Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior kit by Revell - Very well done
A quantum leap for Revell, which until now has been a good-but-not-great kit manufacturer. This is almost a Tamiya or Dragon-level offering. The molding quality is excellent, with the parts showing virtually no flash or distortion. The detail is crisp and clean and there are no surface blemishes save VERY minor depressions around the saucer's locating pins...
Published 21 months ago by by CM

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed putting it together but it won't sit on the ...
I enjoyed putting it together but it won't sit on the stand not sure if that's my fault, anyway it was for my son and it fell off the stand, now the engine's have snapped off and I can't reattach them, glad I didn't pay the full price for it, but it was supposed to be my son's main present. Bit disappointed.
Published 3 months ago by catherine


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior kit by Revell - Very well done, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
A quantum leap for Revell, which until now has been a good-but-not-great kit manufacturer. This is almost a Tamiya or Dragon-level offering. The molding quality is excellent, with the parts showing virtually no flash or distortion. The detail is crisp and clean and there are no surface blemishes save VERY minor depressions around the saucer's locating pins.

It's also a nice large size, but the indicated scale is wrong. It's not 1-500, but closer to 1-1000, which makes for a nice shelf comparison display if you have the Polar Lights - Round 2 1701 Refit.

The kit's engineering is shockingly good. Having built Enterprise models from both AMT-Ertl and Polar Lights, I have to say, this is the first kit of this type of ship I've seen that actually mounts the nacelles to the pylons with NO drooping, at least from the side. Which is remarkable, considering how far forward the pylons mount to the nacelles.

The NCC-1701 shape is difficult to make into a good, 3D-aligned model because of its mass distribution. Revell has done the best job I've ever seen in that respect.

Additionally, the saucer parts are designed to go together with no visible seams, while the nacelle and secondary hull seams are located so that you won't destroy surface detail eliminating them.

Unfortunately, the nacelles do splay laterally outward heading aft, necessitating surgery on the pylon-nacelle interface to correct. An experienced modeler will have little trouble with this.

Don't let the promotional photo fool you. Whoever built that thing must've been either rushed or just didn't care, because the nacelles don't mount at such an extreme upward angle. My particular kit had a slightly warped port pylon, but a few minutes with a hair dryer let me bend it into alignment.

If you're absolutely concerned with the 3D alignment of all four hull modules like I was, I'd recommend jigging the parts together with pieces of sprue while the glue dries, but it WILL hold its shape once fully cured. You can zoom it around the room just taped together - it's that well-engineered. All glued up, it's shockingly sturdy and stable.

The instructions are a weak point. For example, many manufacturers, such as Moebius, use the model's CAD drawings in their instructions, giving them a crisp, clean, authoritative look. Revell is still relying on handmade art.

Overall, this an excellent kit that will just about fall together, but will need a little help if you're concerned about 100-point geometric accuracy.

Oh, and Revell designed it from the get-go for lighting. Even those amazing pylon-nacelle joints incorporate wiring channels, which makes them all the more impressive. Another plus.

The only real complaint I have goes out to the aftermarket - Acreation, please make a set of Aztecs for this one!

I'd buy this one again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revell NCC Enterprise 1701 into darkness model, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
Fantastic model to lightup Revell have supplied two sprues of clear parts for this option, the rest of the model looks the part with very fine engraving all over,have started to work out how to light it up using images from the 2009 film,dry run fits look very good, well done Revell,delivery service from Model Hobbies was excellent arrived within two days from placing order,for the price of a large letter,exellent value/service.eat your heart out Polar Lights by cancelling their model they have missed the market on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ENTERPRISE 1701 INTO DARKNESS MODEL - IDEAL FOR LIGHTING, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
A fantastic product for Lighting. One point though, it would have been great to have had Revell include the Aztec Decals for this kit, even if it was more expensive it would have been worth paying the extra. As is, if you want to make this model stand out, you have to buy after market aztec masks which are mostly only available from the USA, and particularly expensive. Enjoyed every part of lighting this kit, but had to purchase a dedicated strobe board to accurately replicate the screen version.

Do yourself a favour and buy this kit, its very good quality and excellent value for money. I hope that Revell will launch a bigger version of the USS Enterprise for the hard line modellers out there, rather like the Polar Lights USS Enterprise 1701A Refit. They missed an ideal opportunity to take the Trek Modellers by storm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed putting it together but it won't sit on the ..., 29 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
I enjoyed putting it together but it won't sit on the stand not sure if that's my fault, anyway it was for my son and it fell off the stand, now the engine's have snapped off and I can't reattach them, glad I didn't pay the full price for it, but it was supposed to be my son's main present. Bit disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
Nice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Kit - Terrible Decals, 8 April 2014
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
I love this kit. It was a fun build. The final product looks awesome. The pieces fit together nicely, no gaps or uneven edges. Plenty of room to add lights if so inclined. The detail is sharp and well defined. I have built every enterprise form the first sail-ship to this star-ship. This looks fabulous right in front of all the others on my display shelf.

The one drawback is the decals in this kit are quite possibly the worst I have ever worked with. While they look good, with nice detail, they do not want to stay on. Be prepared to work slow with plenty of decal setting solution. If you are familiar with printing your own decals from the computer then I would scan the decal sheet before starting. You could easily self-print higher quality copies of the same decals. An alternative, if you are good enough at it, is to can the decals altogether and paint it. The ship is large enough that you could realistically paint all of the detail provided by decals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
looks like a real nice kit but if you dont have paint it will cost about £40 for all you need
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars abramprise, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
Very well moulded model. Clear parts enables it to be lighted. Still cant beat original design though. Would reccomend A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now all I have to build it, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr P G BUTT (Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
It has been a long time since I built my last model, this time it will be my Grandson who will the excitement, and I will be the helper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enterprise Into Darkness, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revell 1:500 Scale NCC Enterprise 1701 into Darkness (Toy)
A Well built kit with plenty of detail, however the plastic is very thin
Great for intermediate to experienced modelers.
This kit would suit someone who likes to light their projects
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews