Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Seventies Motown Funk
Clocking in at an impressive 135 minutes and with most of the tracks sourced from the early Seventies, this is another quality budget Motown compilation. There's nothing here as funky as James Brown's work from the same period (how could there be?!) and a few of the songs are not, as funk goes, that funky. Nontheless, there's still much to enjoy here. Highlights...
Published 15 months ago by OMG! It's got a plug!

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RUN OF THE MILL
it was ok thats all i can say run of the mill good recordings budget cd good for the price
Published 9 months ago by paul


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Early Seventies Motown Funk, 6 April 2013
By 
OMG! It's got a plug! (Winchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
Clocking in at an impressive 135 minutes and with most of the tracks sourced from the early Seventies, this is another quality budget Motown compilation. There's nothing here as funky as James Brown's work from the same period (how could there be?!) and a few of the songs are not, as funk goes, that funky. Nontheless, there's still much to enjoy here. Highlights include Gordon Stapes' Blaxploitation classic 'Strung Out' that feaures cool sweeping orchestrations drifting in and out of the mix. Undisputed Truth's cover of 'Ball of Confusion' is 10 minutes of tripped-out psychedelic soul and Odyssey's 'Our Lives Are Shaped By What We Love' has a breezy West Coast vibe. 'T Plays it Cool' highlights how versatile a songwriter and composer Marvin Gaye was and Syreeta Wright's vocals on 'To Know You Is To Love You' are sublime as is the extended outro jam (and Stevie Wonder's synthesized vocals!). Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 3 April 2013
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
Absolutely great selection, very loosely 'Funk' but a great listen from start to end! CD2 especially hasn't left my car stereo since this arrived. I am a big Motown fan and this goes down with some of the best compilations of their music I've heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected Gems, 2 July 2013
By 
RL Cloherty (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
This is a double album that features both well known funky hits such as "Here Comes the Judge" and lesser known tracks such as "Is That Enough" from Her My Dear By Marvin Gaye. There are a number of examples of good quality early disco/proto-disco tracks such as "Girl You Need A Change Of Mind" that Motown produced in abundance. To hear Ball of Confusion by the Undisputed Truth for the first time showed the breadth of this collection. An excellent album in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great tunes, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
there are some very funky tunes on this c.d. listen in the car, great for long journeys, find myself bopping at the traffic lights
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars budget, 1 May 2013
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
a great collection if you apply the term funk loosely
I suppose a slinky backbeat can be funky
one of my all time favourites by the undisputed truth is here
I have always liked that syreeta song
some obvious bombs from stevie wonder and marvin gaye are not included
with higher ground and got to give it up this would be worth 5 stars
this is the main problem with budget compilations
Motown Funk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Motown Funk reviewed By StefC Leek Soul Club., 15 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
CD1 the better of the 2 CDs .A couple of awesome tracks watch out for Bottom & Co and Barbara McNairs offerings.32 tracks its got to be a winner .the name in the title may put a few off 'Funk' .Get it brought and enjoy. Bargain .StefC Leek Soul Club est 1993
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not your usual Motown collection of hits, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
This is a very well put together compilation of tracks you may not have heard. Yeah, baby, I dig it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motown Funk at its best, 28 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
Great to have these great tracks on this compilation a valuable addition to my collection and will keep an eye out for anymore rarities like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars RUN OF THE MILL, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motown Funk (Audio CD)
it was ok thats all i can say run of the mill good recordings budget cd good for the price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motown Funk
Motown Funk by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews