Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking
Per capita, Finland spends more money than any other country on musical education. That goes some way towards explaining the wealth of musical talent that has emerged from those shores in recent years, among its brightest stars Nightwish, Insomnium, Omnium Gatherum, Swallow the Sun, Ensiferum, Wintersun and - at the top of the pile - Amorphis. Upon hearing Amorphis,...
Published 10 months ago by HeavyMetalMonty

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst Amorphis album ever!
I am a big Amorphis fan and could not wait to get my hands on this album, what a disappointment!!! Much, much weaker effort than the last album (which was only decent). Songs are dull, and monotonous. Tommy's voice is almost unnoticeable (at some times it sounds more like a backing that lead vocal) and barely recognizable. Production is awful, the whole thing sounds like...
Published 9 months ago by Igor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtaking, 22 May 2013
By 
HeavyMetalMonty (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circle (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Per capita, Finland spends more money than any other country on musical education. That goes some way towards explaining the wealth of musical talent that has emerged from those shores in recent years, among its brightest stars Nightwish, Insomnium, Omnium Gatherum, Swallow the Sun, Ensiferum, Wintersun and - at the top of the pile - Amorphis. Upon hearing Amorphis, it's tempting to think that their musical gifts must have come from the Viking gods. While this may be part of the story, the rest is that the band has relentlessly rehearsed, composed, recorded and toured for over two decades.

In 2006 Amorphis created an album that demonstrated mastery of their craft. That album was Silent Waters, a vast and varied pastiche of brutal heaviness, mythological themes, immaculate composition, perfect execution, and melodies so delicate they seem otherworldly. The next two Amorphis albums - Skyforger and The Beginning of Times - have the trademark Amorphis sound, a unique blend of heaviness and melody, yet lack the consistent brilliance of Silent Waters. With Circle, Amorphis is back on breathtaking form...and then some. Words can't do justice to the magnitude of this album. A swathe of mythic lyrics, jagged riffs, beautiful composition, wall-crumbling bass and drums, soaring vocals and eye-wateringly gorgeous melodies, Circle has to be heard to be believed. This is the sound of metal with the blinkers taken off and all limits blown sky high.

Here's the track-by-track breakdown.

1. Shades of Gray
Far from the lightweight opening of previous album The Beginning of Times, this kicks off proceedings with riffs that bite like a hungry beast, followed by a bridge and chorus reminiscent of Skyforger opener Sampo. That is no bad thing. The guitar solo is sublime: a folky melody played on clean-toned electric guitars. Tomi Joutsen alternates between clean-vocalled soaring and brutal growls. Light and shade in equal doses. A perfect opener.

2. Mission
A brief piano intro leads into a gargantuan guitar riff. This is Amorphis on their home ground: gorgeous Scandinavian melodies played with extreme heaviness that magnifies the impact. Flawless and straight from the Silent Waters school of music. Tomi's vocals are clean throughout.

3. The Wanderer
Not a million miles from Silver Bride in its melody, the chugging guitars of the verse lead into another quintessentially Amorphis chorus, Tomi's vocals soaring over piano, guitars, bass and drums. Like Shaman from Silent Waters, the track lacks real bite or heaviness but is no worse off for it, the melody evocative enough to carry the song.

4. Narrow Path
The flute intro leads to a riff that's pure Thin Lizzy (no bad thing!). The Celtic theme continues throughout the song, as Lizzyesque riffs meld perfectly with Tomi's anthemic vocal. Somewhere, Phil Lynott is listening to this and smiling. Once again, the guitar solo is worthy of mention. It resonates in my soul and makes me smile. Genius.

5. Hopeless Days
The verse's guitars and drums are tribal in the style of Saigon Kick's Peppermint Tribe. Again, Joutsen's vocals soar high above chugging riffs. Midway through, the track segues into a section that's eerily close to the 'bow down before the one you serve' part of NIN's Head Like a Hole, but delivered in undeniably Amorphis style. The track could be accused of being too derivative, merely piecing parts of other bands' songs together into a Frankensteinish whole, but that whole works as a song in its own right, so I can overlook the perhaps-too-obvious tips of the hat to other artists.

6. Nightbird's Song
Half a minute of delicate intro is followed by a roar from Tomi and a riff that's atypically discordant and almost black metal in its tone. This soon gives way to the more familiar sounds of clean guitars and soaring vocals. After a prog-rock section with Jethro-Tullish flute (really), a second roar from Tomi signals a return to heaviness. A diverse song, this fuses many musical styles into a coherent whole with its own identity.

7. Into the Abyss
This tune - from its piano intro to the choral-style backing vocals and soundtrackesque guitars - could easily be Nightwish. Only Tomi's vocals, which are absolutely recognisable, give away that this is Amorphis. Twin guitars - one clean-toned, the other down-tuned - drive the song with a chugging rhythm, above which soars another amazing vocal from Tomi.

8. Enchanted By the Moon
A poignant melody is delivered with extreme heaviness. Jan Rechberger's drum performance is inhuman. Enchanted by the Moon is a modern-day sea shanty played by Vikings with command of both brutal heaviness and heart-wrenching melody.

9. A New Day
Epic. A slow burner driven by more inhuman drumming by Jan Rechberger and meandering bass from Niclas Etelävuori. Anthemic metal at its best.

10. Dead Man's Dream
No messing about. The track starts out as pure death metal, its riffs from Hell accompanied by Tomi Joutsen's demonic growls. Masters of light and shade, Amorphis soon transition into a cleanly sung bridge and chorus carried by Santeri Kallio's Faith-No-Moresque keyboard and the spectacular twin-guitar delivery of Tomi Koivusaari and Esa Holopainen. Special credit must go to Jan Rechberger, whose drumming is once again breathtaking.

An amazing accomplishment. If you buy one metal album in 2013, make it Circle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 3 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circle (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
I keep expecting that Amorphis will eventually make an Album that i don't like, but this isn't it. In fact its better than their last one and that was my album of the year.

All you have to do here is unwrap it (the packaging on my Digipak is lovely as well) and play track 8 "Enchanted By The Moon". Here they've chucked in a Morricone style keyboard/ harmmony motif then halfway through it turns into Powerslave-Era Maiden before ending with a keyboard solo! The breadth of influence and invention in one track alone is ridiculous, all held together by a chorus too!

The album is more varied than their last offering, with some tracks being a lot harder than on "Beginning of Times" and "Skyforger", but have no fear elements of both of those remain and there are some delightful "poppy" hooks and epic harmonies in several tracks. Also some intriguing use of classical/folk instruments. In fact there are elements of all their back catalogue here in this one album. I haven't heard an average track so far and my only small criticism is the production is a bit too light, you can tell Tagtren was involved thats for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The opposite of hopeless, 28 April 2013
By 
D. L. Wilkinson "Dean" (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Circle (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Album number 11 for Amorphis.I guess the term progressive death metal is defined by Amorphis.Tomi their singer growls like a lion one minute and sings like an angel the next,and he can do the mid way bits too,he seems one of the most accomplished in his field.The band,as ever,is serving up amazing melodic yet complex music full of melancholy and grandeur.They may not 'death out' like the early days (the bonus track is the fastest on the album) but you can tell they have the latent power behind them and just choose to forge new shapes with it,and they are still heavy.What's changed this time is the production and Peter Tagtren (of Hypocrisy and producer of Immortal amongst others) gives a fresher more brittle and crunchy sound which works very well,and the album is very easy to listen to as a whole somehow,more so than last the album for me.Lyrics again are written by artist/poet Pekka,as with the last three albums I think,and he makes an very interesting appearance on the dvd film.Maybe we should all tape antlers to our heads and run around the woods at least once in our life?
The track Hopeless Days stays in my head,catchy,heavy and beautifully sad,makes me quite fancy ordering the hopeless brown/bourbon sauce they were selling on their webpage!
I still love them since I first heard them in 1996 and in fact maybe I love them more now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amorphis, 26 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circle (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Great band from finland and I do enjoy there music this was well worth the money and I recommend this if you love Amorphis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gd stuff, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circle (Audio CD)
Took a punt on this. Pleasantly surprised at the quality of he songwriting and musicianship. Would recommend ot to anyone who is thinking of trying this type of music out as a starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst Amorphis album ever!, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circle (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
I am a big Amorphis fan and could not wait to get my hands on this album, what a disappointment!!! Much, much weaker effort than the last album (which was only decent). Songs are dull, and monotonous. Tommy's voice is almost unnoticeable (at some times it sounds more like a backing that lead vocal) and barely recognizable. Production is awful, the whole thing sounds like a bad demo tape of the (junior) highschool band. Obviously the decision not to go with Marco Hietala as a producer this time was a BIG mistake! This album is so bad that I'm thinking on skipping the next tour entirely (first time in 10 years). Awful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amoprhis deliver the goods once again., 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Circle (Bonus One DVD) (Audio CD)
Another great Amorphis album. Long time fans, as well as new ones, will enjoy some great metal music in the classic Amorphis style. The folk touch maybe not so obvious on this album but you can still feel it lingering somewhere in every song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac2fe030)

This product

Circle
Circle by Amorphis (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews