Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (246)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Boy on the Beach
This one caught the imagination with me and a lot of people I know and it was refreshing to hear people discussing a British drama series rather than the latest American boxset. Dorset's Jurassic coast provided the stunning backdrop for a classic whodunnit that kept you guessing almost to the end. David Tennant and Colman are superb and versatile actors who teamed up...
Published 12 months ago by tallpete33

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit long and drawn out, plot-wise.
It was fairly good entertainment but I thought it could have been covered in fewer episodes. I had read good things about it and perhaps my expectations were a bit high.
Published 8 months ago by Stephen Imbert


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 92 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Boy on the Beach, 24 April 2013
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
This one caught the imagination with me and a lot of people I know and it was refreshing to hear people discussing a British drama series rather than the latest American boxset. Dorset's Jurassic coast provided the stunning backdrop for a classic whodunnit that kept you guessing almost to the end. David Tennant and Colman are superb and versatile actors who teamed up perfectly as the two detectives on the hunt for the murderer of a local boy Danny Latimer whose body was found mysteriously placed on the beach one morning.

For Ellie Miller (Colman) things are made more difficult as she knows the Latimer family well and her son was Danny's best friend whilst the taciturn Alec Hardy (Tennant) new in town has to face his own demons having been accused of botching a similar case elsewhere, a fact that is known by a dogged national journalist. His transfer to Broadchurch is meant to be a respite for him as he also faces health problems but his timing could not have been worse with the town in turmoil.

This is a very watchable series set in the town where the sun never seems to stop shining but is shaken to the core as secrets about its tight knit community are slowly revealed. Lies are told and accusations made at anyone and everyone from the local vicar to the sea cadet master and the reclusive lady (Pauline Quirke) and her dog living in a caravan by the sea. If I had one criticism it would be its pace with seemingly little happening in the early episodes but it's a slow burner that reaps rewards as tall tales are unravelled and the killer finally flushed out (it wasn't Vince the dog). It's not heavy on action, just people and nobody does sad like Colman or grumpy like Tennant in this classy coastal mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding drama - unmissable, 15 April 2013
By 
E.Meredith - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
ITV drama is truly excelling itself with this production. Firstly, the cast is top class, with superlative acting. Notably, Jodie Whittaker as the bereaved mother Beth is completely believable and gives a haunting performance of what it is like to be told your son has been found dead. During the first episode, I had had tears streaming down my face throughout much of it, which is very unusual for me. In a later episode, she talks to another mother who has been through a similar experience and their conversation is deeply moving, jerkingly honest and as a demonstration of the high quality of the writing, delves into despair, depression, feeling utterly alone and lost in a way so rarely seen on TV.

The plot keeps you guessing and on the edge of your seat. I am not actually particularly keen on who dunnits but this is so, so much more. It covers a broad spectrum of important subjects: marital infidelity is explored in a very real and refreshing way; the effect of loss and tragedy on a marriage and on siblings; how we react to the word "sex offender" as a blanket concept rather than thinking about the huge range of offences it covers. How quickly a fearful community can become a lynch mob with scant evidence. Most accurately, it demonstrates the role of the Press in our society: how exaggeration and emotive words used only to sell papers can distort the facts with tragic effect; how young reporters are exploited and how their ambition to excel is abused by unscrupulous editors; and how easily we do believe what we read.

Andrew Buchan, (Cranford, The Fixer, & the brilliant Party Animals and Garrow's Law), one of the very finest actors of our age in my opinion, is sublime as always. To appreciate fully his skill it is worth watching his other work to recognise the range and subtlety of his ability in this. He could so easily have fallen into over-acting in this role, but he is a master of his craft and it is a great privilege to watch him.

Olivia Colman is wonderful, and no wonder Meryl Streep called her "divinely gifted". She is perfectly cast and her various roles in the Police, as a wife, as a mother and as a friend is so cleverly and interestingly explored.

I could go on: David Tennant is fascinating and compelling as the detective; David Bradley as the newsagent is truly memorable and keeps the balance of suspicion and sympathy perfectly; Pauline Quirke is so wonderfully sinister that I don't think I'll think of her in the same way ever again.

The direction is beautifully and excitingly executed: from the claustophobic scenes in the Lattimer's house to the wide sweep of the beaches and cliffs, even to the horror of what is encapsulated in one of the vehicles, to the scenes of Beth running in different contexts, it is quite simply one of the finest productions I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
We had missed this when it was shown on TV but friends encouraged us to try & see it so when it became available on DVD we ordered it - what a good decision.
It was brilliant - and no advertising!
The `extra's' were well worth seeing too so we got a really good understanding of how the production came about & how the actors and crew were taken through the process - what an innovative way of creating a series - which produced a spectacular TV experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Could not stop watching until all episodes were finished.Every person could be under suspicion and had to wait until
The end to discover the guilty person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best drama!, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Superb plot, good twists and turns. satisfying sting in the tail, excellent suspense. Just the kind of entertainment I like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Superbly crafted mystery. Beautifully filmed, exploiting splendid Dorset coastal setting. Consummate acting.
Compelling plot. Complex and absorbing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Tv Show, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
A simple receipe can be awesome when it's well done, and that's exactly the point proved by Broadchurch. A quite simple plot, but an great cast of character and a briiliant making, can make an amazing thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great drama, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Had us hooked night after night - keeps you guessing to the end good British drama. Great cast and locations too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shadows under the sun, 18 Feb 2014
By 
Hermeline (Lyon, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Broadchurch is currently showing on French TV but I cannot watch it due to a busy schedule, so instead of despairing I thought I'd buy the Blu-ray. It was a smart move! This show is mesmerizing: great plot, beautiful photography, haunting music and fabulous actors.
The seacostal town of Broadchurch is suddenly caught in a wirlwind of torment after an 11-year-old boy is murdered. Following the discovery of Danny Latimer's body on the beach, it is time for questions and suspicions led by outsider DI Alec Hardy and local DS Ellie Miller. As Hardy and Miller progress in their investigation, they unravel secrets and lies within Danny's family but also with the Broadchurchers: the vicar, the newsagent, Danny's Dad, a phone engineer with medium abilities, an assistant plumber and a grumpy old woman are successively suspected of murder. Anger and calumnies shake the whole community, fueled by a media frenzy launched both by the local press and an ambitious journalist from London with a beef against Hardy.
David Tennant is wonderful in the role of DI Hardy, the restless big-city cop ill at ease in a sleepy community unaccustomed with crime. At first sight, Hardy seems another one of those 'I-am-odious-because-I'm-the-Boss' characters popularized in TV shows such as 'NCIS' or 'Lie to me' but as the story unfold, we discover he's a man who has been betrayed, leaving him with a career in shambles and a broken heart (both litteraly and figuratively). Hardy's rudeness and impatience are actually desperate efforts to solve the Danny Latimer case before his crippling health condition gets the better of him.
Olivia Colman is equally wonderful as DS Miller, a woman who has lived in Broadchurch all her life and knows everyone. She cannot believe any of her fellow citizens be capable of murder and she resents Hardy's presence, especially since he got the DI job she has been promised. But Miller also knows to learn and, under Hardy's tutelage, she becomes more detached, a quality that allows her to question friends and witnesses with more efficiency. She has a personal involvement with the case since her own son, Tom, was Danny's best friend - or was he?
The plot also develops a side usually eluded in TV crime shows: the grief of a family that has lost a loved one. Jodie Whittaker and Andrew Buchan play Danny's Mum and Dad and we can see them going through all the stages of sorrow: shock, horror, pain, anger, realization, despair, remorse, slowly trying to rebuild their lives after the black hole left by their son's death - with only one tiny hope of finding happiness again, with the announcement of a pregnancy. The story also shows the poisonous effects of media gossiping with the newsagent being hounded for his past, leading him to commit suicide.
All in one, a very good 'Whodunnit' and I hope a Series 2 will be done, with both David Tennant and Olivia Colman in the lead roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern mystery who done it?, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful cast who act out a mystery with real feeling, lots of twists and turns throughout the story. You really feel for the family as the story unravels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6fb3e7c)

This product

Broadchurch [DVD]
Broadchurch [DVD] by Olivia Colman (DVD - 2013)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews