Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid performer for the price
I was unlucky enough to receive an unit with lens focusing problem (poor convergence).
This is known issue affecting only few early units (according to Optoma).
Anyway, the unit has been sent back to Optoma and repaired and returned quite quickly. The issue is fully fixed.

The projector is great. Especially considering the price.
Having moved...
Published 5 months ago by Robal

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice projection but deliberately difficult to mount
I've been using this projector for a month now, watching both 3D and 2D films in HD on a 106" screen. I can say that it's a solid projection with vibrant colours and excellent 3D. I bought 4 pairs of SainSonic 904 Zodaic glass which work well with this projector once it's switched to DLP mode. The picture is bright enough even with plenty of ambient light and it's...
Published 23 days ago by Robin66


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid performer for the price, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was unlucky enough to receive an unit with lens focusing problem (poor convergence).
This is known issue affecting only few early units (according to Optoma).
Anyway, the unit has been sent back to Optoma and repaired and returned quite quickly. The issue is fully fixed.

The projector is great. Especially considering the price.
Having moved from 720p model, the resolution simply blows away.
Black levels are very good. Light is uniform. Focusing sharp.
There are a lot of settings to play with (although the menu navigation is less than intuitive).

One thing I was slightly disappointed is that it's not possible to use 120Hz in 2D in native resolution (1080p).
Gamers out there will know what I'm talking about...
Still, the input lag is not noticeable, and the projector is good for gaming (at 1920x1080@60).

Some people have correctly noticed that the projector has slightly steeper offset/angle than the specs say.
That means, you'll need to mount it slightly lower (ceiling) or higher (standing) to get picture with no key-stoning.

The included remote is very handy to use, however its back-lighting is probably visible from space....

Pros:
- excellent price/performance
- very good picture
- good brightness
- long lamp life
- lots of settings
- very quiet (barely audible in 'eco' mode)

Cons:
- some units were affected by lens problem (probably only early ones though)
- 120Hz mode not available on native 1080p
- offensively back-lighted remote
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As Good As Competing Projectors That Are Three Times The Price!, 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this because i love 3D and only DLP technology gives you perfect ghost free viewing, for the 500 i paid i consider it a bargain and it's as good as other DLP projectors that cost three times as much, this is down to the fact it is a single chip projector and uses the Dark Chip 3, other single chip DLP projectors costing up to 2000 also use Dark Chip 3 for their images, the differences come in the implementation of the chip, the design of the casing and the quality of the lens, this projector has a lower quality lens than for example a Benq W7500 but you still get 90% of the performance and more importantly better 3D performance because this projector gives you the choice of RF glasses, RF glasses are superior to DLP link and should always be chosen for 3D viewing.

Now onto the bad part, you will not get a great image out of the box, you need to carefully calibrate this projector to achieve anywhere near the potential it has to offer, out of the box the images are far too bright and have too much yellow in them, colours are just not right and there is noise in the image, some careful calibration will get you a great looking 2D and 3D image, i used a specialist meter and computer software to achieve this but even a simple calibration disc like Spears and Munsil or Disney's WOW disc will help you improve things.

Be aware some people are prone to the "rainbow effect" it's bands of colours that flash across the screen and this projector only uses a 2X speed colour wheel for 2D and a 3X speed colour wheel for 3D, i don't suffer from the rainbow effect, nor do 90% of the population, if you do you will know within hours of viewing something, i don't see any rainbows at all so i am immune to the issue, get a demo if you think you might be troubled by the problem.

My settings below are based on a screen size of 100 inches, a bulb with over 100 hrs on it and a 1.0 gain screen with dark walls, floor and ceiling, they may help you get in the ball park and achieve a better image, you will need to go into the advanced colour menu to do this.

The projector will save separate 2D and 3D settings even though it does not mention this in the manual, to save separate 3D settings you do need to have 3D enabled or you just end up overriding your 2D settings.

2D settings.

These are my setting as calibrated using my meter and software, be aware small differences between each model, the screen and the room will mean these settings will not work on anyone else's projector but they might get you in the ballpark, i decided to calibrate with Dynamic black set to low since it adds much to darker scenes.

Settings with Dynamic Black set to On and Low, Brilliant Color set to 1. Bulb set to High. Colour Space to Auto.

I always start by setting to Reference and then the Gamma to Film, this gives better grey scale performance according to my meter, this shows as User when you start changing settings, make sure format is set to Native and zoom and keystone are at 0, keystone is bad.

Brightness 0
Contrast -9
Sharpness 9
Color 8
Tint 0
Gamma Film
Brilliant Color 1
Colour Temperature Warm
Dynamic Black Low

Advanced Color Menu Settings Below.

White R -11
White G +4
White B -9

Red Hue - 12
Red Saturation -3
Red Gain -13

Green Hue 27
Green Saturation 12
Green Gain 7

Blue Hue 13
Blue Saturation -9
Blue Gain -5

Yellow Hue 37
Yellow Saturation -11
Yellow Gain 17

Cyan Hue -26
Cyan Saturation 0
Cyan Gain 9

Magenta Hue 22
Magenta Saturation -8
Magenta Gain -15

3D settings.

Settings with Dynamic Black set to On and Low, Brilliant Color set to 1. Bulb set to High. Colour Space to Auto

Set Gamma to Graphics, this gives a little more pop for 3D, you lose a tiny amount of shadow detail, i do mean only a tiny amount but it improves 3D viewing immensely, These are only for 3D - Do Not Use For 2D. These settings work best when using the Optoma ZF2100 RF 3D glasses as they take into account the specific tint from those lenses, i DO NOT recommend DLP link glasses.

Brightness 3
Contrast -8
Sharpness 9
Colour -4
Tint 0
Gamma - Graphic
Dynamic Black Low
Brilliant Color 1
Color Temperature Warm

Advanced Color Menu Settings

White Red -13
White Green 1
White Blue 9

Red Hue -14
Red Saturation -2
Red Gain - -11

Green Hue 27
Green Saturation 0
Green Gain 2

Blue Hue 17
Blue Saturation -4
Blue Gain -2

Yellow Hue 36
Yellow Saturation -16
Yellow Gain 3

Cyan Hue 14
Cyan Saturation 0
Cyan Gain 4

Magenta Hue -18
Magenta Saturation -3
Magenta Gain -7

I hope this post can help a few people with the above settings but remember that small differences in each projector, the age of the bulb, the room you are viewing in and the screen you are using will all play a part in the image quality and my settings will not work perfectly for you, they can only help you get a better image than the default settings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 25 Sep 2013
By 
MattT "MattT" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Only received this last night and set it up very quickly. Initial impression are very good and it performed for the 15 mins I had it switched on very quietly. I was a bit concerned about the noise level as this is my first projector and i have heard some can be very loud.

Projection from about 9 foot makes an image of about 80" which was tested with factory default settings (didn't have the time to set up completely) on an off white wall. However the quality was still very good and once this has been set up in my new house with a 133" screen it should be superb. Tested it with Star Wars Blu Ray and have to say i was like a 8 year old at Christmas my smile was soooo big :-)

Very good product as it is sturdily built. Only slight gripe is on the instructions it mentions it should have came with a lens cover but after a quick google it seems this is the norm for the model and it is therefore not missing.

5 Stars for this quality product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't hesitate!!, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: Optoma HD131X Full 3D 1080p Projector (Electronics)
Length:: 1:58 Mins

PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS REVIEW IS FOR THE OPTOMA 131X....NOT THE 131xe.The difference between the two are contrast and lumens.The video which I have uploaded was filmed with the projector in Eco mode!.I bought this projector about a week ago (Feb 2013) and one word could sum this piece of kit up....And here's the word....Superb!!!...With a cost less than 700.00 and the picture quality of a projector four times the cost! Believe me when I say that the colours are astounding!!!...And the Black's are "BLACK" (not grey)and all this in 3D....In fact the 3D images probably are better than the output from the machines 2D!!..I have mine set up to project onto a matt white screen so if there was a problem with the blacks being greyish then it would have shown .Now to depth of the 3D images ....this can be amazing but dependant on the quality of the subject and it's 3D content,Avatar would be my bench mark for depth. Weighing in at around three kilo and with only a small footprint this machine is a Mighty midget that packs a real punch!!!.And as a bonus a ten watt speaker built in rounds off the package.. We watched Avatar last night WOW! WOW WOW!!!By the way..don't Piddle about, get yourself the biggest screen area you can afford (obviously space is a consideration )the distance from my Projector to the screen is around ten feet and I get around 93 inches diagonal ..Next topic " Sainsonic active shutter glasses"..I bought Three pairs..For some reason they lose sync when dealing with light bright scenes..??? !!!Gets a little annoying to say the least!!,my Optoma ZF2100 wifi glasses never lose sync...Reason for this! "my theory only" is that the Sainsonic take their sync from the projection image.."a white flash is emitted every frame"and the signal is lost in bright scene's...Like I say "my theory :-).UPDATE:ITS NEARLY THE END OF NOVEMBER 2013 AND Things are looking even better.....The projector still manages to astound us with it's sharp and bright pictures!!New releases such as "Pacific Rim" and "Iron Man three"leave us dumb struck and in awe of its performance...Can't wait for the weekend :-).Further update....January 2014 I recommend the purchase of the new superman movie "man of steel"also The Croods and the new Wolverine epic.All of which are very watchable in 3D......Some information about earlier models such as mine (bought Feb 2013)..You may find that D L P mode (infrared )is set to standard...Not VESA!!(wireless)A pain in the back side if you have wireless...A firmware upgrade is available to address this issue..You will need a printer USB cable and be able to down load the upgrade onto your pc and then connect and upload to your projector.John :-)................17/6/2014...How to train your dragon in 3D "buy this movie..You won't be disappointed with the 3D affect"..Great depth and astounding colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So I finally bought this projector after much procrastination and reading of reviews and well, I couldnt be happier. Straight out of the box it performs brilliantly. Good blacks, good colours, noise is very low specially in eco mode and the picture quality is superb. Do yourself a favor and get it, you wont be disappointed. Only fault I can come up with is that it doesnt have a lens cap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Projector, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After using it for close to a month now, I can say that the projector exceeded my expectations, both in the quality of the picture and also the build of the unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice projection but deliberately difficult to mount, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been using this projector for a month now, watching both 3D and 2D films in HD on a 106" screen. I can say that it's a solid projection with vibrant colours and excellent 3D. I bought 4 pairs of SainSonic 904 Zodaic glass which work well with this projector once it's switched to DLP mode. The picture is bright enough even with plenty of ambient light and it's very quiet. There's a decent range of adjustment options, and an optical zoom the range of which was too restrictive for my purposes but this seems to affect most projectors and should be an element of your research.

The reason I've given it 3 stars rather than 5 is that physically it's extremely difficult to mount. I've bought 2 different universal projector mount kits and it fitted neither of them. In the end I had to fashion an interface from wood. The 3 bolt holes are of non-standard size (too small to have confidence in their strength) and they're too close together for either mount to accommodate. I had to buy bolts separately from a DIY shop even though the universal mounts are supplied with a range of bolts sizes. The end result is ok, but it took a lot of effort and if I wasn't a competent DIYer I would have given up and bought an Optoma mount. I suspect this is Optoma's objective but one supplier is never going to provide a product range suitable for everyone so it's quite mean-spirited to make it so difficult to use other's mounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Quality and well worth the upgrade!!, 25 Aug 2013
This review is from: Optoma HD131X Full 3D 1080p Projector (Electronics)
Essential accessories:
----------------------
Optoma 3D glasses: Optoma ZD201 DLP-Link 3D Glasses
High Quality HDMI 3D 1080p HDMI cables: 5METER PRO GOLD RED (1.4a Version, 3D, 15.2Gbps) HDMI TO HDMI CABLE WITH ETHERNET,COMPATIBLE WITH 1.3c,1.3b,1.3,1080P,PS3,XBOX 360,SKYHD,VIRGIN BOX,FULL HD LCD,PLASMA & LED TV's AND ALSO SUPPORTS 3D TVS.
Mounting bracket: PROJECTOR CEILING MOUNT BRACKET UNIVERSAL UP TO 10KG in BLACK

First off! Dont buy the cheaper Sainsonic 3D glasses! They DO NOT WORK properly with this projector.
Also get a decent set of high quality HDMI cables otherwise you will get problems when trying to play 3D content at 1080p Full HD! Details above of the ones that I purchased.

I was debating for quite some time if to upgrade to a 1080p projector and if the costly upgrade would make a difference. Well the positive reviews about the HD131X are indeed correct. The HD131X produces a sharp, vivid and very bright image and at 25feet distance from the projector screen size of 250" the quality is simplying amazing!! I was particuarly surprised by the 2000 lumens output which seemed to produce just as bright an image as my older projector which outputted 2500 lumens! In fact I had to turn the brightness down on the new projector and even put the lamp into eco mode as it was that bright. The extra detail produced by a 1080p signal is amazing as you can clearly see very fine detail such as the fabric within clothing or the texture of a person's skin. Contrast and black levels are equally impressive where fine detail which is usually lost in shadows are now easily resolved.

The upgrade from 720p to 1080p is simply stunning when you play a bluray film one which was specifically filmed using full HD technology not to mention a CG animated film such as 'The Pirates in an Adventure with scientists'.

To get the best out of this projector I had to use a ceiling mount bracket in order to directly line up the projected image to that of my projector screen some 25feet away. Lining up the HD131X projector is very important so that the lens is dead centre to that of the projector screen. I noticed on this model in the menu setup that there was no option to shift horizontally or vertically the projected image as was the case with my older projector and im not sure why this feature is not available on this newer model??. This means that you have to install the projector along with a ceiling mount bracket that can shift, tilt, pivot and twist to perfectly align the image within the projector screen. You can buy a universal ceiling mount but you might want to try and get hold of the offical Optoma version for a better fit. PROJECTOR CEILING MOUNT BRACKET UNIVERSAL UP TO 10KG in BLACK

Fan noise seems to be very good and I dont know why some people are complaining about this?? Perhaps its because I have my AV sound system blasting out 7.1 surround sound :-)

The projector does not come with the mounting screws so you need to purchase a small bag of machine screws M3 of max 10mm length. These can be obtained from the web or from a DIY place such as B&Q.

I also ordered a pair of SainSonic glasses but I am experiencing various sync issues. SainSonic(TM) 3D Active Rechargeable Shutter Glasses for DLP-Link Projector *WIRELESS*(NOT FOR TVs) Despite the company contacting me to state that the glasses should work I have had constant syncing problems. DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY BUYING CHEAPER 3D GLASSES! GO AND BUY THE OFFICIAL OPTOMA 3D GLASSES here: Optoma ZD201 DLP-Link 3D Glasses The Optoma glasses work perfectly everytime and the quality is what you would expect and just like in the cinema!

If you are connecting the Optoma HD131X via a PC in order to view 3D bluray content you will need the following:

NVidia GTX graphics card. (I was using a GTX 285)
Bluray Playback software. I was using Total Media Theatre v5
NVidia Play - this is critical in order to get 3D content to work!

You will also need to install NVidia Play. Theres a 14 day free trial period. You need to install NVidia Play otherwise 3D will not work with this projector. Once you have installed Nvidia Play in the Nvidia Control Panel you will see a 3D Resolution setting. One for 1080p and the other for 720p. Ensure that your projector is set to Top and Bottom 3D mode and DLP link is selected in the projector menu system. I am experiencing problems getting the projector to goto 1080p 3D and I can only get a 720p resolution but this is down to the graphics card going via a DTS sound card so suspect the lead that connects the two is not HDMI 1.4a.

I am also using the projector with a Samsung BD Player Samsung BD-F5500 3D Network Blu-ray and DVD Player (New for 2013) and the quality output is equally impressive both in 2D and 3D. The benefit I can see of going with a dedicated BD Player is that you do get full 1080p 3D!

If you are connecting your BD Player via your AMP (via HDMI) make sure that inside the AMP GUI menu you set the Audio output to just AMP and not AMP+TV! Otherwise the BD Player will down sample the output to low quality PCM instead of Dolby HD 7.1

Finally you will need a proper set of HDMI high quality cables!! I ended up wasting money on cheaper ones even though they stated HDMI v1.4a. DONT BOTHER!! GO AND BUY PROPER HDMI cables (ones which are properly insulated and have a 15GB throughput otherwise your projector will not work properly in Full HD 1080p 3D! especially running it through a 7.1 AV audio sound system!! I can highly recommend these HDMI cables: 5METER PRO GOLD RED (1.4a Version, 3D, 15.2Gbps) HDMI TO HDMI CABLE WITH ETHERNET,COMPATIBLE WITH 1.3c,1.3b,1.3,1080P,PS3,XBOX 360,SKYHD,VIRGIN BOX,FULL HD LCD,PLASMA & LED TV's AND ALSO SUPPORTS 3D TVS. A word of advice: If you buy a cheaper HDMI cable or ones which state HDMI 1.4a be careful! Not all HDMI leads which claim to support 3D will work and there are several on Amazon which clearly dont work despite the product description stating otherwise! You need to ensure that your HDMI cable can support enough bandwidth and this is measured in GBs. The ones that work properly are those with a throughput of 15GB's and are 1.4a.

This projector is well worth the money. Dont hesitate to get one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality conrol, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was impressed with every aspect of this projector with one exception: if I focus the top part of the image, the bottom was out of focus and vice versa. I read the manual, tried adjusting all relevant settings and the projector's angle as against the screen. I have owned other Optoma projectors and so know what to expect. A potentially great projector, but unfortunately quality control means an Amazon return/replacement. The lens appears to be misaligned in this case. Frustrating. All other aspects met or exceeded expectations. Definitely worth 'a punt', but be aware that a return may be needed.

UPDATE: replacement unit has the same problem. This projector does a fine job for movies, but if you want it for presentations/training and need a sharp image across the screen, then this doesn't appear to be the right choice. My inexpensive Optoma pico projector manages a more consistent focus across the screen than this model, based on the 2 units I've tried.

UPDATE 2: 3rd unit is much the same. I can only assume this is the norm for this particular projector. Focus can be set to provide a razor-sharp image at the top (say) of the screen, but then the text at the bottom of the screen would be blurry enough to be headache-inducing. Maybe it's a case of 'you get what you pay for' and I'm expecting too much. I'd be interested to learn of others' experiences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars wouldnt recommend, focus issue really annoying., 9 July 2014
By 
Philip Burke (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
same focus issue as others, one corner out of focus and other corner sharp.
I also have to manually adjust the focus every few days and there is the most annoying egg timer (i will asume it came straight out of a windows 95 icon set) that keeps going off when the resolution changes, the egg timer stays on screen way too long, for example, i miss half (if not all) of the great 3D intro for my imax blu rays while i wait for the timer to go away, I'd sooner just see the resolution change. I have an older sanyo projector and no egg timer and im considering going back to it.

on a positive note the 3D is not bad, some focus issues now and again but its ok.
I couldnt honestly recommend this due to the basics being wrong
It was my first optoma product and it will be my last.
When i got it i left it in a box while my room was being done up, now its too late to return to get my money back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Optoma HD131X Full 3D 1080p Projector
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews