Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what if?
This series follows a parallel 'what if' story about the Peninsula War in which far more efficient weapons (these did exist at the time) are used by an elite 'commando' / SAS international unit roaming about the Iberian Peninsula causing mahem for the invading French.
The stories are fun & for a person familiar with the Lee Enfield/Springfield/ Mauser rifles of a...
Published 10 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yew will do well to avoid this.
As there was no characterisation. I got confused - was this a work of fact or fiction; if the latter, where's the character development. Wellbeloved did x, wellbeloved did y, wellbeloved did z. end of story. Paid 77p, but returned for a refund after (too many) a few chapters. Oh, and as another reviewer has mentioned, the attempting to write an American accent was...
Published 3 months ago by Sinnerman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what if?, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This series follows a parallel 'what if' story about the Peninsula War in which far more efficient weapons (these did exist at the time) are used by an elite 'commando' / SAS international unit roaming about the Iberian Peninsula causing mahem for the invading French.
The stories are fun & for a person familiar with the Lee Enfield/Springfield/ Mauser rifles of a century later the shear lethality of the weapons is credible (the reviewer held British 'marksman' badges for the Lee Enfield in the 1970s); A capable rifleman can hit 'man size' targets out to about 600yds (550metres) quite reliably using 'iron sights' so the typical distances of up to 300yds quoted in the books are credible & would have presented a nightmare to the Napoleonic troops of the early 1800s

Try to ignore the slightly eccentric book titles!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yew will do well to avoid this., 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As there was no characterisation. I got confused - was this a work of fact or fiction; if the latter, where's the character development. Wellbeloved did x, wellbeloved did y, wellbeloved did z. end of story. Paid 77p, but returned for a refund after (too many) a few chapters. Oh, and as another reviewer has mentioned, the attempting to write an American accent was irritating to a mind-altering degree, especially as it seemed to consist solely of writing "you" as "yew", everywhere his character used the word.

Trying (and, I sincerely hope, failing) to jump on the "Sharpe" bandwagon, but he is no Bernard Cornwell.

Beware of the gushing 5 star reviews - I suspect that the author has friends!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good read but irritating editing, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book but was very irritated by the way the hero,Welbeloved spoke in the script. Each time he says you or your it was spelled yew and yor. It spoiled the whole book for me and I won't be reading any more in the series should this affectation continue.
Was this an editing mistake? Every other character spoke normally. If misspellings annoy you I would think carefully before purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Come back Sharpe all is forgiven!, 14 Aug 2014
By 
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I am sorry if this is your favourite Napoleonic series but....... total tosh.... completely lacking in historical accuracy or feasibility and totally unbelievable to any reader with the slightest knowledge of Napoleonic history or armies.

I struggled to get through the free sample without becoming frustrated but I am so glad I did not part with cash for the full books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I do not need American, or any other written accents in my reading., 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thought this was going to add to my passion for Forester and Patrick o`Brian but the moment the author started writing American accent it was all I could do to finish the first chapter; his characterisation of, what he considered the architypical British colonel - fat, useless, glutton of cartoon proportions was enough for me. I left the book, and, I fear, the author at the end of chapter one. I shan`t bother with any more of these idiots. `Yew`! Even American writers don`t use this sort of annoying gimmick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is a rollicking good read for any fans of Napoleonic fiction, I know certain other authors have done peninsula wars to death with very much a similar theme, but having said that I enjoyed this book very much and look forward to possibly reading more of "colonel Welbeloved " and his merry band on further adventures.
e
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great story, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
My studied period of history brought to life in a great story. The scale of the action in this book is probably over large to be realistic. However the action is non stop and it makes for great difficulties with family life today as it cannot be put down! I look forward to reading more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Despite of Hornets, 8 Jan 2014
By 
W. Barrie - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Do not be put off by the title,it will become clear upon reading the book,this series is on a par with the Sharpe stories and a thoroughly enjoyable tale of triumph against formidable odds fighting Napoleon armies in Spain,the characters are unorthodox like Sharpe and thoroughly engaging.Must read for fans of Cornwall and historical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An interesting era in the Napoleonic wars, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This held my interest with its descripfions of the hardships endured on the journey to the coast and the clashes with the supporters of Napoleon en route. It was a trifle formulaic but this is probably inevitable in this type of novel, personally it didn't worry me but it may deter some. The scenic descriptions also provided interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good compelling read, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Despite Of Hornets (Napoleon's Spanish Ulcer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
slow start, not sure at first who the main figure was, but soon became hooked. a very good compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews