Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome return of Delilah
I have to admit, I will pick up anything by Barry Eisler - he writes so well, his scripts are taut, great stories brimming with stunning locales and best of all, the characters. Another admission: Delilah isn't my favorite character. As Rain's partner I felt she took him away from what he does, blunted his edge and I was relieved when they parted ways in 'Paris is a...
Published 18 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can take it or leave it
Was OK for a quick read, but not enthralling. The main character is typical of this type of story. In fact, one has to wonder if there are any "less than stunning looking" female spies in existence while reading this genre of book!
Published 17 months ago by Ruth Mullen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome return of Delilah, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit, I will pick up anything by Barry Eisler - he writes so well, his scripts are taut, great stories brimming with stunning locales and best of all, the characters. Another admission: Delilah isn't my favorite character. As Rain's partner I felt she took him away from what he does, blunted his edge and I was relieved when they parted ways in 'Paris is a Bitch'.

However, London Twist has changed my view on her in a big way. Like Eisler's other books it has the locales and the 'operator trade craft' his books are so loved for, but it is so different in a good way as it's not just about 'taking out' a subject. Like Rain is better off alone, so is Delilah, Mossad's top 'honey trap' agent - who is coerced into helping British Intelligence get close to an activist. What makes the story so well written is that the war on terror is viewed objectively by Eisler and his criticisms of his own governments actions are quite refreshing to read. Delilah's mark is an engaging individual and you feel for her, just as you feel for Delilah and her situation and the inevitable aftermath.

If you like the Rain-verse and Barry's other books I simply can't recommend this enough. I look forward to his next book AND Delilah's return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delilah, 6 Mar 2013
By 
ACB (swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
Wonderful book. Eisler has a way, even in Novella form, to transfer a story into unbelievability yet keeping the suspense of the plot ongoing. His theme of Delilah and target are brilliantly portrayed with a short descriptive narrative. Involvement with the FBI and MI6 add to the importance and subterfuge of the story. Who is innocent? Read and find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as always, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
Excellent as always which I've come to expect from Mr Eisler's novels.

This book is based upon Delilah one of Mossad's ummm most effective agents, who is tasked with getting information from a Muslim activist.

It was good to catch up with Delilah again, and setting most of it in London, (one of my favourite cities) was just a bonus. Although the London Delilah experienced is quite a bit different from the one I go to. As a semi-regular visitor to London everything rang true which is a credit to the writing and research.

It also made me think about both the war on terror and the way the West is fighting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not well written, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
story mundane and obvious and totally unbelievable. Main characters far too glamorous and all over the top - daft! Won't get any more of Eisler's books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can take it or leave it, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
Was OK for a quick read, but not enthralling. The main character is typical of this type of story. In fact, one has to wonder if there are any "less than stunning looking" female spies in existence while reading this genre of book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars London twist, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
Average thriller not very well written and it concentrates on too much detail to the detriment of the plot.It did not make me want to read any more of the series of novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars London twist, 10 Mar 2013
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
Is a good background story to the Barry Eisler series. It fills in the gaps! Try it and enjoy.
K&K Tavictock
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great little story, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
This is a short novella set in the same world as the John Rain series. The focus is on Delilah his one time paramour. Great little story, which adds a bit of colour to the uses her associates make of her talent. It's a nice read, entertaining etc. It enables to reader to get a better understanding of the Delilah character
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
The story is quite good and is interesting if you read Barry Eisler books, but I found it a bit slow and heavy going to some of his previous novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sort of lightweight but enjoyable., 14 Dec 2013
By 
Roger Cave - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Twist: A Delilah Novella (Kindle Edition)
I've read quite a few of Eisler's books and as with this one, I enjoyed the tail. It's a bit lightweight, and Delilah is perhaps a little too glamorous for her role, but this is a step out of reality.

So the Mossad send Delilah after a female terrorist, or at least a suspected one. It's a false flag mission, trouble is Delilah ends up in too deep, in more ways than one.

Still, it's nicely drawn out as a plot, and ultimately a decent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Twist: A Delilah Novella
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews