Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For Warcraft Fans, 2 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Shattering is a prequel novel for the new World of Warcraft expansion Cataclysm and explains many of the lore changes that happened in game. It follows many well-known lore characters from the games which most players will know and follows Thrall and Cairne Bloodhoof from the Horde side and Anduin Wrynn for the Alliance, though many more well-known characters from both factions appear along the story.

Christie dose a wonderful job in immersing you in to the characters of Azeroth and the plight that is going on in there world. Both factions are given their own story which occasionally overlaps. The Horde side feels more epic, especially near its conclusion but I found the Alliance side far more engrossing and interesting (I play both factions in game, but my alliance has been swinging more to the, well, Alliance)

The only fault of is that at 350+ pages long it feels like it could have been flushed out more. I for one would have loved to see more set in and around Ironforge and taking more time in introducing and developing Aggra and her relationship with Thrall. I found this to be the problem of Christina other book, Rise of the Lich King, but in this case it is a minor flaw in a very well written book.

All in all, The Shattering is a gripping novel from start to finish that really gets you in the mood for Cataclysm and is a gift for those who are enthralled by the Lore of Warcraft.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read., 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story is good but it is pretty straight forwards and the writing style is basic. If you like WoW lore you're gonna like it. Otherwise you might not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: The Shattering: Prelude to Cataclysm (World of Warcraft Cataclysm Series) (Kindle Edition)
A good book all around. I had no clue how the cataclysm started and why Thrall was missing. If I could rate it 6 stars I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars wowtastic, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: The Shattering: Prelude to Cataclysm (World of Warcraft Cataclysm Series) (Kindle Edition)
Without doubt this is Thralls story and you have to love the big green mega orc. That said I did want to slap him and tell him to get a grip after one too many introspective moans. The surprisingly interesting story is that of Anduin, the young prince and the sad lose of king Mangi. Good story well told full of lore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Shattering - good if a little rushed., 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: World of Warcraft: The Shattering: Prelude to Cataclysm (World of Warcraft Cataclysm Series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this lire book. I was entertained reading about the Orcs and the Tauren were a nice addition. My only gripe: Thrall and Aggra's relationship seemed to develop at an alarmingly unrealistic rate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Shattering, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not gotten around to reading this yet but I know Christie Golden is known for her great Blizzard Books, so I would definitely advise getting this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First WoW book, 9 Oct 2011
This was my first world of warcraft book and after playing the game / knowing about the game for several years it's been a very good read and learned a lot about the characters and Lore. Although I had to use the internet to learn the back story of some characters it gave me a different prospective about the game world and I highly recommend this to any wow fan, heck even if you don't play the game the story line is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent novel from start to finish, 27 Feb 2011
I am pleased to say that I enjoyed every page of this book. The author has a real knack for imagery and keeping the reader engaged. As a player and fan of world of warcraft the settings and characters in the book were immediately familiar and it was fun and exciting to hear them described in a new way.

If you are a fan of world of warcraft or just fantasy novels in general I would definitely recommend this book, just get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sound, 31 Jan 2011
This was bought for me as a present and my expectations were not high, books (and films) of video games are usually dire, but I was pleasantly surprised, even delighted. The writing is a little bit stiff in places (but still streets ahead of such authors as Dan Brown or Tom Clancy) and the plot moved along nicely with some well-drawn characters. All in all a satisfying read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Book, 8 Jan 2011
This arrived earlier than expected and in great packaging. The book itself is well written and pacy... it contains a lot of the background to the people and places involved in the whole Cataclysm expansion to World of Warcraft. There were personal moments in the book that really bought the fantasy world to life. very impressed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews