Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

for those familiar with the first series, this follows the same format. Three standalone episodes, inspired by the intersection between media, technology and us. None of the episodes are set very far in the future, and what extra technology there is, is merely there to make us reflect on our current attitudes and behaviour.

The three episodes are

Be Right Back,
White Bear,
The Waldo Moment

none are exactly perfect, and none are as startling as the first episode of series one, but they are all better than the remaining two episodes of series one. Charlie Brooker has done a decent job with the writing, they retain interest throughout, unlike many of these Twilight Zone type series that can drag for an hour, before the big twist reveal at the end. Some viewers may find the second episode unpleasantly intense, and though nothing explicit actually happens, it is a gruelling watch. The final episode was probably my favourite, in part because of another excellent performance by Daniel Rigby.

These are well put together, thoughtful and intelligent pieces. I am not entirely sure about the replay value, but this is some of the best tv of 2013, no questions asked.
33 comments|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2014
I sincerely believe that Black Mirror (both season 1 and 2) is the best, the darkest and the most accurate TV Show ever made in 2000s. I was hoping to find and purchase the bluray versions but apparently there isn't one, so I purchased this item and season 2. And honestly I can't compare season 1 to season 2, I can't put one in front of the other simply because they are equally flawless.

If you are looking for an exceptioanlly written and directed and acted dystopic tv series, this is what you need.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2013
I love Black Mirror. The programmes are very well made, and leave the viewer thinking at the end of them. I would definitely recommend giving it a go if you are into quite dark dramas.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2014
5 / 5 stars!

Keywords: Intelligent and credible plots set in the near-to-medium future, beautifully cut by highly professional filmmakers. Simply excellent! I sincerely hope more Black Mirror (or equivalent) are made ASAP!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2014
This series is exceptionally good in each and every term. From the script writing to the general acting and production, everything here means top notch quality.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2013
Episodes 1 and 2 are the strongest. Yet again Charlie manages to put a slight twist on an alternate state and leaves you thinking; "that could happen".
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
Though it will be compared back and forth to the 1st series, each episode stands alone and stands strong. Definite must-see.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Like the first series, this one has two very strong episodes - brilliant, actually - and one weaker episode. The one with Haley Atwell was interesting and so beautifully acted that I could watch it again and again, although very reminiscent of a couple of other works of fiction (don't want to spoil it by saying which), that made it less original than other episodes. 'White Bear' was pretty disturbing, but also very thought-provoking. The last episode was the weaker one, but still interesting enough. I actually think this series is stronger as a whole than the first one, although the first one had my favourite episode of the lot ('The Entire History of You'). Agree that this is a 'must see' series.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2015
Absolutely excellent scripting and acting, demonstrating wit, insight, multilayered politicial and social satirical commentary, as well as being highly enjoyable. Don't
get this if you're put off by frank and fairly extreme subjects. Like (in series one) a prime minister losing his marriage by having to prostitute himself in the worst imaginable way in an attempt to save a kidnap victim (and his career). For example.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Fantastic DVD, not many special features as the first series DVD though, but still nice to watch over and over.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)