Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy follow-up
I have awaited Foyle's return on screen for quite some time, and the wait was definitely worth it. The episodes are well written, interesting and suspenseful. Foyle comes back from America and is immediately approached by MI5: Finally they want him to work for them.

The episodes are really exciting and dramatic. The war is over, and Foyle finds himself in the...
Published 14 months ago by Eirik

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fine acting - Heavily cut episodes
Michael Kitchen is outstanding as Christopher Foyle. The writing is tight and crisp. The problem with this series is not in the writing and definitely not in the acting. Each of these episodes is missing approximately 15 minutes of footage. Foyle's War typically runs at 101 minutes per episode and these weigh in at about 86 minutes. Obviously they are cut for television...
Published 10 months ago by MarxBrothers3


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different tone, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I was excited about seeing this series and seeing what Foyle and co would be like in the Cold War, and it didn't disappoint. However, it has a different tone to the earlier series because it handles a different type of 'war'. A lot more focus on the fear of reds under the bed, which was alright, but didn't interest me as much as the more varied themes in the earlier series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly 5, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Can I give 4 and a half? This did not quite have the charm of the original episodes, perhaps because of the change from war to peace time - the characters seem to me to have "lost the plot" a bit but it none the less made for some wintertime viewing that was not full of unwarranted violence and sexual content - made a refreshing change
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Welcome Return, 20 May 2013
By 
Peter Young (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
After the ill-considered decision by the powers that be at ITV to 'drop' one of their finest ever drama series, it was a delight when the return of Foyle was announced.

Foyle's attributes and the world of espionage are not always natural bedfellows, so part of the interest in the new series has been to watch how Foyle manages to maintain his personal integrity whilst negotiating past the many obstacles that he finds in his way, some of which are deliberately introduced by those who are supposedly on the same 'side' as his new found employment.

I'm pleased that Honeysuckle Weeks is able to accompany Foyle - she is now married to a career politician, which is an interesting plot device albeit a pity for continuity's sake that it is a different actor playing her spouse.

Their relationship still works well; some of the plot lines felt a lttle threadbare at times, especially where it hinged around a lack of discretion, which helped the story but wasn't necessarily believeable - I won't cite examples as I dislike 'spoilers'. But overall this was a well plotted and ingenious return for a favourite character and I look forward to seeing much more.

My one real grumble is one the visual side which detracted from the pleasure of viewing. There is an all too obvious ' managing' of the colour balance on-screen. We all know that reducing and biasing the colour density is used as a device to portray a particular mood or, in this case, a bygone era but the extent to which it is done here is dreadfully unsubtle and it has been overdone to the point of being an unwelcome and unrealistic distraction. A great pity and I hope that further series will be more subtle with this overworked 'device'.

The series was relatively short and I hope further, longer series are planned - a welcome return to Sunday evening viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 15 April 2013
By 
M. Lovett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely adore Foyle's War, well Michael Kitchen anyway.

If there had been more stars to give, I would have.

I recommend this series to anyone. I think it's the lack of bad language and gratuitus violence that I especially like. So different from most modern stuff isn't it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hercule Holmes, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
The Foyle collection are some of the best TV in recent years. The first six series were continuously gripping - they never went down hill, which is what has happened with other TV series. The last 3 episodes are just as good. Time has moved on, the war is over an now Foyle is working for the secret service. Sam still sits next to him, though in the first episode she starts off behind a desk, rather than the behind the wheel of a car and she suddenly seems to have grown much older and wiser. As always, Foyle is his usual mysterious self - quietly observing and working it all out in his head - he's like a cross between Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot...

If you are a fan on Foyle's War then you will love this - if you have never watched Foyle's War and are unsure of whether to start or not - then do. It really is excellent viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foyle in the Cold War, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I have been a fan of Kitchen's quiet and thoughtful portrayal of Foyle through the war years. He is a fine actor with a rare capacity to deliver much with the minimum of spoken words.
I was sceptical about the merit of extending his activity into the post-war era. I need not have been concerned.
All the ingredients came together - intelligent plotline, fine re-creation of the period and a Britain suffering through austerity, portrayal of main characters consistent with what we know of them from the decade previous, but actually older and 'evolved' (notwithstanding some very human errors of judgement).
The unifying force is that of the restrained intellectual power of Foyle being applied to cleaning up other people's messes, as reluctantly as ever. It is great to see how themes and characters which were somewhat marginal in the wartime period have emerged in new and believable forms, at centre stage.
Now I want more of Cold War Foyle and those in his orbit. It is an era with great scope for intriguing plotlines and new challenges for the characters. With the capabilities of this show's writers and actors, it would not be a stretch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foyle's new war, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This is storytelling and acting at its best. Michael Kitchen is superb. So is the rest of the cast. And the details. New titles, slightly different music and more gloomy colors to introduce a new unsettling era. A different series and still the same. What else can I say? Next please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars like all before it gr8, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
like all the previous series #7 was great and foyle having a post war future even better, but still would like to know what he did in america between #6 and #7 tim g vic.AU
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Foyle's Cold War sizzles with excitement, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Mary Winkler (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a sucker for Michael Kitchen and would have liked just watching him sitting staring at the camera for an hour, but the series did really live up to expectations and was tense, funny and touching. Honeysuckle Weeks was back as driver, adding her usual touch of lightness to the piece. Each story was excellent and left you wanting more. I can't wait for the next series which has already been commissioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Foyle, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] (DVD)
When I saw that a 7th edition / series came out was delighted. It was much better than expected. Highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 319 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD]
Foyle's War - Series 7 [DVD] by David Richards (DVD - 2013)
£15.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews