Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon PIXMA Printer
Our last printer died and we wanted an all in one printer that could air print from our iPad and iPhone, so we took a chance on this one based on previous reviews. It's exactly what we needed! It was very easy to set up and we were up and running in no time. The air-print is superb, as are all of the other features (including the feature that allows you to print on the...
Published 19 months ago by Iliana

versus
48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for scanning, ridiculous cleaning cycles
I bought this multi-purpose printer partly for the ADF scanner and partly because I've had an MP910 for several years and found it to be really reliable and reasonably cost-effective.

It's great for ADF scanning, munched through volumes of archives almost without fault - the main limitation being the paper quality of the record.

BUT for printing this...
Published 13 months ago by Paul T.


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for scanning, ridiculous cleaning cycles, 27 Oct 2013
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
I bought this multi-purpose printer partly for the ADF scanner and partly because I've had an MP910 for several years and found it to be really reliable and reasonably cost-effective.

It's great for ADF scanning, munched through volumes of archives almost without fault - the main limitation being the paper quality of the record.

BUT for printing this is the most infuriating device I've ever possessed. Don't think you'll get a print out of this device quickly - It can take 3 minutes or more to go through its initial cleaning cycle before it even thinks of picking up a piece of paper. And then it does a bit more cleaning after printing. Print quality is great mind you, but it's come close to being hurled out of the window a couple of times - technology hasn't provoked this kind of emotion since trying to run Windows 98 on a 386sx!

I really like Canon printers, but I wouldn't recommend this one to an enemy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Canon PIXMA Printer, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Our last printer died and we wanted an all in one printer that could air print from our iPad and iPhone, so we took a chance on this one based on previous reviews. It's exactly what we needed! It was very easy to set up and we were up and running in no time. The air-print is superb, as are all of the other features (including the feature that allows you to print on the front and back of one sheet of paper). Highly recommended! Thank you to all of the others who took the time to review this product - it made for a more informed decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


116 of 121 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Throws ink away with constant cleaning, 15 Sep 2013
By 
Panouli (Salonika, Central Macedonia, Greece) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
The printer is excellent as far as black text printing is concerned. Almost laser quality. Photo printing is as good as it gets, but with a bit less accuracy (blues and greens) compared to my previous MP640 photo printer. Maybe a bias, since it is not a photo printer but rather an office machine? Multifunction process does all it promises. The only grunt is that the software is consumer oriented and IMHO inferior to MP640. Good thing one can download and install Canon Easy Photo Print EX for this printer too.

So far, it would be a 4/5 star purchase. And this is where the main criticism starts.

I was warned about high print cost through reviews. But this refers to continuous print tests. Lets say you are an occasional print user. Try to print 20 pages over a month time and you 'll see your inks dissipate through time consuming and definitely outraging nozzle cleaning process.

With 20-30 pages plain text and about 10 10*15 pictures over two weeks time, inks are down to 40%! I contacted Canon support and they directed me to the local representative. They verified cleaning uses ink from all cartridges and instructed me not to switch off the printer, even when I will not use it for days, since the printer will clean every time it is switched on. In vain, since the printer will clean anyway.

I had pixmas since the very early series and despite the fact the all used to have 1 pl print head, they did not do constant and time consuming cleaning. And they were never clogged. And standard cartridges were 11 to 14 ml, instead of 7ml (pay 50% premium for XL if you want 11ml). All that, up to MP640. Hoped that MP925 was better.

A firmware or a tweak from Canon is necessary. I doubt we 'll have it though, since this waste is good for taxing users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


71 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Many good points but supplied software is consumer-oriented, 13 May 2013
By 
Edutainer (Hythe, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Like some other reviewers of this printer, I bought it to replace the excellent Canon Pixma iP4300, which had worked perfectly for several years until it expired suddenly with a full waste-ink reservoir. Although I did not plan to buy an all-in-one, the online reviews of the MX925 indicate that it is ideal for the small office and the price makes it an attractive option. The ability to operate as a stand-alone colour copier with automatic document feed is a bonus and it performs that function well. However, the supplied software is more appropriate to the needs of teenage students than those of a busy small office.

Delivery was up to the usual Amazon Prime standards. It arrived well-packed and undamaged and was soon sitting on its assigned desk. Other reviewers have remarked that it is quite large but it sits where the iP4300 once was. It is the height, rather than the width, that makes it look bulky and because the paper tray is internal, it can be placed closer to the wall than the earlier model. The black plastic case is a magnet for dust and buyers might like to add an "Astonish anti-static dustbuster" to their order. There are numerous packing pieces, plastic separators and adhesive stickers that must be removed before switching on for the first time - take care to ensure that they have all been removed, as some are quite well hidden.

Installation on the office network was a breeze and it popped up within moments of being connected and it also appeared on wi-fi connected laptops.The built-in Fax machine is a plus-point - for what it's worth in these days of online communication - and the copier function works well.

When the supplied cartridges are installed, the machine runs a start-up routine. As is usual these days, the cartridges are "for set-up only" and will run out quite quickly. With this in mind, I put an XXL black cartridge into the Amazon shopping basket, intending to complete the purchase after I had checked out the printer. To my horror, the price increased by £10 shortly afterwards -an unexpected increase that changes my assessment of the running costs of this printer. On balance, the XXL cartridge is still a good idea but buyers should shop around for the best price.

Users will discover that the Canon printer redefines the message "please wait momentarily", which is displayed on the screen and means a delay of 30 seconds or more before printing. It is not a machine for the impatient and speed specifications should be taken with a pinch of salt. More importantly, there is only one A4 paper tray, which means constantly swapping between plain and headed notepaper (and mistaken printing on the wrong stock!) The second paper tray is only for 10x15 and 10x8 cm photo paper and even printing an envelope means removing the lower feed tray.

Paper handling in general is a step backwards from previous designs, with registration between sheets varying by up to 2mm, perhaps because there is no straight-line paper path. Heavier weights of paper are problematical, 250 gsm is probably the maximum it will handle, even though the spec claims 300 gsm. It is certainly not a good idea to select duplex printing (double-sided) at this weight. On the other hand, using 70 gsm paper sometimes means two sheets are picked up at the same time - not good if you are trying to keep correct page order without using duplex. CD printing is good but again, the supplied software is almost useless and I switched back to the CD-Label print application that worked well before.

In use, the MX925 is satisfactory but it does not quite live up to the high standard set by the iP4300, not least because of higher running costs (at the increased price of the black XXL cartridge) and tortuous paper path. Canon should forget the supplied "My Image Garden with HD Movie Print" software or at least make it an optional download, and include a set of small office utilities that would better complement the typical use of this printer.

So four stars for this device. It will never achieve the "best in class" status that I arbitrarily award to its predecessor but if you are looking for an affordable small-office all-in-one, the Canon MX925 is certainly worth a close examination. Together with that anti-static dustbuster...

THREE-MONTH UPDATE - August 2013
Thanks to the usual superb Amazon service, I have returned the original printer for a replacement. The first one entered sleep state and could not be woken up over the network - it was necessary to pull the power to get it to restart. Canon support recognised the problem but required me to send the printer back for a firmware upgrade - at my own expense. Amazon offered a 24-hour replacement and was as good as its word.

The print quality of the MX925 is excellent on almost all media, which is why I wanted the same model. Apart from anything else, I had around £100-worth investment in ink cartridges to consider. Ink use is a downside for would-be owners: the MX925 is not an economical machine, even in fast mode. It can sometimes spend more than two minutes "priming" cartridges before the first page comes out, during which time the ink icons can shrink visibly. I recommend original XL and XXL cartridges, at the lowest price you can find. Remember too that the supplied cartridges are marked "setup" and have a very short life.

Paper handling is not good and occasionally some media "skews" as it goes through the path, which can be unacceptable for presentation quality documents. The sheet feeder is also unreliable, sometimes pulling two sheets through at the same time (leading to a missed page on occasion). CD/DVD print quality is excellent, with the proviso above.

So still only four stars and a fervent wish the someone at Canon will one day make a printer that has all of the MX925 features with the reliability and print costs of the iP4300.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
I really love this printer. I have zero complaints and love that its wireless. Ohhh and the CD printing is really cool! Didn't think I'd use it that much but turns out .. I was wrong. It's quite a novel function to have but beats black magic marker on the disks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For only the most patient of Mac users, 16 July 2014
By 
P. Tudor "Nikon Professional User" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Feature wise it is difficult to fault this all-in-one and the print quality, when it is working, is first class. However, where do I begin?
First off, if you have Mac I would recommend going else where unless you really want to spend a lot of time on the internet learning why your printer is not working. My printer went back for emergency servicing within weeks of buying it. It checked out okay - on a PC - so listen Canon ALL of your authorised service centres need to buy and understand Macs. A chance remark by the service engineer on collection turned out to be the clue to the problem - the built-in wi-fi is NOT good. Basically it seems to have half the range of any other wi-fi device in the house and when it has a poor connection strange and annoying things happen. This is not helped by the default Canon settings which, basically, are NOT MAC FRIENDLY; it took a reply on Canon USA help site to nail that one.
So move the printer close to the hub - very handy NOT it is no longer in the office. Change the settings so the printer does not go to sleep at the first opportunity, oh, and allocate a permanent wi-fi address on the hub and on the printer - otherwise it forgets and keeps requesting a new one. Do that and the printer will start to behave as you might reasonably expect out of the box.
But there is more:
1) as others note it uses ink like ink is going out of fashion. The cartridges, admittedly, are not the most expensive and you only need to replace those that are running out - but be warned and always have spares to hand. Also it will tell you they are running out a long time before it actually refuses to work - so do be tempted to take it to the wire and save some money.
2) error codes - it loves them, but you need to look the ruddy things up in the on-line manual - wherein whole chunks have different causes, but basically the same advice: turn it off and on again and if that does not work contact the help centre. Hmmm. It NEEDS a big friendly firmware reset button - a true STFU and start working again option. Trivial things like running out of paper during an Apple AirPrint session can lead to a frustrating hour of trying to get the printer out of 'I am stuck in dumb firmware loop with no hope of redemption' mode. Turn off any Apple device that might be talking to it. Reset the wi-fi hub. Big hint - if it is very stuck turn off on the front panel AND pull the power at the plug AND wait. If you are lucky, fingers crossed, when everything is turned back on it will go into one of its long, clunky calibration cycles before suddenly remembering its purpose in life. Then you can try to remember what it was you were trying to print - oh and to top up the relevant paper tray.
3) it is a dust super-magnet. Must be something about Canon - I seem to remember their plastic bodied film SLRs were much the same. It really does seems to take the dust out the air and hang on to it.
4) My Secret Garden - or what ever Canon calls the annoying abomination of junkware that fires up at any excuse (well normally when you are scanning). For peace of mind remove it from your Mac - locate and throw it satisfyingly into the trash. If not remember you get to 'Force Quit' from the Apple menu - you have been warned.
5) Plastics - the paper trays (and CD/DVD) tray in particular are a little flimsy - handled carefully they do the job, but this is a SOHO not a true office build machine.
So, just my jaded opinion. From a frustrating of Mac users point of view it deserves two stars. On a good day, with a following wind, the output quality merits five. Three is fair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks like the Deathstar, 12 Mar 2014
By 
Brian W Lonsdale (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
It's big and heavy - looks and feels substantial, but the glossy black exterior picks up fingerprints easily.

Print quality has been excellent. Other reviews have noted the bizarrely long wait time during which it tells you "I'm processing, leave me alone!". No idea why the printer should be thinking about a print job so long before printing, we're talking about a minute or more in some cases. Once it actually decides to print, it's nice and quick - fine for a home user but if you're a business user in a hurry you might want to be careful of those wait times.

I've had a chance to use their own glossy paper (you get a sample of it to try and convince you to use it) and on the Canon paper prints are superb, well balanced, true to life colours - probably as best you're going to get nowadays. Other makes of non-Canon "glossy" paper are nowhere near as good, so be careful as the prints won't appear as good (my particular choice of third party paper had a distinct lack of contrast compared to the real stuff).

Haven't tried the FAX and I suspect most people never will either these days.

The scanner works fine and Canon's own software for capturing isn't a stinking turd packaged as an after thought thankfully, which made a nice surprise.

There are though a load of applications packaged with it that are unnecessary from what I can tell. My Image Garden is pointless. I suppose if you're keen on signing up for random stuff then go for it, but I left it well alone. Just remember to untick them during installation and grab the updated stuff from Canon's website.

I've got it hooked directly into Ethernet, so haven't tested wireless capabilities out.

Overall, very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Printing from iPad, 17 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
I owned a much older cannon printer which wasn't compatible with AirPrint.... Don't use a computer these days so it was becoming more important to invest in ecosystem that compatible with my ipad and phone. I chose this product based upon being a canon, really like my last canon printer and wanted the same features. This printer is new with AirPrint and google cloud printing. I wasn't disappointed... It's more stylish but similar in size... Some may consider it to be on the bulky side but I don't mind this.

Setup up was really easy and straight forward... With in a short time the printer was ready to print. I didn't connect even have to connect it to a pc. The printer is a distance from the router so I wasn't sure what the wifi connection would be like. The process of setting the wifi was just the case of pressing a button on my bt home hub 3 running off to the printer to press ok so it would connect.... Which it did successfully. I do have the option to connect via LAN but the wifi connection is working well.

I found printing from my iPad pages app and numbers app was quick and simple affair. The print out were of an excellent quality. There was a slight challenge when it came to printing a photo. I had A4 photo paper in the main tray but no other photo paper. There is another tray for smaller photo paper sizes. When I was in photo (camera roll) it just didn't seem to work... I think it was trying to print from the photo paper tray, couldn't so nothing happened. I think this because when I used the iPhoto app it said the printer was out of paper. I couldn't work out how I could print onto the A4 photo paper in the main tray. You don't have settings like a pc to select options from what I could see... This could be me being new to printing from the iPad.

In the end I download the canon app... From the app I selected a Hubble space photo and proceeded to print... All was well till I realised that the glossy photo paper had dragged the plain paper through. I had worked out that the photo paper had to be placed face down. After taking out all the plain paper then putting back the photo paper, I was ready to print... When I went to try it again my iPad couldn't connect to the printer. I don't know what was responsible, app, or iPad. In the end I had to switch off and on the iPad, then using the canon app I did successfully printed out a border less A4 photo. The results were stunning good and I was really pleased.

I successfully scan in an image from ADF in to my iPad using the canon app so that is an useful feature that will be taken advantage of.

I have notice that I sometimes can't get the app to find the printer, mentioned this previous but I printed out from pages then went to safari and try to print a web page. The safari app just said no air printer available. To over come this I just turned the wifi off then on, went back into safari app, it found the printer straight away and printed the pages. I still don't know if this is something to do with the Ipad 2 or router, it may not be anything to do with the canon device itself.

It's too early too say what the running costs are going to be. There are two options of printer cartridges size but I'm not sure what will be best for me. I tend to do a lot of black and white printing though Im not sure if printing from the limited options with iPad that I may end up using colour. I know there has been a lot of talk in general about consumers being rip off with cartridge prices so I will just have keep an eye out for special offers. One feature that I wanted is double sided printing as it does save on using paper and therefore money.

Overall, I really rate this all in one device, it does everything I want, good quality printouts, double sided printing, scanning, more importantly all from my iPad. By sharing my odd issues with printing from the iPad will be a help rather than put people off. Not used google cloud printing or all of the additional functions so can't really comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excessive low Ink warnings, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
Quite pleased with this printer though I can't honestly say it has much better print quality for documents than my old HP 990Cxi (comparing side-by-side). Photos are better and it does have a lot more features. The WiFi has worked perfectly, from PC or Mac and using Airprint from my iPad/iPhone. Windows 8 discovered the PC on the network and installed it without even being asked.

I'm not sure why some of the reviewers seem to get hung up about it having a touch screen - it has an illuminated button array which works just fine and means your fingers are not obscuring the display.

Slight criticisms:
1. It starts complaining about low ink a long time before the tank is low (I reckon it must still be around 1/3 full). Then it starts complaining that the ink has run out, a long time before it actually does - I've been printing for a couple of weeks now on "empty" tanks. Because I don't really trust it, it inevitably means you keep going until your prints mess up.
2. It rattles away for a couple of minutes (calibrating or something) if you haven't used it for a while.
3. It can't do scanning to an e-mail address unlike my printer at work, therefore you do need to have a PC running to "catch" the scans (it's easy to choose which PC from the printer). Fortunately, you can set the scanner driver up to automatically file the scans into a folder, so you don't need to prepare or attend to the PC when scanning multiple documents.
4. The bundled software is lame (maybe ok for kids) and the "toolbox" which pops up when you log in is annoying. But you can fiddle with the settings to stop it doing this, and hide the buttons for the silly apps.
5. The automatic flip-down front cover is a bit pointless - might as well leave it open all the time, otherwise somebody might stand a cup of coffee in front of it....
6. No facility to scan photo negatives or slides, unlike my old Canon scanner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Machine, 21 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Canon PIXMA MX925 All-In-One Colour Printer (Print, Copy, Scan, Fax, Apple AirPrint, Google Cloud Print and Wi-Fi) (Accessory)
A little bulky but a GREAT multipurpose machine. Insert 4 photos on the glass then scan. It makes them into 4 separate images and saves them. Good with Windows AND Apple WiFi computers. Instant print through my Sky router.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews