a couple of twists and turns but nothing drastic, its a decent story. Normally when I play open world games I explore a lot in between missions but I kept going back to the game missions, which is surely a good sign. Characters are interesting enough.

The map is exciting. Split into different sectors, you have to defeat the command posts in each sector to take control. The battles are difficult enough, making for a good challenge with what feels like genuine rewards

--Graphics--
Utterly stunning. It is beautiful. A mix of interesting details and unbelievable scale. Stunning

--Gameplay--
This is what sets infamous second son apart. Everything is simple and easy. Running up walls felt effortless and thoroughly invigorating. Combat is fluid, even if the locking system can't quite read your mind. There is a good mix of abilities and the finisher abilities are epic. Only thing I will say is that once you get neon, I rarely went back to smoke. I played this constantly for hours and hours over the weekend and never got bored, hunting out the next squad of DUP (bad guys).

--Overall--
I think this games only crime is coming out after GTA 5. While it may not be perfect in terms of story (its good but not amazing) and the open-world feels like it lacks a bit of life, the pure beautiful fun to be had easily masks over these issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game on ps4 so far, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Looks great and is fun to play. It is a bit shorter than expected but you will play it twice and do everything that's on free. Do not miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great title in a great series, 8 Oct 2014
By 
M.M - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
While I didn't find this game quite as much fun as Infamous 2 on the PS3 it should NOT be overlooked as it's still a fantastic game. Gone are the more outlandish crazy battles through the city streets, for a tamer but still exciting open world game akin to the Batman Arkham series.

I enjoyed the story, it has a X-men "mutants vs humans" plot but with a different slant. This game isn't a follow on from what came before so you don't need to play the first two games. I liked the lead character 'Delsin' and his relationship with his brother, there's some nice dialogue between the two.

The gameplay is fantastic. With various powers Delsin can traverse the city at high speed and take down a whole base camps of enemies. There are three main arcs to Delsin's powers (with a final forth when you complete the game). They all offer something different and can be switched easily within the game. I like the difficulty of the game, it doesn't allow you to plow in head first into battles. Skirting around camps picking tougher enemies off allows for some nice strategy. You must also keep a close eye on your ammo as replenishing powers requires specific things. The length of the campaign was good, and I found the side missions to be on par with Batman Arkham series in that they offered some extra life to the game.

I would say this game is a 'must buy' for owners of the PS4. While it lacks the utter outlandishness of Infamous 2 it's still hugely entertaining and the graphics are just excellent. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good, but maybe not the big ps4 game you're waiting for., 30 April 2014
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Good, looks fantastic, but not really doing anything gameplay wise that previous infamous games haven't done. If you're an infamous fan that loved the previous games, great. If they didn't set your world on fire, neither will this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game for the PS4, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) (Video Game)
Probably one of the best games curently on the PS4. If you liked previous inFamous you will enjoy a lot. the powers are incredible and the game is really well made overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4)
inFAMOUS: Second Son (PS4) by Sony (PlayStation 4)
£26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews