Customer Reviews


416 Reviews
5 star:
 (346)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


104 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Boy on the Beach
This one caught the imagination with me and a lot of people I know and it was refreshing to hear people discussing a British drama series rather than the latest American boxset. Dorset's Jurassic coast provided the stunning backdrop for a classic whodunnit that kept you guessing almost to the end. David Tennant and Colman are superb and versatile actors who teamed up...
Published 16 months ago by tallpete33

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit long and drawn out, plot-wise.
It was fairly good entertainment but I thought it could have been covered in fewer episodes. I had read good things about it and perhaps my expectations were a bit high.
Published 12 months ago by Stephen Imbert


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

104 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the Boy on the Beach, 24 April 2013
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
This one caught the imagination with me and a lot of people I know and it was refreshing to hear people discussing a British drama series rather than the latest American boxset. Dorset's Jurassic coast provided the stunning backdrop for a classic whodunnit that kept you guessing almost to the end. David Tennant and Colman are superb and versatile actors who teamed up perfectly as the two detectives on the hunt for the murderer of a local boy Danny Latimer whose body was found mysteriously placed on the beach one morning.

For Ellie Miller (Colman) things are made more difficult as she knows the Latimer family well and her son was Danny's best friend whilst the taciturn Alec Hardy (Tennant) new in town has to face his own demons having been accused of botching a similar case elsewhere, a fact that is known by a dogged national journalist. His transfer to Broadchurch is meant to be a respite for him as he also faces health problems but his timing could not have been worse with the town in turmoil.

This is a very watchable series set in the town where the sun never seems to stop shining but is shaken to the core as secrets about its tight knit community are slowly revealed. Lies are told and accusations made at anyone and everyone from the local vicar to the sea cadet master and the reclusive lady (Pauline Quirke) and her dog living in a caravan by the sea. If I had one criticism it would be its pace with seemingly little happening in the early episodes but it's a slow burner that reaps rewards as tall tales are unravelled and the killer finally flushed out (it wasn't Vince the dog). It's not heavy on action, just people and nobody does sad like Colman or grumpy like Tennant in this classy coastal mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 116 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding drama - unmissable, 15 April 2013
By 
E.Meredith - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
ITV drama is truly excelling itself with this production. Firstly, the cast is top class, with superlative acting. Notably, Jodie Whittaker as the bereaved mother Beth is completely believable and gives a haunting performance of what it is like to be told your son has been found dead. During the first episode, I had had tears streaming down my face throughout much of it, which is very unusual for me. In a later episode, she talks to another mother who has been through a similar experience and their conversation is deeply moving, jerkingly honest and as a demonstration of the high quality of the writing, delves into despair, depression, feeling utterly alone and lost in a way so rarely seen on TV.

The plot keeps you guessing and on the edge of your seat. I am not actually particularly keen on who dunnits but this is so, so much more. It covers a broad spectrum of important subjects: marital infidelity is explored in a very real and refreshing way; the effect of loss and tragedy on a marriage and on siblings; how we react to the word "sex offender" as a blanket concept rather than thinking about the huge range of offences it covers. How quickly a fearful community can become a lynch mob with scant evidence. Most accurately, it demonstrates the role of the Press in our society: how exaggeration and emotive words used only to sell papers can distort the facts with tragic effect; how young reporters are exploited and how their ambition to excel is abused by unscrupulous editors; and how easily we do believe what we read.

Andrew Buchan, (Cranford, The Fixer, & the brilliant Party Animals and Garrow's Law), one of the very finest actors of our age in my opinion, is sublime as always. To appreciate fully his skill it is worth watching his other work to recognise the range and subtlety of his ability in this. He could so easily have fallen into over-acting in this role, but he is a master of his craft and it is a great privilege to watch him.

Olivia Colman is wonderful, and no wonder Meryl Streep called her "divinely gifted". She is perfectly cast and her various roles in the Police, as a wife, as a mother and as a friend is so cleverly and interestingly explored.

I could go on: David Tennant is fascinating and compelling as the detective; David Bradley as the newsagent is truly memorable and keeps the balance of suspicion and sympathy perfectly; Pauline Quirke is so wonderfully sinister that I don't think I'll think of her in the same way ever again.

The direction is beautifully and excitingly executed: from the claustophobic scenes in the Lattimer's house to the wide sweep of the beaches and cliffs, even to the horror of what is encapsulated in one of the vehicles, to the scenes of Beth running in different contexts, it is quite simply one of the finest productions I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Superbly crafted mystery. Beautifully filmed, exploiting splendid Dorset coastal setting. Consummate acting.
Compelling plot. Complex and absorbing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Could not stop watching until all episodes were finished.Every person could be under suspicion and had to wait until
The end to discover the guilty person
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UK Detective a la Nordic Noire, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Robert Jacques (Nahanni Butte, Northwest Territories Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Broadchurch is a good example of how the Nordic Noire has influenced international television. Moody, with great scenery, Broadchurch explores small town England and how a tragedy changes relationships for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
We had missed this when it was shown on TV but friends encouraged us to try & see it so when it became available on DVD we ordered it - what a good decision.
It was brilliant - and no advertising!
The `extra's' were well worth seeing too so we got a really good understanding of how the production came about & how the actors and crew were taken through the process - what an innovative way of creating a series - which produced a spectacular TV experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant in so many respects and possible the best tv ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
I missed it on tv but treated myself to a weekend dedicated to watching the dvd. Brilliant in so many respects and possible the best tv drama I've seen this year. Two stunning leads and a fabulous script
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
MRS (Pego, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable, can't wait until the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Broadchurch, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
We thoroughly enjoyed this series. Compulsive viewing, excellent storyline and superb acting. You can see why it won at the BAFTAs. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series !, 17 Aug 2014
By 
Bruce Miller "hyper2u" (Louisville, Kentucky and San Diego, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Broadchurch [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very current British mystery series that was exceptionally well done ! It held my attention from start to finish and had the typical surprise ending that one would expect. The characters were well developed and played their parts perfectly ! It has always amazed me how actors can jump from role to role and be so convincing in their performances. DCI Foley's driver was superb in her role as the passed over detective sergeant who had to accept a new supervisor who was an outsider to the small resort seaside village of Broadchurch. She brought the series to a new level of achievement, I can't imagine anyone doing it better ! In the way of minor criticism, I thought the film may have been a little lengthly, but it probably appeared that way to me as I was a glutton and wanted to enjoy all the series at once, so had a couple of marathon evenings of being mesmeried by this entertaining story. Excellent in all regards ! If there were a category for 6 star ratings, this film would have fully merited that evaluation !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 242 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broadchurch [DVD]
Broadchurch [DVD] by Olivia Colman (DVD - 2013)
13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews