Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You know what you are getting..."
A previous reviewer noted that "you know what you are getting..." when you buy this CD. Indeed, you do. Like all Sarah's previous albums, it's beautifully performed and produced - it's a flawless product so I can't give it less than 4 stars. However, we have been over this ambient, moody & ethereal territory with Sarah so many times. I just wish that she would do...
Published 13 months ago by Nigel J. Morgan

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Brightman
Ok I've been a fan of Sarah Brightman for along time and it's always a special moment when she releases a new album and I was waiting a long time for this since her last in 2007 the fantastic "Symphony" I was expecting a great deal from Dreamchaser, Did it deliver? only partly sadly it lacks depth and strength the tracks Closer and Breathe Me stand out but the...
Published 15 months ago by Antmuzic


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "You know what you are getting...", 25 Jun 2013
By 
Nigel J. Morgan (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
A previous reviewer noted that "you know what you are getting..." when you buy this CD. Indeed, you do. Like all Sarah's previous albums, it's beautifully performed and produced - it's a flawless product so I can't give it less than 4 stars. However, we have been over this ambient, moody & ethereal territory with Sarah so many times. I just wish that she would do something a little different for a change.

This is her first collaboration with producer Mike Hedges. I think she made the wrong choice as his work here is very much in the Frank Peterson vein, which we have come to know over the years. I think she needs a new direction / new sound / new something(!) to surprise us and move things forward. Notwithstanding all its qualities, there is something a little jaded about Dreamchaser.

This didn't come shrink wrapped and had an ugly adhesive barcode label which couldn't be removed and ruined the case. Dumb idea!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best so far! Better than 'Harem'!, 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
Just played through a few times. First impressions very favourable! Liked the thematic approach. Songs suit Sarah's voice. Liked all the tracks except Song of India'. (Seems too old fashioned!)No duets was a relief, after her last album! Watched some YouTube vids, and the lighting effects in concert are amazing! A must see concert if she tours! Sorry that Frank was not producer! And Paul Bateman absent too! But the new team didn't disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 10 out of 10, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
sarah brightman what can i say she is one of the best singers that i love she is very versatile to be able to cover opera and clasical
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dreamchaser, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
I love Sarah Brightman's voice, but I found this a little dissappointing, but if it helps her get into space by me buying it then OK. Some of the songs I liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreamchaser, Sarah Brightman, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
Now there is music and then there is this CD I love this music, out of my three hundred or so Albums this ranks right at the top right up there with Andrea Bocelli .
PS I am not a music critic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars return to form, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
I love this cd,it is a return to form.

The production and arrangements are just right for Sarahs voice,she sounds at her very best,a cross between Eden and La Luna.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sarah's best album to date, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of Sarah Brightman's music, but this really is her best yet. Dreamchaser is by turns moving, uplifting, calming, dreamlike and at times - I'd even go so far as to say - transcendental! I couldn't think of a more apt name for the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
Put simply, Sarah Brightman has released the best album of her career. No more attempts at splicing classical arias with bad pop, no more cheesy lyrics. This album is a complete listening experience, she expertly weaves her way around indie classics and creates a landscape of sound which takes one on a journey. She doesn't do the usual thing of singing pop songs operatically, instead capturing something within the song which corresponds to her vision. A look at the tracklist, which seems like the most random collection of songs ever, is enough to tell you this is her most experimental and diverse album. Don't pay attention to whining fans who don't understand what the album is, take a listen for yourself.

If you're looking for a rehash of previous works then don't bother. If you want incredibly simple Europop sandwiched by something classical, don't bother. But if you want a complete and immersive listening experience, then give this a try. All the songs blend together, and make a long suite, lighter moments, such as Venus and Mars, providing relief from heavier and more solemn moments, such as Lento e Largo.

It is, as one person out, Brightman's 'gentle lunacy' which holds the album together. This selection shouldn't work, but the vision and the production absolutely make it. The whole album is closer to 'artpop' than Classical Crossover and the risks pay off, and create the most interesting crossover album ever. As one review has already stated, this is definitely not another Mothers Day Opera classics 'crossover' album, this is closer to a piece of art more than anything. Finally she has created an album with substance- Hail Brightman, the ultimate hipster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
I have always liked Brightman's singing; probably after "Phantom". However I have bought few of her recordings. No real reason; just did not. Maybe as I had many compilations which included her. With this I saw the film clip of "Angel" on YouTube. On the strength of that I bought this CD. I put it on my CD player without looking at the song/composer list. The final track "Closer" had me reaching for the cover notes. You know the feeling; when one hears a recognisable tune in an unrecognisable setting; Mike Oldfield's "Tubular Bells" is an iconic music composition. "Closer" uses 8+ minutes based on one piece of that tune.
If this CD had contained just "Angel" and "Closer", it would be worth the price of admission alone. That it contains far more...maybe it is Brightman's cosmonaut training...maybe not. This CD is a departure from the norm and for me, the best CD she has ever done. Then - on the DVD - is her version of Jon Anderson/Van Gelis' "So Long ago, So Clear".
What more could one want?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so Brightman, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamchaser (Audio CD)
Ok I've been a fan of Sarah Brightman for along time and it's always a special moment when she releases a new album and I was waiting a long time for this since her last in 2007 the fantastic "Symphony" I was expecting a great deal from Dreamchaser, Did it deliver? only partly sadly it lacks depth and strength the tracks Closer and Breathe Me stand out but the most this is forgettable and she doesn't sound like she is enjoys her self this time round, good music, good for fans and still a star to me just wish it had been a little more magic...maybe it will grow?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamchaser
Dreamchaser by Sarah Brightman (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews