Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon PIXMA Printer
Our last printer died and we wanted an all in one printer that could air print from our iPad and iPhone, so we took a chance on this one based on previous reviews. It's exactly what we needed! It was very easy to set up and we were up and running in no time. The air-print is superb, as are all of the other features (including the feature that allows you to print on the...
Published 19 months ago by Iliana

versus
48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for scanning, ridiculous cleaning cycles
I bought this multi-purpose printer partly for the ADF scanner and partly because I've had an MP910 for several years and found it to be really reliable and reasonably cost-effective.

It's great for ADF scanning, munched through volumes of archives almost without fault - the main limitation being the paper quality of the record.

BUT for printing this...
Published 13 months ago by Paul T.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a large machine and easy to use but not yet tried the fax as I can't absorb to much at a time, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
yes not an expert but the machine does a high quality print with the correct inks a large piece and a bit heavy to carry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Polished all-round performer, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
This somewhat larger than average device manages to deliver excellent scanning and printing facilities. The best part is that unlike previous Canon printer software I have used is that doing these things is relatively smooth, easy and 'communication error' free. Printing and scanning from iPhone and iPad is so simple and cloud printing not too much harder to get going ( there are some understandable security hurdles to accessing your printer when away from base, but Canon and Google have made this reasonably painless)
Setting up is fairly straightforward and fast - following the pictures in the multiple language guide. The online manual is a good idea and seems comprehensive, but could benefit from more of the design polish that the device itself has received, to make it easier to use. An initial problem with scanning initiated from the device was quickly and efficiently resolved by Canon's UK support team - instructing me to uninstall the software provided on the CD-ROM and providing links to the new software components available on Canon's support website.
The device is now even more of a pleasure to use.

[ I still have full ink cartridges, so the costs of replacing them are still some way off, fortunately]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the box!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Early days but it performs as advertised. Colour photos much brighter and bolder than my old Epson. Installation process was simple - just start it and follow the instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing product, met up completely to my expectations!, 23 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Really pleased with the product, very fast printing and scanning. Airprint feature and wifi functionality can save a lot of time and effort regarding when you don't have room near your router and the airprint is simply amazing when you're in a hurry to print out something from your iphone/ipad! The quality of the plastics seem a bit cheap, but it does what it has to do.

It also has CD/DVD printing functionality but I can't comment on it since i haven't used it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
We bought this product as we needed a multifunction printer with a fax included.
My main criticism is concerning is the colour quality for scanning and photograph images. We previously had a Lexmark 5400 series, which produced really sharp images despite being a few years old , but unfortunately the Cannon does not produce colour clarity in the same way. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy if you are concerned about the environment and haven't got endless amounts of time, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
I have had a number of Canon Pixma Printers including MX850 and MX885. They are very good printers. They use a lot of ink in excessive cleaning routines but work well in a small office environment. Canon ink is expensive but compatibles work well. However I do have a major gripe with Canon which meant I it was 50:50 whether or not I purchased another and if this one has the same problems as previous models it will be the last one I shall ever buy.

Canon printers are designed to be used for 2 - 3 years and then scrapped so the Canon can sell you another. First the print head will fail. A replacement will cost 75% of the cost of a new printer! Why I ask, it is a consumable and a very small part of the cost of manufacturing the whole printer. OK you buy a print head and a few months later Error Code "Ink Absorber Nearly Full" appears. A few weeks later the printer shuts down and can't be used. This is on a perfectly good printer which could run for years if the built in software didn't disable it. the worst that could happen is some waste ink might drip onto your desk or print quality might after a very long time pick up some smudges of ink. canon could of course simply install bigger waster ink absorbers into their designs.

Canon will not give out info on how to reset the counter. Nothing on the web for older models seems to work to reset the counter on the newer models. So there are two options pay nearly the cost of a new printer for a Canon Service Centre to reset the counter and change the ink absorber pads or scrap the printer which is what the vast majority of people do. This usually means scrapping not only the printer but also a newish print head and about £50 worth of ink since Canon bring out a new model every few months and just as their built in software starts to turn off every bodies 2-3 year old printers, Canon change all their new models to take a different print head and different ink cartridges.

In the pursuit of higher profits Canon's policy of keep changing models, building in obsolescence, and pricing policies designed to ensure that perfectly good printers ans consumables are regularly scrapped shows a complete disregard for their customers and the environment.

For my part I wasted more than 2 days trying to fix error codes, researching the many different Canon printers to replace the MX885, which to be fair I had been pleased with, and setting up the new printer. If Canon would supply an override to ignore their ink absorber warning I would still happily be using my MX885 and it wouldn't be in a skip and I could have avoided wasting 2 days running my business.

As far as buying and setting up the new printer, it was easier than previous models but still took several hours. What really took the time was lack of information about the printer on Canon's website and manuals which contain hardly any info. Because none of Canon's models are out there for very long then reviews are limited. This printer was to be used with Windows XP 32 bit and Windows 7 64/32 bit operating systems. The info which came with the printer says only that it is compatible with Win8. Canons website has a compatibility list but has no mention of XP. I can confirm that it will work with XP 32. I believe it won't work with XP 64. There are still a lot of XP systems in uses.

We have used 2 paper trays with our previous 2 models, one for A4 one for DL envelopes. I eventually ascertained on the web that there was a second paper tray and assumed that since the this multifunction printer with fax was designed for small offices it would handle DL envelopes in the 2nd tray. It doesn't. Yet there is no mention of this on the Canon website. DL envelopes are used widely by small business so why would Canon remove a feature that was present on earlier models. The only way round this was to modify the 2nd tray, which I have done and it will now print DL envelopes without keep changing the paper over. Something I was reluctant to do since the main paper tray is rather flimsy and less sturdy than on previous models. The designer should be shot for this over sight.

So apart form the lack of instructions which meant contacted Canon support who were helpful set up went reasonably well.

The printer is a little noisier than previous models even on quiet settings but is acceptable. Auto head cleaning takes longer than previous models and contrary to some reviews on the web, Canon insist that this can't be disabled so I will have to live with that.

There are some other minor niggles like when a sending a fax fails an error report is automatically printed and this can't be disabled without disabling the activity report. Canon software has never been user friendly but has improved on this model though I didn't bother to install Easy Web Print, Image Garden or Creative Park. Over all the MX925 at first site seems to be comparable in every respect to the very capable MX850 and MX885.

I would have given this printer at least 4 stars but in view of the hassle and expense that Canon has caused me and their total disregard for sustainability and the environment I have downgraded that score to less than 1 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am so happy I switched back, 7 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Having swapped back to a Canon printer after enduring a period of two years of having a HP printer, I am so happy I switched back. The quality of the photo printing is excellent and the best yet and it is so nice to go back to duplex printing to save on paper. The printing speed is very good, especially when printing black and white or grayscale. Not yet had the opportunity to use the scanning facility yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Flush a few tenners down the toilet every few weeks, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
It will save transport costs on the tankers of ink you will never use that this machine flushes away!

I dont print in colour- but he coloured inks just disappear.
and they are expensive. I have a cupboard full of black inks left over from multi packs it never goes down. Even though the colours get cleaned away. Infuriating.

Good features and handy too. But don't tell me that this printer ink set up needs to get scrubbed down more frequently than an operating table. Its just a money spinner for the maker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top Printer, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Fabulous, best printer out there at the moment.

But, it is sloooooooooooooooooow to heat up and print. But once going it is fine. Build quality is great.
Does everything well if you are not in a rush.....

Would definitely recommend, print quality, scan quality and copy quality is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grab yourself a bargain., 10 Oct 2013
By 
Yer Man "Big Brendy" (Bangor, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
This was recommended to me by a work colleague and I was not disappointed. Replaced two printers with this and everyone in the house can wirelessly print and scan from iPhone, iPad iMac and windows. Have had no issues with it. Does exactly what it say's on the tin! Effortlessly. Photo quality is excellent for everyday use. Inks seem to be holding out well and delighted to discover you can buy a full set of chipped cartridges on Amazon for around a tenner. Can't be bad to that. If you are looking for a good all rounder with wireless capability then look no further. Great value. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 411 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews