Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars69
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£9.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2013
This Blu Ray is Brilliant in Picture Quality & Sound and Content,
The only slight let down is that its in a thin Case not a full Size Blu Ray or DVD Case (Some Box Sets are sold like this).
I would recommend the Blu Ray / DVD Film to anyone thinking of buying it and also the seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
This is a very intriguing film that really gets you thinking. That said, I was still left confused at the end as I didn't grasp exactly how the split-person plot worked. Maybe it was a bit ahead of its time or i'm just a bit thick. All in all it is a good thriller which will keep you guessing - even after the end! A very good departure from The Saint for Roger Moore.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2015
A film I saw at my boarding school when it was released and have wanted to see it ever since. Not only a fascinating glimpse into life of the very early 70s but an interesting story - one that has kept me thinking for 40 years or more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
one of my all time favourite films which I had not seen for many years. roger moore is brilliant and it is a really well thought out story. also the picture and sound quality is amazing for such an old movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2014
Great film with enough twists to satisfied most thriller geeks. Blu ray transfer good but not wonderful. However all in all a good buy at a good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
bothe dvd and blueray included plus extras with commentary. Great film and the london roads seemed so empty in these bygone days ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
The tape and cover are in good condition and the playback is excellent.Shame it wasn't the original Thorn EMI copy advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Supposedly Roger Moore's favourite film. Its a lovely period piece running like a long episode of The Twilight Zone. Other reviewers have summed up perfectly so I'll not repeat their wise words. Great film!!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2015
A good idea rather blandly executed. The alleged duality of man and self hauntings have been done better before – The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, Point Blank, Revolver, Jacob's Ladder, Ghost, et al. And Roger Moore simply is not a good enough actor to make this as compelling as it could have been – although he does better than one has come to expect of him. He is expected to play two riles and cannot find it in himself to provide sufficient character differentiation between them to make this completely convincing.

The other problem with this movie is that it cannot decide if it is a ghost story, a thriller, a morality tale or a psycho drama and so falls between each of these stools. This lack of focus enervates the fascinating subject matter.

Yet this film is well written, well acted and has an intriguing plot. It possesses a somewhat satisfying ending redolent of the emotional repression of those who refuse to face whom they are for fear of unleashing some unnameable beast.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2008
Roger Moore's staid business executive gets taken over by a far racier and daring 'doppleganger' after a serious car accident in which he temporarily 'dies' on the operating table.

He loses his sanity after discovering he has been replaced by an alter ego. In the meantime, we are entertained by the way the story unfolds and how he gets to discover for himself what is going on. Roger Moore rates this as one of his finest acting performances, evidently because he gets to break away from one of his usual action heroes and the character is more three dimensional. Although not shot on a large budget, the production values are classy and the direction is assured. There is a good supporting cast and Hildegarde Neil, who plays Mrs Pelham, has a haunting beauty about her.

I thoroughly enjoyed watching this on dvd, having seen it on late night television many years ago. The print is sharp and faultless. The dvd's extras, which aren't listed on Amazon, do the product credit. You get a photo gallery, cast biographies, publicity, a trailer (again, a quality print) and an optional commentary. With a decent dvd player and dvds of this quality, who needs blue-ray?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)