Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy thriller.
This movie contains that 70's feelgood factor that is so rare to find now. Both Goldie and Chevy play it with plenty of chemistry and subtle slapstick. The laughs come easily, when the focus falls on two old ladies involved in an interesting game of Scrabble and Dudley Moore is just brilliant as the sexually frustrated single on the cicuit. The bad guys provide plenty...
Published on 10 Jun. 2013 by Mr. Peter Dobrovic

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silly fun if you like that sort of thing.
It's a terrible film, but one I remember from childhood and love just the same. There's Goldie at her cutsie height. Chevy before he commanded the lead. One of the greatest ever cameo's by one Mr Dudley Moore. An albino assassin, long before Dan Brown thought to put pen to paper and a plot even sillier than that of the Da Vinci Code. Beware of the dwarf, look out for...
Published on 31 Dec. 2008 by theTramp


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy thriller., 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie contains that 70's feelgood factor that is so rare to find now. Both Goldie and Chevy play it with plenty of chemistry and subtle slapstick. The laughs come easily, when the focus falls on two old ladies involved in an interesting game of Scrabble and Dudley Moore is just brilliant as the sexually frustrated single on the cicuit. The bad guys provide plenty of action as they pursue Goldie for an item that she doesn't know she has. All in all a good light-hearted comedy thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely charming!, 7 Dec. 2011
By 
The CinemaScope Cat - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
One of the most delightful confections of 70s movie going was the hybrid of romance, comedy and thriller. In most cases, one is grateful if any of the genres are done right but when you mix them all together, sometimes it's a cinematic recipe for disaster. However, Colin Higgins (9 To 5) who directed in addition to writing the screenplay has concocted a congenial blend of mystery, laughs and charm. A librarian (Goldie Hawn) innocently picks up a hitch hiker and then finds herself mixed up in murder, missing bodies, albino killers, dwarfs and an assassination by a radical political group. Hawn is irresistible here. You can see why she was America's reigning sweetheart of the 70s. Chevy Chase keeps both his smugness and mugging in check and an amusing Dudley Moore starts his American career. The theme song, READY TO BEGIN AGAIN, is one of the great movie love songs which inexplicably lost the best song Oscar to YOU LIGHT UP MY LIFE. With Burgess Meredith, Rachel Roberts, Brian Dennehy and Billy Barty.

The region 1 DVD is a nice anamorphic wide screen (1.85) transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Look out for the elf!", 10 May 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Having written the hit Silver Streak a couple of years earlier, writer Colin Higgins finally earned his directorial spurs with Foul Play, delivering a real crowd-pleaser spoofing the Hitchcock `wrong man' formula as Goldie Hawn's singleton finds herself pursued by an albino, a scarred man and a dwarf for some incriminating evidence in a papal assassination plot that she doesn't even know she has. Intended as a Farrah Fawcett vehicle until contractual wrangles turned it into something of a comeback for Hawn, it's full of disappearing bodies, comic misunderstandings and romantic banter with Chevy Chase's flippant cop who's more interested in her than the case, but it's so well done that the near two hour running time just flies by. There are the occasional missteps here and there but they're comparatively few and far between, and there's a great scene-stealing cameo from Dudley Moore as a constantly frustrated swinger who gets caught up in Hawn's various getaways.

Composer Charles Fox has fun working bits of the Mikado into his score for the big chase scene, Higgins has a surprisingly good eye for a striking visual in the grand finale and never overeggs the comedy, there's a neat if predictable gag with two little old ladies playing an obscene version of Scrabble oblivious to Hawn's appeals for help outside their window and enough rare vintage movie posters in the cinema scene to fund a movie at today's prices. It's also your only chance to see a spectacularly clumsy martial arts fight between Burgess Meredith and Rachel Roberts and has a Pope who looks like composer Jerry Goldsmith. What's not to like?

No extras on Paramount's Region 1 NTSC DVD, but an acceptable widescren transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, classic film, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foul Play ( Killing Lydia ) (DVD)
I loved this film the first time I saw it years ago, and after buying it recently, loved it just as much again. So funny and great acting, set in beautiful San Francisco. Goldie, Chevy and Dudley at their best, and in their prime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a film you either love or you don't, 14 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foul Play (1978) (DVD)
This is a film you either love or you don't. I come in the former category. For a long time it has been unavailable in region 2 format so I was delighted to find this remedied. My only reason for withholding the final star for this issue which originates in Holland and retains the original English language soundtrack is that although it has Dutch subtitles (plus the standard four Scandinavian languages) there are none in English. As a born Englishman I nevertheless sometimes find subtitles useful when listening to the US version of my language!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still fun after alle these years !, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foul Play ( Killing Lydia ) (DVD)
Goldie and the Guys surrounding her are all just as charming as then - and the film itself as entertaining.
A real treat !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foul Play ( Killing Lydia ) (DVD)
I watched this years ago and have had trouble finding a copy,it was worth the wait a film with a bit of everything in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far out!, 3 Mar. 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
There are foul deeds afoot. Probably that diabolical cabal, the “Tax the churches league.”
Gloria Mundy (Goldie Hawn) picks up a hitchhiker named Scotty (Bruce Solomon). They make a date to see a retro movie. There she hears Scotties last warning “beware of the dwarf”. Scotty is DEAD. This leads to a mystery in which people are dying and a plot ensues. The only person that believes or pretends to believe her is Detective Tony Carlson (Chevy Chase). Together they must figure out if a plot exists and what to do. Her landlord (Burgess Meredith) rephrases the threat as “Beware of the midgets…they are taking over the world” and we can not forget the sinister look on Esme’s (Shirley Python) face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foul Play (1978) (DVD)
I love this film, Goldie Hawn is at her best and the magic on screen between her and Chevy Chase is great. It's a mystery, a comedy and a romance with a bit of adventure thrown in for good measure. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Foul Play, 21 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foul Play ( Killing Lydia ) (DVD)
One of my favourite films, I was thrilled to find it on PAL, region 2, DVD; my old video tape having worn out after many viewings over the years. A very funny, but also quite tense and exciting, comedy thriller with great perfrmances by Chevy Chase and a young Goldie Hawn. However, it is Dudley Moore's hilarious performance as an orchestra conductor that stays in the mind, never failing to make me laugh out loud. If, like me, you are a Chevy Chase fan you must also see this - it has to be one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews