Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butt-Kickin'
Big move up for Caitlin Rose, from the opening 'No One to Call' right through to the jazzy 'Old Numbers'
Favourites are 'Only a Clown' 'When I'm gone' and the stunning 'Pink Champagne'
Published 19 months ago by merlin

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deflated
After her first album this is a let down. A lot of the basics are still there. Only a clown Pink Champagne and a few otherr tracks still show the meolodies the voice etc.For sure mainstream country will love it as it is a class above most of that. .....and maybe 3 stars is a bit mean but I hoped for so much more.
Published 18 months ago by CJAPM


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Butt-Kickin', 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
Big move up for Caitlin Rose, from the opening 'No One to Call' right through to the jazzy 'Old Numbers'
Favourites are 'Only a Clown' 'When I'm gone' and the stunning 'Pink Champagne'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Talent That Matters, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
Caitlin Rose's third album is a stylishly crafted work of beautiful songs, consummate musicianship and exquisite vocals. Packed with organ, strings, steel guitar, saxophone, piano, mandolin, trumpet and banjo, Rose, and her producers Jordan Lehning and Skylar Wilson, have delivered an album that cements her reputation as a talent that matters in Nashville.

The songs are melodic and lyrical demonstrating not only her skill as a writer but her versatility as a performer. She also has the ability to perform covers and to make them her own. Her reading of the Felice Brothers "Dallas" is a steel guitar drenched paean to homesickness with Caitlin's voice conveying an overwhelming sense of loneliness. Meanwhile, she re-interprets The Deep Vibrations' "I Was Cruel" from a country blues number to an anthemic rendition with ringing twelve string, swirling steel, piano and insistent drums.

The album leads off with a crashing intro into the sadness of "No One To Call" with Caitlin recalling Lucinda Williams or even Kirsty MacColl. In contrast there is the pretty "Pink Champagne" a wistful recollection of a tacky Las Vegas style wedding with lush strings and pedal steel. Menagerie has a touch of Buddy Holly and Jerry Allison about it and "Old Numbers" is a deliciously lazy, trumpet led, piece of ragtime jazz.

The album is certainly a triumph of production and musicianship with traditional country and a pop sensibility blending seamlessly into a style where the whole is greater than the parts. But underpinning the album is the sound of Caitlin's voice. With great clarity she evokes the full range of emotions contained within these stunning songs with understated ease. She's got the voice, she's got the songs and she's got the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good, slightly flawed album, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Sid Nuncius (London) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
I like this album, but it has its flaws which is a shame because it could have been really good, I think. Caitlin Rose writes good songs and sings them very well indeed. She has a lovely, expressive voice and the ability to put a song over exceptionally well. In an album dominated by loneliness and heartbreak she never slips into sloppiness and the over-sentimentality which could destroy an album like this and she is plainly a genuine talent.

The songs are varied in feel from the excellent, driving, rock-like opener No One To Call via the tango-tinged Waitin' to the tender love song Pink Champagne. Many are very good, although the latter part of the album seems to me to tail off into rather more ordinary material. There is some great, well-used slide guitar throughout and the band are very good. However, the bass and especially the drums are produced to give a rock-band sound and are very prominent throughout. This is very effective on the rocking tracks, but I found the drum sound horribly intrusive on I Was Cruel, Pink Champagne and other songs, and its dominance throughout the album really began to irritate even in songs I liked a lot.

This is a personal response, of course, and you may not mind it at all. It certainly doesn't spoil the album, but it does detract from it for me. I still think it's a good album with some terrific songs by a very talented singer-songwriter, but for me some slightly weaker material and some insensitive production mean it's not a great one. It's still well worth getting, though, and I can recommend it - Caitlin Rose is a class act and will be around for many years on this evidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yes More `C and W' from the enchanting Ms. Rose, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
I quite literally `stumbled' upon Caitlin Rose, it was late one eve at a festival and her voice came floating out of the tent we were passing and we just had to check her out. This latest album offers more of the same, which may not be too everybody's liking but this is Country and Western with a modern leaning and I lurve it. First track just kicks off as a lament against the dirge that gets air play these days on radio in an upbeat melody with the full band kicking in rather well. `I was Cruel is next and slows things down with a gentle vocal and a guitar and steel back beat and a mandolin from guest player Charlie Worsham.

`Waitin' is a torch like ballad with gutsy chorus that Ms. Parton would be proud of. `Only a Clown' is just infectious pop - almost. It has an immediately likable riff and the mandolin plays almost rhythm and the beat is simple and driving but it just builds and her voice soars in an effortless way that makes you want to play again straight away - brilliant. `Pink Champagne' is the real; love song, all slowed down with pedal steel and a poetic lyric with smouldering double bass, this one just washes over you. `Dallas' is another one that you feel you have heard before and was co written with two of the Felice Brothers with an opening line of `Oceans of stars why've I gone so far' this is another favourite of mine.

`Golden Boy' is a nice tune but one of the not so great despite the use of strings to augment the bands backing, `Everywhere I Go' is another one that uses understated drum and bass to drive a deceptively beautiful song. `Silver Sings' is a song about a singer and is one of the lightest numbers on offer here but not in a bad way. `When I'm Gone' is another ballad with Fleetwood Mac type breathy backing vocals' `Menagerie' reminded me of 10,000 Maniacs at one point and is a solid way to bring us to the last track - `Old Numbers'. This is a `speak easy' type affair with bluesy trumpet and a plodding beat and is a lovely way to end what is a truly enjoyable album. Yes it is Country, yes it is not ground breaking and yes it is really very good indeed - can't wait to see her again drunk or sober this time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deflated, 28 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
After her first album this is a let down. A lot of the basics are still there. Only a clown Pink Champagne and a few otherr tracks still show the meolodies the voice etc.For sure mainstream country will love it as it is a class above most of that. .....and maybe 3 stars is a bit mean but I hoped for so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The diificult thing to say, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
I have seen Caitlin twice and on both occasions she was excellent.
I loved the first cd, the lyrics, the voice were superb.
Sadly, as the critics fawn over her, they seem unable to really say the truth because Caitlin's star is in the ascendant.
Or maybe they don't want to be seen as "uncool."
I'll say it...her voice is gorgeous and strong as ever, but some tracks are poor and sickly sweet.
Maybe my expectations are too high, but this really is average.
Try Dale Watson and His Lone Stars or John Miller and His Country Casuals instead.

I hope the next cd is an improvement and a fitting return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classy Affair, 26 Feb 2013
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
I have been looking forward to this record for a while as i loved 'Own Side Now' and was really impressed with her live performance at the Itunes festival a few years back.
this album seems more polished but also much stronger with bigger songs and her writing has really gone up a notch.
'Only A Clown' is massive and i also adore 'When im Gone' but saying that there seems to be a bout 5 or 6 big songs... should be a huge star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First ever review, 1 May 2013
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
Well, here we go... My first review, I have been buying music in record shops (remember them?) and on here for an eternity in every shape and form but have never felt the urge to put pen to paper (I wish) .....so anyway...Caitlin Rose, I first heard her on Marc Riley on 6 Music, then went and bought the first album...simply a breath of fresh air having that Nashville sound flowing through my speakers...and then this new CD, to be honest I was hoping it would be half as good as Own Side Now, but wow has she conquered that, this is bliss. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great lady, 27 Jun 2014
By 
E. Assche - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
As an European this is really comtemporary music from US. Thanks to her voice and interpretation of the songs. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catlin, I love her!, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stand-In (Audio CD)
Read about her in a music magazine, also heard her on a free Cd with the mag. So I bought the album and consider it superb, no filler tracks.Every one a gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stand In
The Stand In by Caitlin Rose
Buy MP3 Album£7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews