Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film!
This film is a hilarious story of a drug dealers journey with his 'family' to try and cross the Mexican border without being caught. When i got it, i thought it would be like the other American comedies which are quite funny, but not amazing, but I was wrong!! We're the Millers is a very funny film, it actually made me laugh out loud on several occasion, something other...
Published 11 months ago by Genevieve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fake family road trip
Drug dealer David gets offerred a lot of money to bring back drugs from Mexico into America. Seeing them as a perfect disguise, David hatches a plan involving stripper Rose, teenage runaway Casey and neighbour Kenny and enlists them into coming with him pretending to be his fake family as he thinks the police won't think twice about stopping an all American family on a...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. R. W. Graham


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film!, 19 Dec 2013
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This film is a hilarious story of a drug dealers journey with his 'family' to try and cross the Mexican border without being caught. When i got it, i thought it would be like the other American comedies which are quite funny, but not amazing, but I was wrong!! We're the Millers is a very funny film, it actually made me laugh out loud on several occasion, something other 'comedy' films have failed to do. As soon as i had watched it i was recommending it to my friends as it certainly will not let you down. It is perfect for young adults and teenagers, or really anybody that likes a laugh, so i would definitely recommend you buy it, it has definitely made it to my top 3 films of 2013!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted fun, 2 Sep 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
We're the Millers is the tale of small-time pot-dealer David (Jason Sudeikis - Horrible Bosses) who gets mugged and loses his takings. In debt to his sharp-suited and manic supplier Brad Gurlinger (Ed Helms - The Hangover) he is tasked with making a run down to Mexico to pick up 'a smidge' of weed. Initially unconvinced, David comes up with the brilliant idea of making it look like a family holiday by recruiting neighbour/stripper Rose (Jennifer Anniston, also from Horrible Bosses) local kid Kenny (Will Poulter - Wild Bill) and homeless girl Casey (Emma Roberts - It's Kind of a Funny Story). As the quartet make their way home from Mexico in their huge Recreational Vehicle, they make bumbling mistakes that may just cost them their freedom, can 'The Millers' make it home?

At first glance, there may not be a lot to WTM - it's a pretty stupid plot that has been done in some form or another before, it plays up on the Mexican cliché that everyone either is, or is employed by, a drug dealer and all the police are corrupt. Actually whilst we're on that note; the Mexican policeman is brilliantly played by Luis Guzmán (Waiting) and he had me in stitches for his bit-part. Where WTM really comes into it's own and stands out is that everyone plays their roles so fantastically - they are all well suited to their parts. Will Poulter is the star of the show here, not only donning a convincing American accent for the duration, but really providing a tangible emotional range for the other characters to play off of.

We see stripper Rose (Anniston) get slightly maternal and look after the kids, even man-child David has some character development and by the end, I was genuinely laughing at the gags and cared for the characters in the 110 minute bit. Sure, it's a bit stupid in places and the drug-dealers are total clichés but as long as you come at this expecting an innocuous, light-hearted film, the character development will take you by surprise and you will be genuinely interested in their fates. When all this is set to a brilliant score and we get to see Jennifer Anniston do a little strip tease. What more could you want? Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great fun, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
It was very nice to watch something light and not too much blood and gore as most things these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OMG! THEY KISSED KENNY!, 27 Aug 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Dave (Jason Sudeikis) is a small time drug dealer who finds himself in trouble. In order to square things, he agrees to travel to Mexico and smuggle back drugs. To make passage easier he creates a family illusion with the formulas misfits. Rose (Jennifer Aniston) is a stripper who just quit her job and can't pay her rent. Kenny (Will Poulter) is the inexperienced neighbor boy abandoned by his mother. Casey (Emma Roberts) is a homeless girl who hangs out in the neighborhood.

Of course they get into trouble along the way. The plot of the film wasn't over powering. The comedy was watching these dysfunctional people come together as a family, even if it is just a mock family. The humor is often crude (It's a skateboard!) with Aniston reviving some of her potty mouth from "Horrible Bosses."

There were some laughable moments, but overall it is a soft 4 stars.

On the perv factor...the Aniston striptease which comes near the end was designed to be hot as she peels down to her undergarments. However, the truth be told, Demi Moore was better and bolder. There I said it.

Parental Guidance: Plenty of F-bombs, crude talk and humor. No sex. Brief male Internet nudity. Women bra/panties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Idea, 3 Jan 2014
By 
M. B. Richardson (Stockton - on - Tees, Cleveland United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A must see movie, likeable characters, great script, compulsive viewing - lots to make you laugh and smile - a real FEEL GOOD MOVIE ! Watch it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Must watch this.i bought this for my daughter as she said it was really funny.must admit I'm not a film lover but watched it with my 15 yr old daughter and must say it was absolutely great we laughted and laughted, going to watch again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
googd film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really funny!, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A bit of a chick flick, but we see J Anniston is a very different role...a bunch of misfits form a 'family' to collect a huge drug haul and payout.....what could go wrong? , everything! And all done with some great laugh out loud moments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fake family road trip, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Drug dealer David gets offerred a lot of money to bring back drugs from Mexico into America. Seeing them as a perfect disguise, David hatches a plan involving stripper Rose, teenage runaway Casey and neighbour Kenny and enlists them into coming with him pretending to be his fake family as he thinks the police won't think twice about stopping an all American family on a family vacation. A decent cast and while amusing and silly I have seen better. You know your film's in trouble when the funniest scenes are in the outtakes in the film's end credits. Ending hints at a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The art of being inconspicuous, 16 Nov 2013
By 
L. Power "nlp trainer" (San Francisco) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
We're the Millers reunites Jason Sudeikis, former SNL regular, and Jennifer Aniston who both starred in Horrible Bosses.

A low level pot dealer played by Sudeikis runs into inventory issues, and has to put together an unlikely family of misfits, which includes a down on her luck stripper (Aniston), a homeless girl (Emma Roberts), and a virgin to pose as a family of smugglers who can get across the border without attracting suspicion. Good luck.

Complications, and numerous adventures occur, and is the stripper hard hearted, or does she have a heart of gold?

What impressed me most in watching this movie was Sudeikis' vast improvement and his presence and charisma in the movie.

In previous movies he has been the also ran among greater stars, but here he occasionally displays a charisma reminiscent of George Clooney in his comedy roles, and I think this movie will prove to be a major breakthrough role for him, and put him on the map as a leading actor.

Jennifer Aniston displays her usual comedy skills, and there are a couple of raunchy stripper scenes which display her physique very well. Emma Roberts, Julia Roberts niece, shows that that she is a creditable actress in her own right. There are a number of awkward and highly inventive situations developed to great comedic effect, and to tell you more might ruin the spontaneity of your experience.

Our two main stars will also be appearing in the Horrible Bosses sequel due out next year.

I think most people will enjoy this movie, and I hope this was helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013]
We're The Millers - Extended Cut [DVD] [2013] by Rawson Marshall Thurber (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews