Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Shop now Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars131
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 April 2013
This is the first Foals album I have bought, I actually found them by accident and I'm quite glad I have, this is the best album I've heard this year and it's never off, I play it in the car and I sometimes bring it in to the house and play it again. theres not many albums that I can just put on and listen to from start to finish. From the heavier 'inhaler' to the mellower 'bad habit' and 'late night', every tune is a classic. Who says its all been done before, get the foals, change your life!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
This is the review for the live CD and DVD, not the stand alone album.

Immediately disappointed that CD is not the 'Live' tracks featured on the DVD. A previous effort I recall having this format was Coldplay's Mylo Xyloto album which included the live version of songs.

Don't get me wrong, I adore Foals and have seen them live so many times. And off the back of this, I would have loved to have seen a set list including live sets of Red Sock Pugie, Balloons and Spanish Sahara. I already have Holy Fire and so to find out that I had bought the album again when I already have it left me annoyed.

Holy Fire though, is an OUTSTANDING album...would have preferred the live recordings on this occasion.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
This album was simply fantastic. I did have to wait awhile, as i had this shipped to the west coast of the US. I can't believe that Foals hasn't picked up enough fans to have albums in stores over here. Anyway, more abut the album. All the songs played fine, and it is performing exactly as you would expect an album to perform. The dvd played nicely and everything.

Rating the content, I would definitely recommend this to any of my friends that are in to this sort of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2014
Great British band.. Great musicians, compositions and they get better each album.. Great live act also.. Thanks a big bunch..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
A fine body of work that connects more immediately than on previous albums but still has the strength in depth to reward you further on repeated listens. Foals trademark hooks and querky beats are still very evident but this time around they seem more effortlessly achieved. I've been playing it everyday since the day of its release...and they say albums aren't what they used to be!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
Crackin album, together with Antidotes and Total Life Forever, this will easily be the most listened to albums in my collection.

From beautiful songs that just wash over you, to tracks that make you want to jump around like a teenager on Haribo, the album has great range.

Had the pleasure of seeing them at Bristol in March, this is a band who enjoy what they do - and it shows
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2013
Great album from a fantastic band. I will not review it track by track, but try Inhaler for a start. Foals are like no other band, each track builds up to a crescendo of incredible noise. Best album of the year so far. Play the album as loud as possible, turn the volume right up.
By the way if you get chance, go and see Foals, they are actually much better live - a real class act.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
It took me a few listens to get into it but now I just cannot stop listening to this album. I bought it on the strength of the singles but I think there are songs on the album which are just as good if not better. The production is fantastic. Every song is unpredictable and takes you by suprise with an unexpected melody or killer hook. One of the best albums I have heard in years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
Flood & Moulder's production shines through yet that's to the detriment of the band's own sound I'm afraid. Somewhere in the mix is the songwriting and sound that made Foals themselves but what totally dominates is Flood's production which is lovely yes, but somewhat soulless since we've heard it all before many times over. Further, whoever did the CD mastering has stonewalled it to the point that it is almost clipping. Of course Foals will sell millions of copies of this album and fill stadiums on the back of it. Job done. Commercial MOR rock at its most easy to consume ... and instantly forget.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It is third album in for Oxford band Foals and the bid for major league status begins here with an album which according to the band "kills their inner Woody Allen" (whatever that means!). "Holy Fire" is clearly aimed at smoothing the more spiky edges of the band and is easily their most coherent and cohesive album to date. With top producers Flood & Moulder at the helm the weight of their previous experience is brought to bear and the influence detectives will detect snatches of their work with Smashing Pumpkins, PJ Harvey, Nine Inch Nails, and The Killers. Their presence has undoubtedly hardened the bands sound, made it bigger and pushed it into a place which takes the Foals vehicle screaming away from the label marked "indie". As a result some may find "Holy Fire" a bit too much like standard rock while others may hark back with fondness to the indie danceability of "Antidotes". Others may alternatively heave a quiet sigh of relief and point out that for every excellent song on previous albums there were also infuriating examples of the "far too clever for their own good" syndrome.

Perhaps the most clear example of the "new" Foals is the single "My Number". This is pure and simple cystral clear brilliant pop music which you can dance to and which could top the charts across Europe with sustained airplay. It is a belter and will entrall festival goers splattered in Glastonbury mud. The same also applies to "Inhaler; this is a twisted bible black nasty funk song the sort that the great American band "Living Colour" used to roll out on production lines, come to think of it there is also a faint nod to Peter Gabriel's 'Sledgehammer". Two minutes into the song the bands dominant force Yannis Philippakis screams out "I can get no space" and in comes the huge Zeppelin power chords to knock you off the kitchen stool. Its a snarling beast of a song and will undoubtedly raise the quantum of noise complaints to environmental health departments across local government. Things calm considerably for "Bad Habit" which is a fulsome song with an aching melody and a slippery grove brilliantly executed by the band. The three years that have been spent making this album has filled it with a huge dose of confidence and lyrically it is a different division to its predecessors. One of the other standout tracks is "Late night" which refindorces the latter point. This is a thrilling heavyweight rock song, a sort of distant cousin of the feel achieved on "Spanish Sahara" but underpinned by a muscular backdrop which could easily grace a TV on the Radio album. The passage of time will probably see it become recognised as one of their greatest songs. Much funkier is "Out of the Woods" with a great Philippakis vocal, while the joyous electronica of "Milk & Black Spiders" glides effortlessly towards the albums conclusion. The whole thing is rounded off by punchy rock of "Providence" and then the concluding "Moon" takes the album into a different realm ending it on a beautifully sombre note and showing that Foals have drawn some lessons from their Oxford forebears Radiohead.

"Holy Fire" probably does mark the transition from indie to a bigger more mainstream sound for Foals. But collectively it is an album for the band to be very proud of. It shows that the musical unit comprising Philippakis and fellow band members Jack Bevan, Walter Gervers, Edwin Congreave and Jimmy Smith are knitting together like plain and purl, in turn producing some of the finest British music on offer today. This is album is so good that its inevitable that the predictably irrelevant Barclaycard Mercury Prize is bound to pass it over. Don't make the same mistake.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)