Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange and Beautiful
I've given this film 5 stars partially in an attempt to remedy the fact that the only current review has given it a frankly ridiculous 1 star rating, and partly because it is one of the most interesting movies I watched this year. It does need to be said that this film will not appeal to everyone- it is a deeply strange and not always pleasant experience. It is also...
Published 3 months ago by Ellie =)

versus
6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Upstream Color' descends into so much abstraction that you are left with just a flicker of life
Writer, director and actor Shane Carruth follows up his admirable debut `Primer' with his new film `Upstream Color'. Carruth plays Jeff, a reformed alcoholic, who falls in love with Kris (Amy Seimetz). But this is no ordinary love story, a couple pulled together by fate and their past histories.

`Upstream Color' is dominated by Kris's story, who is kidnapped by...
Published 7 months ago by dipesh parmar


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strange and Beautiful, 1 Jan 2014
This review is from: Upstream Colour [DVD] (DVD)
I've given this film 5 stars partially in an attempt to remedy the fact that the only current review has given it a frankly ridiculous 1 star rating, and partly because it is one of the most interesting movies I watched this year. It does need to be said that this film will not appeal to everyone- it is a deeply strange and not always pleasant experience. It is also exceptionally brave. Visually stunning and unapologetically ambiguous, Shane Carruth has done something truly original with the cinematic medium, and it deserves more than a 1 star amazon review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic film. Poor Blu-ray., 19 July 2013
By 
Mr. M. S. Mckinnon "MM" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An amazing film, about which the less you know going in the better. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Unless, of course, you're one of those 'Man Of Steel' types, in which case there may not be enough explosions and fighting for you.

However - and it saddens me to say this, as the film's apparently self-distributed - the Blu-ray has some frequent picture/sound sync issues, and suffers from some really bad compression artifacting and banding.

That said, it's still a stunning film. The last shot had me quite choked up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty, but a beast, 27 Jun 2013
By 
S. Park - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Upstream Color [DVD] [2013] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is the second film from director/writer/actor/producer/editor/composer Shane Carruth, his first film being Primer which has become a cult classic amongst hardcore sci-fi fans. Both films treat the audience as adults, they give enough detail about the characters and story to allow the viewer to piece everything together without spelling it out. At no point do our characters explain everything to the viewers, they show, not tell.

The film starts with the hunt for worms in the soil of blue orchids, after finding the right worm this is used to 'drug' our main character Kris in a nightclub. The worm places Kris under a 'spell' where 'The Thief' makes her empty her bank accounts and hand over the cash. To keep her busy The Thief makes Kris carry out pointless tasks like writing out pages of Thoreau's "Walden" and making them into paper-chains. Once The Thief has his money Kris is abandoned by the side of a road. Kris finds 'The Sampler' who removes the worm from her body into that of a pigs. From here Kris starts to rebuild her life as she has no money and lost her job, this is where she meets Jeff. We learn these two being drawn together is no accident as they both try and make sense of their actions and break the orchid/worm/pig cycle.

The whole experience is like a lucid dream, created by the shallow depth of field and close-ups in most character shots. The atmosphere is created by layers of sound, the pulsing score is noticeable throughout the film, other sounds we generally class as background noise are brought to the foreground and used to create natural rhythms. Some of the key points in the film are actually highlighted by the lack of sound where you stop drifting and take note. The use of layers also exist in the story, the interaction with nature plays a large part, so does the text from Walden which pulls on the ideas of spirit and transcendentalism. This is also seen in the characters who become stripped of personality and emotion, and need each other to rebuild themselves above where they were before. Along with this are the concepts of privacy, intimacy, memory and individuality, what is it that makes us human and different to others. One of the most touching scenes is when our couple are sharing memories and not knowing whose memory is whose.

Each performance matches the subtle, delicate and rolling style of the film, the dialogue is sparse in places where we can concentrate solely on the imagery and score. This is very much a piece of art. I look forward to Carruth's future work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars shortbus ++++, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must say that I always find it a treat when the company who issues a dvd or bluray pays great attention to the packaging, the menus, doesn't annoy me with trailers from movies I don't want to see or worse that I can't skip etc. This release has all this. I saw the poster of this movie on Instagram and got intrigued. Checked out the trailer and was sold. Now after having watched this film I'm (still) not a 100% sure what it's about. But I can say that I really liked it and will watch it again. In contrast to the huge amount of people who watch movies solely for entertainment and do not care about the photography and artdirection of a movie there seem to be a group of people who enjoy watching beautiful things, even if they don't (fully) understand them. This goes for all kinds of art. These people seem to be sick of all the vulgarity that surrounds us ... everywhere and are dying for a dose of beauty. I am surprised but very happy that there is still room and yes money for thes ekind of movies. Take some time to watch something worth while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, but where are the extras?, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you want a review of the film, check out Peter Bradshaw's excellent review in The Guardian - Bradshaw always seems to be spot-on with his reviews. All I really want to mention here is that while the film is great and the Blu-ray image and sound are excellent, there are no extras on the disc (apart from the theatrical trailer). This is a lame effort on the part of Metrodome, who should have done a better job. An intelligent, complex film like this deserves a bit more effort. Tartan did a decent job with the 'Primer' DVD, it's just a shame that Metrodome didn't so the same with 'Upstream Colour'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 14 Mar 2014
This review is from: Upstream Colour (Blu-ray)
This is a complicated film that you have to concentrate on but its interesting and rewarding. I cant say id reccomend to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You need to pay attention, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, watched it once and will definitely want to watch it again to fully appreciate it. Similar feel to Primer his earlier film which again required a number of viewings. Definitely not the film for ADD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Primer meets Malick., 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Upstream Color is a beautiful piece of Cinema that will live long in the memory. Extraordinary Film and a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Distinctive and mesmerising., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Upstream Colour [DVD] (DVD)
A friend described this to me as the most pretentious film ever, but good anyway. That fairly well sums it up. If you want to watch something self-consciously arty without an immediately obvious linear narrative, without any car chases, no loud explosions, no lengthy expositions etc this is just the film.

I enjoyed it at the cinema and then watching it again on DVD enjoyed it even more. It's the sort of film where you pick up on a lot more the second time through.

In the current packaging it's being presented as some sort of thriller. This is a bit misleading. I think the original billing of it being a story about people entangled within the life-cycle of a worm is probably more accurate.

It is very different from Primer. Much less about plot and more about themes. It is also very sensuous - a lot of attention is put into savouring the images and sounds, which is in part what the film is about. There's a lot of Walden in there too. Very much a contemplative film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Emersion, 28 Mar 2014
This review is from: Upstream Colour (Blu-ray)
It was wonderful to be taken back to a world of dreamy visuals moved along by coloured emotional reactions to the slow unravelling of an unusual story of life and attraction. A beautifully choreographed reminder of the fragility of the mind. Lovers overcoming greed and evil. Our senses became delightfully stirred and more aware. Please may we have more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa59d8dd4)

This product

Upstream Color [DVD] [2013] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
10.46
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews