Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great package despite some minor glitches
Ok, first of all these albums represent one of the greatest series of albums in popular music. If you don't own any or just one or two then this set at a good price is a great investment. I bought both the vinyl and CD box.

There are some snags to big fans of Scott like me. The packaging itself suffers from typos in the booklet and from a misprint of the...
Published 14 months ago by Mr. H. Taylor

versus
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the vinyl box set (the music is sensational, though!)
I thought this box set was going to be it. The definitive vinyl versions of Scott's early masterpieces. It was not to be! The vinyl is pressed by gz vinyl of the Czech Republic who have a mixed reputation for their quality of pressings.

Each record comes in an unlaminated cover with a thin white paper inner sleeve (no expense on poly lining!). The labels...
Published 14 months ago by Raving Russell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great package despite some minor glitches, 11 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. H. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ok, first of all these albums represent one of the greatest series of albums in popular music. If you don't own any or just one or two then this set at a good price is a great investment. I bought both the vinyl and CD box.

There are some snags to big fans of Scott like me. The packaging itself suffers from typos in the booklet and from a misprint of the labels which produces The Plague twice instead of 'Cincinnati. They're little things which take nothing away from the music but it's annoying to fans that whoever oversaw the project didn't get a fan to give it the once over.

The most important part is of course the music which is 5 stars. I own the original Philips LPs along with the 4 Men with Beards re-releases and two lots of the CD releases so I can compare the sound. 'Till the Band Comes in' sounds the best it ever has on CD and Scott 3 and 4 are definitely improvements on the previous masters. Scott and Scott 2 don't sound as 'big' as the previous CD releases but this can be attributed to them being stripped back to the original masters. Overall the CDs sound great and of you're a new fan or someone that want to discover something new then this is what you need. Audiophiles may want to pick and choose separately.

The Vinyl LP box is beautiful. The packaging suffers from the same faults as the CD box but they are a vast improvement on the 4 men with beards packaging. The sound is better than the previous pressing also, quite noticeably in some parts. Are they as good as the original? Probably not, but if you can get this set for under 100 its as close as you're going to get without forking out mega-bucks for near mint originals.

All in all 5 stars for the music and 3 stars for the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid the vinyl box set (the music is sensational, though!), 18 Jun 2013
I thought this box set was going to be it. The definitive vinyl versions of Scott's early masterpieces. It was not to be! The vinyl is pressed by gz vinyl of the Czech Republic who have a mixed reputation for their quality of pressings.

Each record comes in an unlaminated cover with a thin white paper inner sleeve (no expense on poly lining!). The labels imitate the original Philips labels but are tacky in appearance. They look cheap. Unfortunately, the worst part is the vinyl itself. Mine had marks on the surface and looked scratched. Upon playing the vinyl was very noisy and with portions of lengthy non-fill. The sonics in the good parts were not great. Certainly better than the 4 men with beards reissue on vinyl (definitely avoid that!) but not as good as the original Philips. This is a shame because the original Philips were noisy too and could be improved upon. If you are like me and appreciate attention to detail when it comes to works of fine art like this, then it is so frustrating to see this product fail to deliver.

Buy the cd set instead. I don't believe we will ever see the day when a truly audiophile set of pressings will be manufactured for these astonishingly beautiful works of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the fifth album will surprise you, 27 Jun 2014
By 
C. J. Allen (leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
some people hate his voice.
for everyone else, Scott 1-4 are among the four best albums, in a row, ever produced. showing development of a sound, of an understanding of how to reflect emotion in songs.
Scott 4 was a flop, released under his real name Scott engel, and in between 3 and 4 he released a LP to tie in with his TV show.
having only heard "till the band comes in" for the first time, when buying this boxset, I have to say that I now love it as much as the other 4. there is much competition but time operator on this firth album is now one of my favourite Scott tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 10 May 2014
By 
P. M. Knight "gassjack" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott - The Collection 1967-1970 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Finally the packaging fits the music. This is so beautifully done, the design, print and finishing are gorgeous - probably the best vinyl box set I own.

I'm not saying anything about the music. If you don't already know how amazing these albums are then I can't help you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Box of Brilliance with a few minor flaws, 22 April 2014
By 
John F. Gramaglia (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott - The Collection 1967-1970 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is an amazing box of Scott walkers most important albums of his early career. Sonically the LP's sound amazing I just wish there was a little extra care in pressing the discs as some of the spindle holes on the discs are tight. The booklet is beautiful with really interesting notes on each of the five albums. There are a few typos here and there which are annoying, but that's really nothing too significant. All in all I am very happy with this collection. I have replaced my badly pressed 4 Men With Beards LP's of these albums and now I can finally hear them in all their rich vinyl glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much much better than the 2008 Four Men With Beards label pressings., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott - The Collection 1967-1970 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Having read an earlier review of this box set which only gave one star I was a little apprehensive when I placed this order. This box set was to replace Scott2, Scott3 and Scott 4 all quite awful pressings on the Four Men With Beards label ( not Abraxus as advertised) My record deck is extremely high end and ruthlessly reveals any defects but at the same time searches out every available scrap of information. I have now played each record and have to say I am very pleased. Surface noise is virtually non existent and apart from the odd pop and crackle ( found on almost all records) the pressings are faultless. The music on all is superb but Scott 4 is my clear favourite. Yes I definitely recommend this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott - the collection 1967-1970, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already had the original cds so I wasn't too sure what the remastered ones would soud like. No need to have worried they are brilliant and the clarity of the sound on these discs show what you were missing from the originals. A must for any diehard Scott Walker fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This music will change your life, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scott 1 -4 plus Til the band comes home ..... surely some of the most amazing music ever written.

If you only know Scott Walker from 'The sun ain't gonna shine any more' jump in .... this is where the good stuff is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely re-issue well presented, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Finally, Scott Walker's first 5 solo albums are re-issued as a box-set! The discs come packaged in a sturdy box, card sleeves faithfully re-create the gate-fold sleeves (where applicable. Remastered at Abbey Road, The CD's sound very close to the original Philips LP's in terms of sound quality, and the discs have not fallen victim to the "loudness wars", in other words, the discs are not processed with excessive digital compression/limiting, you can hear the difference from the previous CD issues of the albums.

One small disappointment is that the booklet could have had more photographs, but you can't have everything!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scott - The Collection 1967-1970 [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scott - The Collection 1967-1970 [VINYL]
Scott - The Collection 1967-1970 [VINYL] by Scott Walker (Vinyl - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews