Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CINDERELLA
... A superb widescreen copy, english subtitles, a commentary by John Schlesinger and Julie Christie (not very interesting), a theatrical trailer and a 15 minutes excerpt from a BBC serie about british cinema (very interesting) are offered as bonus features.
Tom Courtenay is William Fisher, a young man with problems. He doesn't like his job as a funeral furnishings...
Published on 7 Feb 2003 by Daniel S.

versus
81 of 88 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to the Criterion edition
Go to amazon.com and order the American version instead. Sharper, widescreen print, plus commentaries from Schlesinger/Courtney/Christie, original trailers, and a clip of the 1993 Northern Lights documentary (Waterhouse and Hall revisiting locations etc). None of which are on this UK disc.
Once again, the British lose out to the 'that'll do' mentality and get a very...
Published on 20 Jan 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy liar, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Liar [DVD] (DVD)
Really good film, obviously dated but still funny. Bought it for my 83 year old mother and she watches it regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Billy Liar, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Liar [DVD] (DVD)
It has Julie Christie in it, so it is an automatic 5 stars. Also, it is a persuasive tourist brochure for people wanting to visit Ambrosia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sixties Classic, 8 Feb 2014
By 
Barry M. Smith "vegasranger" (Las Vegas) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have really enjoyed this film since I was a kid. Looks very old now, life has really moved on from the sixties. Video quality is very good. A great walk down memory lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Film at its best, 29 Sep 2013
By 
Michael Murray (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant 60s classic that is a must for any serious film nerd or collector. Great to finally have it on Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars billy liar, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Liar - 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
although dated and black and white i found this movie very entertaining makes you thing that one lie only leads to anouther and gets you further into trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Billy Liar, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: Billy Liar - 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
As this was bought as a christmas present I can't really comment on it as such. But the dvd arrived very promptly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Courtenay makes this film!, 28 April 2013
By 
Sandra Nilsson "Aussie in Sweden" (Göteborg, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Liar [DVD] (DVD)
I am currently into British 60's films and Tom Courtenay is one of my favourites so this film was a must buy. It is a light, enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Liar [DVD] (DVD)
Great product did exactly what the advert said it would do. I would recommend this to you all. It worked as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 7 Jun 2013
By 
J. Donnelly "Jaydeetoo" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Billy Liar [DVD] (DVD)
Although this DVD was trailed as 'new', it wasn't. Even though it was plastic-sealed, the disc itself was stained and greasy and actually froze when played. It took some determined cleaning (not just a wipe) to remove the dirt and, fortunately, the disc would then play - hence me awarding 3 stars and not 2.

The film itself and the quality of the print was fine.

But I've never had a new order arrive before, that both wasn't new and in such a poor state.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb34a52c4)

This product

Billy Liar - 50th Anniversary Edition [DVD] [1963]
£10.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews