Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete documentary about the Jewish story
I have been engrossed by Schama's narrative of Jewish history from the very first episode; I'm now looking forward to the final instalment. By far, it's the best documentary that Schama has presented, having viewed his History of Britain series and programmes on Art History. Perhaps, it's because you can tell that he's passionate about his subject through his own Jewish...
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but by far not complete
The Story of the Jews [DVD] A very interesting series, where one could learn a lot. But I think that the story of Jews living in Central Europe is missing. They had such a great impact on culture, be it arts or social systems, (Socialism),even traditional cuisine and language,that this should be mentioned. Coming from a secular Jewish family, who lived for centuries in...
Published 10 months ago by ydecristina


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most complete documentary about the Jewish story, 27 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
I have been engrossed by Schama's narrative of Jewish history from the very first episode; I'm now looking forward to the final instalment. By far, it's the best documentary that Schama has presented, having viewed his History of Britain series and programmes on Art History. Perhaps, it's because you can tell that he's passionate about his subject through his own Jewish story.

From my own recollection of History at university and watching TV documentary, the study of Jewish history seems to be limited to the context of the Holocaust, neglecting the events leading up to this era and the post-war period. Schama's illuminating series, however, which began with the Ancient past, has so far unearthed the C19th pogroms in Eastern Europe, the segregation of the Jews in Medieval society and the Spanish Inquisition, whilst having explored the cultural contribution of the Jews to both music and film. For anyone interested in social history, however subjective, or, like me, wants to discover more about their Jewish roots, this is an absolute 'must have'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A serious exploration of the history of the Jews, 9 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. John Marchant (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
If you think this is merely an add-on to the BBC4 series on "The Story of the Jews", think again. It is a serious historical work, and deserves thoughtful study. It shines a fascinating light on the global dispersion, survival and prosperity of Jewish people, which challenges our Western Christian presumption that we possess the moral high ground and the most unfettered access to our God. No-one had pointed out to me the obvious parallels between the basic tenets of early Islam and those of Judaism until Schama did so - and in only one cogent paragraph! I am still digesting this tour de force at leisure; as an Anglican priest it has already affected my view of the Scriptures, and the origins of my faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars with just three out of five episodes seen . . . ., 26 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
and having been bored by the first, I now rate Simon Schama's "The Story of the Jews" as one of the most astounding and moving documentaries I've ever seen. As for it's significance, I'd place it up there with "The Nazis, a Warning from History", my gold standard. Schama has been criticised in the past for putting himself centre stage, but in this series, he has every right to do so.

Practically speaking, each episode appears to be a documentary in its own right and the photography of a high standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jews - what a story, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
If you haven't already, by the end of this series how could you not give the Jews one of the greatest stations in human history. While the tribes & people's of the earth have moved, settled & renamed or been renamed many times over throughout history, no matter where a Jew stands in time his home was & will be always be Israel. Schama has done exceedingly well to communicate this & tried to give due time to cover each stage of history he presents, and while I would have loved to have dug deeper into Israel's ancient history more so, the Jews of Elephantine give us wonderful key hole look into such divergent lives. Some of this will not be new to you perhaps, but most I predict will, for I do not think anyone has as thoughtfully rolled such history into such a TV series before, it left me wanting more.......but of course the story of the Jews continues today doesn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hugely impressive, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
This is probably the best documentary I have ever seen. I am 70 years old, with an MA in English linguistics and literature, and have seen a very large number of productions of this kind over the years. I believe that these two areas of knowledge have made it possible for me to assess 'The Story of the Jews'. Furthermore, I come from the same background as Simon Schama, so I am also able to assess the validity of the material. It is a brilliant production from all possible points of view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Series, 14 Nov 2013
By 
A. Lewis (U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
It is one of the best series I've ever watched.Simon Schama is terriific the way he exlpains and puts over the relevent points.If he makes any other series I will definitely watch it.
Well done Simon..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but by far not complete, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
The Story of the Jews [DVD] A very interesting series, where one could learn a lot. But I think that the story of Jews living in Central Europe is missing. They had such a great impact on culture, be it arts or social systems, (Socialism),even traditional cuisine and language,that this should be mentioned. Coming from a secular Jewish family, who lived for centuries in the Habsburg Monarchy, with full civil rights, feeling themselves as Austrians in the first place though never forgetting their origins. For many of them the Holocaust was something they could not believe, though they saw the warning signs. The same goes for Germany.
Furthermore I have missed an interview with an Orthodox Jew living in Israel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britain's Best Popular Historian, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
This is an engrossing, informative, superb piece of story telling, interesting for everyone, any religion or none, throwing
light on not only the past but also the present. Schama makes his subjects come alive and comprehensible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Schama knows how to make history come alive, 21 Nov 2013
By 
Martina Cassidy (Derry - Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the first two episodes of this on tv and knew I would want to see it again in detail. Loved Schama's history of Britain and this is his history essentially. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Jews [DVD] (DVD)
Perhaps, I was expecting more of a History than a Story of the Jews. And while Schama does relay the history of the Jews, you tend to find that the history is more commentated on the modern history as opposed to the genesis and the early years of the Jews. There are segments where the story focuses more from a larger scale to an individual scale as snippets of tales are told of famous Jews like Freud, Spinoza, Mayer - of the MGM movie studio fame - and also Moses Mendelssohn.

Of course, no story of the Jews would be complete without the telling of the tale of the Holocaust and the fight of the Jews to claim a piece of "their promised land" which is modern day Israel.

Overall, this wasn't a bad series, but somehow I felt that Schama never really let the audience get deep into the psyche of the religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of the Jews [DVD]
The Story of the Jews [DVD] by Simon Schama (DVD - 2013)
£6.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews