Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept, well executed
This thriller starts with a bang and doesn't let up- something I've come to expect with Matt Lynn's books. It's a truly entertaining, well-placed story. Unlike some of his other financial thrillers, like Market Forces where I got a bit lost at points in financial jargon, this is much easier to get to grips with. An interesting concept that was well executed. Jack is a...
Published 23 months ago by sharonb

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scientifically inaccurate
As a former scientist and knowing a lot about the Pharmaceutical Industry I cringed at the multitude of scientific inaccuracies. A scientist would not have a leprotic experimental animal on their desk it would be in a room with many more subjects protected from the outside world. Leprosy is not caused by a virus but by one or more bacteria variants. Creating new compounds...
Published 22 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting concept, well executed, 3 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
This thriller starts with a bang and doesn't let up- something I've come to expect with Matt Lynn's books. It's a truly entertaining, well-placed story. Unlike some of his other financial thrillers, like Market Forces where I got a bit lost at points in financial jargon, this is much easier to get to grips with. An interesting concept that was well executed. Jack is a brilliant character- Matt Lynn certainly knows his audience and he's a great character of his type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic techno thriller, 20 May 2013
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
Bad Intentions is set in the mid-1990s but despite that is has held up well even 15 years after it was first written. The plot revolves around a pharmaceuticals multi-national and involves some very dirty dealing (in reality it wouldn't surprise me if companies were worse) The plot is well-set up and the characters well defined. Lynn clearly has a handle on the business he is writing about, and has crafted a gripping technology-based chase story that ends with a satisfying climax. Well worth-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fast paced thriller, perhaps too fast, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
Great idea, and it continues at a good pace, but I feel this detracted from the story somewhat, as teh characters never really get a chance to develop.
apart from that, well-written, well thought out, and a decent ending
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly believable, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
Takes a little while to get to grips with the plot,but when it opens up what a cracker.
Good read and I suggest download now before it's charged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good thriller set in the world of global businesses, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
This a good thriller that writes with conviction about the world of global businesses. Has a good central idea that it sustains and delivers upon. All I would change is to remove the swearing in the first couple of pages. Not needed for effect (could be achieved in other ways) and in fact slightly detrimental. Other than that, enjoyed this read, and would recommend it for anyone wanting to read about corporate good guys and bad guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth the read, 24 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
Great book grabs you right from the first page, fast pace thriller. Would highly recommend this to friends would buy more from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 15 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
Excellently written. The story held me right through to the end. I'd recommend it as a very good read. I'd definitely read more from this author. Well done
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decent thriller. Read last third on one sitting., 10 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
Bad Intentions is a well-constructed thriller, with an interesting premise - a pharmaceuticals conglomerate in trouble that gets up to some dirty tricks to stay in business. The hero gradually gets drawn into the conspiracy, but has to go on the run against some very nasty opponents. Lynn is more at home with the business and action scenes than he is with the science, but that is a very minor quibble in what is not meant to be any more than an undemanding beach read. The ending builds up a great head of steam - you won't want to put it down until you know what happens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Scientifically inaccurate, 7 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
As a former scientist and knowing a lot about the Pharmaceutical Industry I cringed at the multitude of scientific inaccuracies. A scientist would not have a leprotic experimental animal on their desk it would be in a room with many more subjects protected from the outside world. Leprosy is not caused by a virus but by one or more bacteria variants. Creating new compounds is not done quickly under a microscope and tested instantly. In the experiment described radioactivity would be unaffected by any reaction between compound and viral culture just by mixing. I am about 20% through this book and the author obviously has not researched his subject. I am optimistic that even with the scientific inaccuracies it will still be as good a read as the previous reviewers think as at the end of the day a story is a story as long as you don't think too much. Will let you know if and when I finish it mmmmmmmm!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Inaccurate from an investigative standpoint, 25 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bad Intentions (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed the start and immediately wanted to read on, unfortunately I was so disappointed I gave up.

As a private investigator with almost twenty-five years experience and one who has specialised in the investigation of the counterfeiting of pharmaceutical products for much of that time, I found the book innacurate.

The methods by which counterfeit pharmaceuticals are produced and reach the market place is far removed from the criminal based scenario put forward by the author. In fact the majority of countefeit product is actaully produced by otherwise ethical pharmaceutical companies operating in contravention of a patent holders intellectual property rights and not by organised crime operating illegal production lines.

Unfortunately what started as a good read, well written and gripping turned into a great anti climax and I found that because it was not as close to the truth as I had hoped I couldn't find it in myself to finnish it. Shame.

That said I liked the author's style and might read another of his books just because of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Intentions
Bad Intentions by Matt Lynn
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews