Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold and fearless...a passionate rendition from a superstar!
This album will not inspire the purists because its in your face! Which ever way you look at it David is a virtuoso and this work showcases him in all his glory. He reinvents old classics in his own inimitable style...but never compromises his talent. Love it!
Published on 24 Mar. 2013 by Izzy

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas present
I bought this as a present (on his list) for my son-in-law - I have no idea if it's any good!
Published 17 months ago by David of Almondsbury


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bold and fearless...a passionate rendition from a superstar!, 24 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
This album will not inspire the purists because its in your face! Which ever way you look at it David is a virtuoso and this work showcases him in all his glory. He reinvents old classics in his own inimitable style...but never compromises his talent. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David does it again..., 2 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
Much like his previous classical crossover albums Virtuoso, David Garrett, and Rock Symphonies, David has done it again on "Music." This time, we're treated to covers of Coldplay's "Viva La Vida," Michael Jackson's "Human Nature," Justin Timberlake's "Cry Me A River," Queen's "We Will Rock You," Misirlou, and Guns N Roses' "Welcome to the Jungle" and updates on Beethoven's "Ode to Joy," Chopin, Clementi, Bach's Double Harpichord Concerto in C Major, and Kachaturian's "Sabre Dance," among others. You'll also find a nod to James Bond rocking a riff from Led Zepplin's "Whole Lotta Love" and some Latin American and Celtic vibes on Tico Tico and Celtic Rondo.

Most thrilling, David has gotten back to recording high-octane classical covers; the Beethoven Scherzo brings to mind the rollicking score from Pirates of the Caribbean. "Sabre Dance" bursts out of the gate with some serious electric guitar and turns it into a headbanging anthem. "Whole Lotta Bond" is a great update on a classic theme. There are slower, gentler sides of David in Chopin's "Nocturne," Clementi - "Sonata" and "Ode to Joy."

And let me be the first to say that I am NOT a fan of the cardboard packaging; it arrived from Germany slightly dented, and I had a devil of a time getting the discs out. You'll find the bilingual liner notes and three gorgeous photo "postcards" tucked into the middle. The Deluxe Edition features a Region 0 DVD with five videos ("Viva La Vida," The Making of Viva La Vida, "Tico Tico" (live from Hannover), "Stop Crying Your Heart Out" (live from Hannover) and "Funiculi Funicula" (live from Hanover). And it's great to finally see David literally letting his hair down in the liner notes (if there isn't a "David Garrett's hair" fanclub, I volunteer to start one!).

Overall, Music is closest in composition to Virtuoso, which still ranks as my #1 David album of all time for its balance of uptempo, classical, and original compositions. This is a must-have for new and old fans alike; be sure to spring for the Deluxe Edition if you can find it! And DEFINITELY spring for the Blu-Ray concert DVD of Music: It is PAL Region 0 and plays just fine on my Sony Blu-Ray DVD player. There are 28 tracks, including pretty much ALL the songs (and bonus tracks) from Music. There are even English subtitles for all of David's German intros!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Garrett, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
I love every piece of davids music.No matter what he plays.Hoping to see him next year with my son,Harley.In Berlin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present for Husband, 30 Mar. 2013
By 
Mrs. Linda Jackson "LJ" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
Really good music but I personally prefer to watch David Garrett perform, He's a brilliant artist. Makes it look so easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
His selections and arrangement are always surprising.and can't wait till his next album sounds like,it's very hard for me to pick favorite one .Just love love his music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely marvelous, 21 April 2014
By 
Praveen Johri - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
cant add any more than already said but just wanted to add another 5 star review to the cd. this has been one of the best purchase of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revelation!!!!, 10 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Thompson "junie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
I have of course, heard of David Garrett before, but never felt tempted to listen or buy his music. WOW!! What a revelation!! This music hits all the parts to make me want to buy and hear more. At first foot tapping, then exciting then soothing.. just beautiful. What a gift he has. No looking forward to adding more to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As brilliantly talented as ever!!, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
What else can I say ?! He never ceases to amaze me with his Talent, for playing the violin , in such a way. that it would be hard for anyone to even come close to him .... he kust an exceptionally talented violinist , who can go beyond the boundaries ..... and make themes etc come alive ...by puttting his own stamp on it ..... 10/ 10 once again Mr Garrett :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (MP3 Download)
Maybe not for the traditional classical listener but a great classical twist on modern hits and a great modern twist on classical hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music by David Garrett, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music (Audio CD)
Excellent CD. The music was beautiful and excellent playing. David Garrett is so so talented and you can feel how much he loves playing. I could listen to this CD all day and never get tired of it. Would recommend this to fans of classical music and rock anthems. It is such a happy CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music
Music by David Garrett (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews