Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Battle after battle and I love it" Drittz
I would have like to give this book 4 1/2 stars but it does deserve a round up rather then a round down. Salvatore continues the evolution of Drittz and the Realms themselves. I think have the first 3 chapters of this book should have been at the end of The Ghost King (Transitions) that would have made the book so much better and would have rounded off the last trilogy...
Published 21 months ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decades pass in the life of Drizzt
While I had read a few R.A. Salvatore books about the Dark Elf champion Drizzt Do'Urden a few years ago, I didn't really start reading them as they came out until the "Transitions" series, where Salvatore started making huge changes to the mythos. I had thought the major changes were done with at the end of "Transitions," but I was very wrong. Salvatore's new book,...
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by David Roy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decades pass in the life of Drizzt, 8 Feb 2011
By 
David Roy (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
While I had read a few R.A. Salvatore books about the Dark Elf champion Drizzt Do'Urden a few years ago, I didn't really start reading them as they came out until the "Transitions" series, where Salvatore started making huge changes to the mythos. I had thought the major changes were done with at the end of "Transitions," but I was very wrong. Salvatore's new book, Gauntlgrym, continues the frenetic pace of change even as Salvatore starts to take it slower in the story department. While the pacing in the book is a bit off and some of the plot twists are presented like a pig on a platter before they're actually revealed, Gauntlgrym gets the "Neverwinter" series off to a rip-roaring start.

Decades have passed since two of Drizzt's longtime companions (one of whom was also his wife) crossed into Death's realm, and both he and the Dwarf King Bruenor Battlehammer are growing restless. Bruenor has decided to give up the throne and go on a quest to find the fabled Dwarven kingdom of Gauntlgrym with his old friend Drizzt by his side. Elves and Dwarves being very long-lived, they no longer feel the lust for life that marked their younger years, the passage of old friends taking a great toll on them. But other forces are at work, also looking for Gauntlgrym and the natural force that inhabits it. Will Bruenor and Drizzt find it before the evil is unleashed? And will Drizzt continue to lose himself in battle lust, no longer caring what happens to him after the long, lonely years he's spent?

Gauntlgrym is a typical R.A. Salvatore Forgotten Realms novel: full of action and fighting, with some decent character work, though some other characters are too broad for my taste - namely the villains. Dahlia gets the most development, for reasons that become evident as the novel progresses, but even she is a bit too perfect a character at times. As for the vampire? The lich? And Sylora, the evil sorceress who is Dahlia's rival, the broadest of them all? I didn't find any of them interesting, though Dahlia becomes moreso as the novel goes on. I prefer my villains with a few more facets.

The other problem with the book is the pacing: long stretches don't seem to go anywhere. I'm as big a fan of character-building as the next guy, so I guess these slow passages are the character-building of characters that I don't really care about, making them seem awfully slow. Then Salvatore explodes into frenetic action, making years or even a decade go by, and setting the situation up for more violence and fighting. It's an odd mix that is occasionally satisfying but too often jarring.

I do love the exploration of Drizzt's character, in regards to how he really lives for nothing but the fight now. Considering how long-lived Elves are - and the fact that decades pass for him just in this novel alone - his living this way since the death of his wife is almost heartbreaking at times. This actually makes the budding romance heartening to see, even if Salvatore lays it on the reader with the subtlety of a brick through a window.

The prose is typical Salvatore: you'll either love or hate how intricately he describes all the battle scenes. There is no middle ground. I actually do love it, though I do wish the quieter moments were better written. Nobody, other than Michael Stackpole perhaps, can write action like Salvatore. You can almost see it happening in your head, and if movies are ever made of a Drizzt series, the director will have his stage direction right there.

Gauntlgrym is a very good book, especially for fan of Drizzt or the Forgotten Realms. Non-fans probably won't get much out of it, even though Salvatore does do a good job of writing it so that newcomers will not be lost. It's not that they will have trouble following the story. It's that they won't really care to follow it.

But if you like good fantasy hack and slash with some pathos to help it go down, you'll probably enjoy this one.

Originally published on Curled Up With A Good Book Dave Roy, 2011
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Battle after battle and I love it" Drittz, 16 Oct 2012
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would have like to give this book 4 1/2 stars but it does deserve a round up rather then a round down. Salvatore continues the evolution of Drittz and the Realms themselves. I think have the first 3 chapters of this book should have been at the end of The Ghost King (Transitions) that would have made the book so much better and would have rounded off the last trilogy nicely.

It is 10 year since the "death" of Catti-brie and Regis. Even King Obould has pass away. The Fate of Wulfgar is uncertain but by human life spans he is either dead or dying. Drittz and King Bruenor are still feel the pain of their passing (except Obould who they just wish they got to Kill). They reaise that this is doing neither of them any good so they come up with a plan to allow them on their adventuring way Bruenor see nothing holding him back decides to restart his quest for Gauntlgrym the legondary original home of the dawafs. .

The book fast forwards 45 years following leads for this quest. In think book we see a colder, more moody, less patient and friendly Drizzt. When he first came to the surface he was looking for acceptance and tried to earn it through his deeds, now he has stopped looking at the big picture, the world had grown darker and Drizzt's lust for combat is unassailable. He wonders if it his nature or his heritage that has filled him with such battle lust. In times past during combat Drittz slipped in to the Hunter personality, of pure focus and instant during combat. This personality is starting to assess its self instead of his everyday personality. This version of Drizzt is more wild almost untamed and raw. In the other book he had a place he called home not he is more of a nomad living to fight.

We are introduced the beautiful and deadly elf Dahlia. She is a survivor of a barbarian raid/massacre. Though only in her late 20s or early 30s she is an exceptional fighter possibly as good as Drizzt himself, she carried a magically enhanced tri-staff. It will be interesting if Drizzt's moral compass rubs off on Dahlia or her savagery has an effect on him in the books to come. This book is not just fast passed it is a roll coaster the only breaks are to set up the next fight. I got to the last 60 pages and still do not know how Salvatore managed to fit everything in.

Other great characters return such as Jarlaxel (who acts more like to old Drizzt then Drizzt) and Athrogate. I have always said Salvatore is not shy about killing off characters so don't expect everyone to survive and nobody will come out of this book unscathed. Great book set at breakneck speed from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Drizzt novels, 3 Nov 2011
I read my last Novel around Drizzt and the others about 5 years ago and wanted to see if R.A. Salvatore still is something for me. I've finished the book within 3 days, the more I read it the more I've enjoyed it. Whoever likes books around Drizzt and Bruenor, but also around Jarlaxle and Athrogate must have this book.

It starts very nice, reminding you on events past, but as most of the story plays around 50 years after the other books, one does not necessary need to have read them. The more one reads the book, the more one is pulled into it. Reaching an end that can rival the best of Salvatore's novel, you just want to have the next in the series.

A full suggestion from my side!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars loved it, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this series of books is just so good I have read every one of them and just wish there was more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The end of breunor, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Took a bit of time to get into but was worth the heroic ending . The adventures of Fritz go on but can they be the same without a dwarf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story telling, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really enjoyed reading the further saga written by R A Salvatore , good humour with excellent battle scene cleverly written to keep your attention. Will move to the next in his series, the character's remain strong throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 26 Jan 2014
By 
L. G. Roberts (Newark UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series of books just get better and better. Where does Salvatore get his amazing vision
for the storylines from? They just keep on coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars r.a salvatore, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just love his books. I have this one and I am really enjoying it. I hope he continues writing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dangerous fun, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For danger fun and excitement between mythical races it,s fantastic
Funny because of the characters. Can't wait to read next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gauntlgrym, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great continuation of Drizzts life with plenty of battles and more than a few sad turns that make me excited about the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews