Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great short read
I downloaded this on a whim and am so glad I did. The author seems to know his stuff and wrote well about the situation and about the characters. I will be downloading more of his books in future as I liked the storyline and the fast pace of it.
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but flawed
Terrorists plan to use a hijacked cargo ship in a devastating attack against the UK and only the Special Boat Service can save the day.

Ocean Strike gets off to a promising start and builds tension nicely despite a string of minor errors that really should have been picked up by a good editor.

This novella starts to fall apart around halfway through...
Published 16 months ago by Ian Barker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Promising but flawed, 26 July 2013
By 
Ian Barker (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
Terrorists plan to use a hijacked cargo ship in a devastating attack against the UK and only the Special Boat Service can save the day.

Ocean Strike gets off to a promising start and builds tension nicely despite a string of minor errors that really should have been picked up by a good editor.

This novella starts to fall apart around halfway through though with illogical plot decisions that harm the credibility of the tale. The resultant ending feels rather flat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
This has to be the most disappointing book I've read. Limited plot, a string of one directional characters and a plod along storyline. The book read like a stretched out version on an Ultimate Force TV episode but without the visual impetus. From reading the opening of the the next book Zero Six Bravo it looks like the author hasn't improved any!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great short read, 12 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this on a whim and am so glad I did. The author seems to know his stuff and wrote well about the situation and about the characters. I will be downloading more of his books in future as I liked the storyline and the fast pace of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Punchy and Smart, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
Ocean Strike is a short but punchy book. Following a well-trodden formula, Lewis still manages to create a page-turner. If you like a thriller that involves a story of an impending threat, a group of highly trained special forces and an explosive action-filled ending - then this is the book for you. Lewis obviously knows his stuff and the soldiers are strong characters with flaws and all. A good read and a nice length for readers who want to sample a well-written thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Frightening Scenario, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
It's Christmas, there are terrorists with a plot and a group of highly-trained specialists. Strong characters and a frightening scenario. Lewis's book does what it promises to. For those who are fans of the more `military' style thrillers and soldier banter. It's not as long as some books, but great for injecting some action into your day. Lewis knows his genre well and it shows
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast-Paced and Gripping, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
I'm a fan of Damien's books and this one doesn't fail to deliver. Involving some of the scariest villains and one of the most thought-provoking plots. The Special Boat Squadron sent in to stop the attack on Britain has those strong and daring characters that I've come to love in Damien's books. These are no-nonsense men, with courage and a frightening amount of adrenaline. Ocean Strike is perfect for those who like military thrillers and characters who go to extreme lengths to prevent chaos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A quick read, 22 May 2014
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
Action packed short story that is easy to read. The author seems to know quite a bit about the military but it is easy to pick holes in the chain of events if you really want to. It is far better just to read and enjoy, passing away spare few minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Short story, 18 May 2014
By 
G. McGowan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
Not a book, more a short story. Not worth the price. Huge plot holes including unnecessary boat chases (4 helicopters disappearing for no apparent reason? Can't bomb the ship in case the crew is innocent, yet they go in shooting first?). Could have been a much better book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Short but entertaining., 24 April 2014
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
Recently read author's Bravo Six Zero, which I loved. Ocean Strike is much shorter and not as good but novella is still entertaining and captures mindset and banter of soldiers. Plot is partly based on real life situation I think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good story too short, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ocean Strike (Kindle Edition)
Good start but a very short tale, left hanging wanting more and feeling slightly chested for my two quids worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ocean Strike
Ocean Strike by Damien Lewis
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews