Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One for the summer!, 2 May 2013
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
Just as the weather finally improves along comes an album that shouts "summer",(well, whispers really, but hopefully you get my drift. Beautiful pastoral tracks that make one long to get out in the country are the order of the day here and the fact that the band are based in New York city is an irony that is not lost on me. There is a sort of NYC air to the lyrics, but this collection of wistful, predominantly acoustic numbers sounds superb if played outdoors in the sunshine. The songs are instantly memorable with delicately picked guitars and soft piano with occasional strings, brass and woodwind backing up gently sung melodic harmonies.

In one word? Elegant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gentle, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
I do like Hem's album Rabbit Songs but I often have to turn it off at some point as the tracks are all rather similar - gentle, sweet voice and tunes. Departure and Farewell is superior to this and a little more varied. Its a great c.d. for listening to in the car, people often ask who it is when they hear it. There is nothing gutsy about this. It's a soothing track, with a lot of heartfelt lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beutiful album, 9 Dec 2013
By 
D. Stockdale (In Bangor) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
I bought this album a couple of months ago and found it instantly beautiful and up to their usual good standard. If you like Hems other music, you will like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HEM ageless but fresh, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
An album that sounds so familiar on listening yet fresh and different enough to hold the ear and attention to the musicality and lyrics that reward a hearing. Like a new old friend that comforts but also stimulates. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars worth waiting for, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
Another beautiful album from the Brooklyn based outfit. Well crafted songs with beautiful instrumentation but it's Sally Ellyson's voice which really makes Hem's music a joy to listen to. Doesn't hit the heights quite so often as previous albums 'Eveningland', 'Funnel Cloud' and 'Rabbit Songs' but is not far off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HEM - Departure & Farewell, 21 Jun 2013
By 
A. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
As an avid fan of HEM they can do no wrong as far as I'm concerned. Dan Messe and Steve Curtiss write wonderful lyrics and the purity of Sally Ellson's vocals improves with each album produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I like but it took a little while., 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
Never had heard of these guys before and bought the album only after a music contact recommended it highly. Put it on, and first reaction was "that girl has a lovely voice" but nothing else really registered strongly with me. I have listened to it a lot now, and it's a real grower, and I have gone from thinking 3 star stuff to giving it a 5 star rating. The songs are beautiful, tranquil in the main, and dominated by beautiful vocals and keyboard playing. A real chill out album that I can highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read, 21 Feb 2014
By 
D R TWEEDIE "Derek Roy" (Belfast. Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
worth a read, kept me interested through the entire book. Always something coming next. good and interesting read my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy listening, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Rumer, you will like Hem, some of the tracks I would miss on a play list but still worth the down load.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Item as advertised, quick delivery., 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Departure and Farewell (Audio CD)
Item as advertised, quick delivery. It's very annoying having to write more. I'm happy with the item but it's just a CD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Departure and Farewell
Departure and Farewell by Hem (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews