Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (97)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hauntingly beautiful.
This has been a much-anticipated album for many people, myself included. The Grinderman project Nick Cave has been working on has been far louder than the recent Bad Seeds albums, and there were rumours that this album would be a good deal quieter than previous Bad Seeds offerings. The release of the first track - We No Who U R - seemed to indicate that was indeed the...
Published 23 months ago by A. Delahunty

versus
18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work...
Pretty much everything Mr Cave releases meets with a 5 star approval in my world. That is up until the release of Dig Lazarus Dig, which was still a great album by anyones standards but in my opinion Ellis's influence had just grown too strong, and with it, the album too loud. Stangely enough I prefered Grinderman doing similar material.
Anyway, onto Push the Sky...
Published 23 months ago by Gman


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album is great but the download quality is poor, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Download)
I'm a great fan of Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds and have been looking forward to hearing this new album. Although the music itself is as good as ever I recommend that prospective purchasers don't bother buying the download on this website as the quality is too low; the bit rates for each of the tracks is much lower than I had expected. It ought to be 320 kbps for the best MP3 quality but it's only 184 kbps on We No Who UR and even the best quality track is just 246 kbps. I now wish that I'd bought the CD instead or downloaded elsewhere as even though I'm still enjoying the album I can't help wondering how much better it may have sounded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars near as damn to perfect, 20 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
topping each previous release is already a regular occurrence for nick cave, but this time even my high expectations were blown out the water. this album is as close to perfect as any i have ever heard, a master craftsman at the top of his game backed by a unit whose playing almost defies humanity. the greatest achievement of nick cave, as a songwriter, is his ability to produce music that is completely original, but still 'doffs the cap' to certain influences. i can imagine, for instance, leonard cohen singing 'wide lovely eyes' and 'water's edge'. quality just drips out of every element of this record, and at the moment can't see how he will top it next release (but he probably will). certain self-regardimg 'songwriters' (u no who u r), should be herded together to listen to this, and to do the decent thing - quit. quite simply, masterful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerisingly Beautiful, 30 April 2013
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
This is a return to Cave's Boatman's Call style album. Strong on piano and gorgeous looping melodies which capture your heart and crumple it between his talented fingers. This really is his forte and I welcome the fact that he's escaped the shouty punky phase in some of his recent albums. Lyrics as ever are sublime and poetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not his best IMHO., 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought the download version for £2.99 which came with the new live album free - bargain! It's good but not up there with 'No more shall we part' or his Grinderman albums. I guess it's all down to taste and this is way better than 99% of the rubbish that's out there now and he doesn't really get recognised for it. No justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deluxe edition includes Live from KCRW, 21 Dec. 2013
By 
Nb Bowles (Hebden bridge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
OK so this must be a mistake. I just bought this, as part of a two CD for £15 deal. On downloading, it turns out I got the whole of Live from KCRW too, although this doesn't show on the listing, well chuffed as the latter is probably the album of the year for Nick Cave fans.

It is beautiful of course, you'd have to be dead not to love this guy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Pure genius.

Saw them live in London with this album in October 2013.

This epic vinyl has now brought it into my home.

Highly recommend for any Nick Cave fans and people looking for something different, raw and emotional.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mean, moody, magnificent, 28 Feb. 2013
By 
G. Russell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Download)
Loved this Nick Cave album. It has a relentless, haunting quality with great lyrics and wonderful arrangements throughout. T he last Nick Cave album I had was the Grinderman one, which I found interesting but a little too "shouty" but this one is a return to great tunes and atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is good enough, good enough?, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
Am I getting too demanding in my old age, or am I missing Mick Harvey? It's great, it's even got a good cover, but...it doesn't surprise or move me as much as I expected. Don't fret, it'll probably be the best thing ever, ever in a couple of weeks. But I will miss Mick Harvey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow gold...., 19 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push The Sky Away (Audio CD)
Simply, one of the greatest songwriters currently walking the earth! One critic gave this album a 4* review, but said that this is not
where you would like Nick Cave to end up. I disagree. Yes, it's a hauntingly mellow affair, so I suppose it will split opinion, depending
on what coat you personally prefer Nick Cave to wear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just stunning!, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Push the Sky Away (MP3 Download)
Really powerful slow ballads - with great lyrics, what is there not to like about this album?
Once again Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds deliver a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Push the Sky Away
Push the Sky Away by Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews