Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new TV Shows of the year
Banshee is one of the best TV shows released in the past few years. It is fresh, with none of the cliche's that many shows coming out of Hollywood like to follow.

The main character, an ex-con, is neither good nor evil (something lazy Hollywood writers like to fall back on), instead he has a good heart, but his time in prison has made him hard, and taught him...
Published 18 months ago by Lyn

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Call me old fashioned but when I see the amount ...
Call me old fashioned but when I see the amount of violence done to the main characters who still end up with all their own teeth, cheek bones still in place and unimpaired vision, I cannot take the violent scenes seriously. This makes the whole of the first series unforgettable for me I'm sorry to say. Anna's father will almost certainly resurface in the 2nd series even...
Published 9 months ago by cadbury


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new TV Shows of the year, 16 Oct. 2013
By 
Lyn (London, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Banshee is one of the best TV shows released in the past few years. It is fresh, with none of the cliche's that many shows coming out of Hollywood like to follow.

The main character, an ex-con, is neither good nor evil (something lazy Hollywood writers like to fall back on), instead he has a good heart, but his time in prison has made him hard, and taught him how to fight and how to kill, and to not feel too bad about killing to protect yourself and those you care about. And after 15 years in prison, he is still very much in love with the same woman (not that stops every hottie in town from jumping into his bed).

The characters are complicated, and while you don't agree with all their choices or decisions, you can see why they are doing what they are doing.

I absolutely love this show. I can't wait for the next series. And I can't think of a single other show to compare it with, it really stands on it's own, just like Breaking Bad simply is in a genre of it's own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ONE show u must watch! ive updated this after buying the blu rays, 11 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This let's be honest largely flew under the radar but boy did it smack you round the back of the head when you watched and that's just for starters. During the season I have laughed, winced, screamed, yelled, cheered and clapped even a few hide beind my hand moments. Its violent, sexy, smart and not a regular cop show/family drama!

So to Banshee a small town with huge secrets our hero (hood although that's not his real name) is flawed and he's just moved to Banshee to find ex-girlfriend Ana after doing 15 years in jail but in Banshee she's now married with 2 kids she has the perfect life.....

Ex-Amish turned business man Proctor has got the town in his back pocket with the help of his stylish assistant Burton (man scared the crap out of me end of ep3) his niece has secrets of her own and wants to leave the Amish life behind will she manage? What is Proctor's agenda with the local Native American Tribe? Will Ana's marriage survive the arrival of Hood? Will Hood be found out being an imposter after all its not every day you assume the identity of a towns Sheriff.

Will our hero be bought by Proctor, who is the mysterious Rabbit that Hood and Ana are hiding from, will they all make it out alive?

The cast is 1st class some of the humour (most of it) comes from the superb writing of the character Job (Hood's tech&fashion fast quips mate) who is played by Hoon Lee. Ben Cross is mysterious as Rabbit with the supporting cast given ample to shine alongside the leads of Starr & Millicevic.

In my original review i mentioned [...] about how using the safe combo gives you access to material about the credit sequences and webisodes little prequels to the show well BOOM! its all here on the blu ray set and its awesome the commentaries on selected episodes are worth listening to if you enjoy hearing about the process of making a tv show (or 10 mini movies) and the graphic novel origins is here too.

All in all this rates right up there in terms of extras and packaging. Well worth the money honestly not disappointed very happy with this purchase. Proving that Banshee deserves it "one show u must see" tag 10 times over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deffinately my kinda show!, 7 Sept. 2013
By 
M. Gates "Buddy Gorgeous" (Area 51) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I can't believe I missed this when it was on TV.

What a fantastic show! It's violent. It's funny. It's nasty. It's sexy. It's got baditude. It has it all in spades.

The acting is fantastic all round. I loved Antony Starr's acting and character throughout. When he needs to be nasty he is.

I hate shows that pull punches. Too afraid and nervous, pandering to the soft at heart. Treating you like a child. From the beginning of episode one to the last it was a smack to the chops and I loved it. The violence is brutal and satisfying. A pretty repulsive bad guy pops up and most shows will only have the MC give them a slap and tickle. In Banshee you are lucky to still have your limbs intact and your head still in one piece.

Hoon Lee's character and Frankie Faison's provide plenty of laugh out loud moments and they were my favourite characters also throughout.

The 'bad guys' were brilliantly nasty, cruel and unusual. The Albino for instance was an impressive mutant to come across. Proctor was a great menacing character with every poisonous finger in every facet of Banshee's existence and Mr Rabbit, another sinister character with a lot of power at his disposal. All of them, naturally, have some shady characters at their disposal too.

Annother review commented on how they clapped and cheered throughout. I was the same. Whenever justice is dished out (and realistically too! in an interview Starr commented on how he hurt himself numerous times during the scenes) you cant help but feel that way. And despite the MC being a shady character himself and the wrong doings he himself is committing you can't help but want him to succeed.

What a fantastic show. A pulpy thrill ride with plenty of chops, balls, moxy and everything else. Highly recommended. See it immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most violent show you'll see this year!, 30 April 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
When two bad guys hold up the bar he's in, killing a cop in the process, a recently released con steps in and takes them out. When he realises that the dead cop is new in town he takes his place as the sheriff of Banshee. I caught this show on a trip to the US and it's raw stuff indeed. The rest of the series sees Lucas Hood take on Biker Gangs, rogue MMA fighters and a proper nasty albino guy in an extremely brutal prison fight. The basic premise is that he's searching for his ex girlfriend and the fortune in diamonds they stole from the mob boss he used to work for (The girl has carved out a new life in Banshee complete with husband and kids). There isn't a bum note in the cast, Anthony Starr makes a dark and brooding hero whilst Ulrich Thomsen is very convincing as one of two recurring adversaries our hero has to deal with. Being a Cinemax / HBO release it is also extremely fruity in the skin department. I've been watching TV hero's duke it out with bad guys for the best part of thirty years and although this doesn't break the mould in terms of storytelling it is very well put together. Definitely one to watch, just not with the family!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and addictive, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is probably my favourite show of the moment, so much so I bought the bluray boxset you see here - it is set in a small Amish town area where all sorts of things happen! (I don't want to spoil the show for anyone here) but if you like a crime thrilling, stylish and mysterious show with a little 'extra' thrown in then this could well be the show for you! I am now starting to watch season 2 on Sky Atlantic which is just as fun and thrilling as this first season here, and I will no doubt buy the season 2 on bluray as well when it is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series good characters a refreshing change from game shows ..., 22 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great series good characters a refreshing change from game shows and reality TV
saw part of an episode on sky and bought the set on the strengh of it. Really enjoyed the raw and gritty characters and cant wait for the second season release. Be aware that this is definatly an adult show that contains strong violence and adult themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very watchable!! Excellent storyline and acting., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Fantastic to watch. Glued to it. keep you wanting to watch the next ep! Recommended to my by a friend. would highly recommend great show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best series I've seen this year, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Cannot wait until this series comes out on DVD - although violent at times you can't help rooting for Lucas Hood (not his real name - nor do we know what it is) the sort of anti-hero of the piece.

Great theme tune and titles which feature a series of photographs related to each of the characters with Carrie's image blinking right at the end. Also great ending as there is always an extra scene at the end of the credits - worth waiting for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars of the most excellent HBO series, 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Ignore any negative reviews,this is one of the most original,totally engrossing of all, of the most excellent HBO series.
Exciting,sexy,funny,what more do you want?!!!
Roll on season 2,cannot wait!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see TV, 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This show is fantastic. Lots of mature content and violence with humour and tension thrown in. Great start and I hope they keep the quality up next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
Banshee - HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] by Antony Starr (DVD - 2013)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews