Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - well written and very inspiring
This book is a real eye-opener. Very well structured and readable, it is beautifully
written in rich and refined language.

Although a Sikh myself, my UK upbringing meant that I knew very little about the history
of Sikhism or of Punjab. This book does an excellent job in filling in all the gaps for
me. I found it very inspiring - some of the...
Published on 8 Oct 2009 by Punjabi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Empire of The Sikhs" Singh, Patwant; Rai, Jyoti M
This book was very informative of Maharaja Ranjeet Singhs life as Maharaja of Punjab. As well as the aftermath after his death, including the two Anglo-Sikh wars. The beginning also includes a brief history of the Sikh Gurus. The illustrations and scanned diagrams were not up to standered, and should have been in higher definition.
I recommend this book to Punjabis...
Published 5 months ago by Mr Singh


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - well written and very inspiring, 8 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a real eye-opener. Very well structured and readable, it is beautifully
written in rich and refined language.

Although a Sikh myself, my UK upbringing meant that I knew very little about the history
of Sikhism or of Punjab. This book does an excellent job in filling in all the gaps for
me. I found it very inspiring - some of the sacrifices and hardships that Sikhs faced in
the 17th, 18th and 19th centuries at the hands of the Mughal rulers are shocking.

This book encaptures the spirit of Sikhism, the values of equality, freedom,
for fighting against oppression, and for the belief in peaceful co-existence
with those of other faiths. The acheivements of the Gurus, the Sikh warriors and rulers
are a real inspiration for any Sikh today.

A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent read, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very informative and enlightening.Anyone interested in their historical background should read this as it shows what the Sikhs endured and what tortures they had to go through.Had marksand Ranjit Singhs dynasty continued then perhaps the Punjab would have been in a different state to what it is today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic account of the Maharaja, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its very rare to find any books that detail the life of Maharaja Ranjit Singh. This book starts at the very beginning of his life as well as prior to his birth and discusses the Misl that he belonged to and how it came into existence. Once of the surprises from the book was the discussion regarding Misl's fighting against one another. This was a fact that I was not aware of. The administration capabilities of someone who was uneducated is phenomenal as well as keeping the British at bay as well as out manouvering the Afghans. Perhaps the most surprising thing to emerge from my perspective was that the Koh-i-noor diamond in fact exchanged hands numerous times. All in all this is a very good account.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Empire of The Sikhs" Singh, Patwant; Rai, Jyoti M, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of The Sikhs: The Life and Times of Maharaja Ranjit Singh (Kindle Edition)
This book was very informative of Maharaja Ranjeet Singhs life as Maharaja of Punjab. As well as the aftermath after his death, including the two Anglo-Sikh wars. The beginning also includes a brief history of the Sikh Gurus. The illustrations and scanned diagrams were not up to standered, and should have been in higher definition.
I recommend this book to Punjabis and people interested in Sikh and people of the Punjab regions history.
I was disappointed with the illustrations but overall the book was insightful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling reading of the description of the era, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of The Sikhs: The Life and Times of Maharaja Ranjit Singh (Kindle Edition)
A well researched project. Makes such a fluid reading of the graphic account of the era. Any one interested in history would recommend. An absorbing and makes a compelling reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Empire of The Sikhs: The Life and Times of Maharaja Ranjit Singh (Kindle Edition)
For anyone who wants to learn about Punjab history this is a MUST READ!

Really well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews