Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bard of Salford.......
Having loved JCC since 1978, or something, I was excited by the documentary. Its great because you see a fair bit of His Johnness, but I got sick if the 'celebs' going on about how great he is. I would have liked less of them and more of him. They are not interesting and he is. Here's the thing though, its still a canny documentary, like.
Published 23 months ago by Christine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars jcc
i had already seen it so no suprizes, was a doc from tv, what else can I say>? i suppose there are bits that I could watch again, the live footage, but would have liked more of that.
Published 8 months ago by J. Connelly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bard of Salford......., 13 Jan 2013
By 
Christine (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having loved JCC since 1978, or something, I was excited by the documentary. Its great because you see a fair bit of His Johnness, but I got sick if the 'celebs' going on about how great he is. I would have liked less of them and more of him. They are not interesting and he is. Here's the thing though, its still a canny documentary, like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cool king of the gob!, 24 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
New and entertaining dvd release from the bbc and its about time someone put out a dvd of this legend,chock full of visual delights,and some cool extras too..but my only minor complaint(being a hardcore fan of 30+ years) is it misses out on key albums like"Zip Style Method" and the documentry covers/talks about certain singles but misses out on others?....apart from that minor niggle its a joy to watch. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars jcc, 6 April 2014
By 
J. Connelly "juliec" (london uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD] (DVD)
i had already seen it so no suprizes, was a doc from tv, what else can I say>? i suppose there are bits that I could watch again, the live footage, but would have liked more of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Defiitely!, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD] (DVD)
That's my experience - definitely worth watching. Enjoyable appreciation of the massive talent and character of one John Cooper Clarke, plus a mini history of his life so far. I found it absorbing. He's still here and performing, which is gratifying for his sake and others, considering some of his story... Anyway, I like him, and he's accessible - I met him once at a gig, and he's a nice guy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evidently A Wordsmith of Merit!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD] (DVD)
Didn't pick up on John Cooper Clarke at 'the time' as I was living abroad. Then I recently saw this docufilm on TV and was bowled over. Wow he's a modern day 'Manchester Poet' who rivals the latter day 'Liverpool Poets'. He's the punk Mcgough'. Poetry is alive, well and grows in his hands.

The big plus for me was the uncut version of Evidently Chicken Town no bleeper just a wonderful poem as it was (is) meant to be heard ffffffffffffffffab

This man needs far greater recognition as he is clever, witty and a wordsmith of merit.

This DVD is a great introduction to an uncompromising man who makes poetry exciting and, more importantly, accessible.

Get this DVD now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. B. Carter "BridgetCat" (Newcastle-upon-Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD] (DVD)
Fab book has loads of old familiar JCC poems in, beautifully illustrated too.
One two three four five six seven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality doc about a unique and influential punk poet, 27 Mar 2013
By 
This review is from: Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD] (DVD)
I got sent a free copy of this along with John Cooper Clarke - South of the Border: Live from London's South Bank [DVD] in preparation for interviewing JCC for a magazine. "Evidently John Cooper Clarke" is the same hour-long documentary which was screened on BBC4 last year, with some additional extras - 15 interesting minutes of JCC talking about his early life, an extra 12 minutes of talking heads, and recent live performances of 3 poems. Some will doubtless say there are too many talking heads in the doc, but most of them do actually have interesting things to say, although the best bits are undoubtedly when JCC himself is on camera. It's difficult to think of a more loveable cultural icon than this friendly, funny, down-to-earth punk poet with the skinny legs and big hair. It's good to see him receiving the recognition he deserves and it's equally good to see that this is a product which has been put together with respect for both the fans and the man himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fittiing overview of Punk Poet, Gag Merchant, Bon ..., 23 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD] (DVD)
Fittiing overview of Punk Poet, Gag Merchant, Bon Viveur. Legend. Give the national treasure a record deal. Or a TV show? Imagine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD]
Evidently John Cooper Clarke [DVD] by John Ross (DVD - 2013)
£15.43
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews