Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very sturdy indeed.
I'd tried a couple different clip-together cases for my Pi before, but was never particularly happy with them, always seeming rather flimsy. This screw-together case is a huge improvement. I can take my Pi with me in my bag now without any concern that the case will pop open and leave the board exposed to damage.

The Pi fits snugly inside the case, the cutouts...
Published 11 months ago by Andy Keith

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy Case
The case is good looking and strong however I did find that the screw holes were a bit tight to start with plus if you plan on removing the PI from the case at any point it does destroy the screw holes pretty quickly making the case lose(within removing the case on two occasions). Also, I was missing a screw from the box.
Published 11 months ago by R. Kleman


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very sturdy indeed., 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack (Accessory)
I'd tried a couple different clip-together cases for my Pi before, but was never particularly happy with them, always seeming rather flimsy. This screw-together case is a huge improvement. I can take my Pi with me in my bag now without any concern that the case will pop open and leave the board exposed to damage.

The Pi fits snugly inside the case, the cutouts for the ports fit so well that it seems the case and the Pi were designed together from the outset.

The light pipes for the LEDs are a nice touch, and in fact provide for the only point I have that even approaches a criticism... The indicator LEDs on the Pi are pretty bright by themselves, but somehow bringing them to the surface through the light pipes makes them nothing short of dazzling! Maybe a slightly LESS transmissive medium could have been used, as even a glance at the indicators whilst in use leaves spots dancing in front of the eyes!

In summary, absolutely the best and most secure case I've had for my Pi thus far, wholeheartedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pi case, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack (Accessory)
great case to keep your raspberry pi in
very happy with it, and a fair price too
has mounting holes on the back so it now hangs on the back of the TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent case, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This case is smart, robust, easy to assemble and does the job nicely. Holds the Pi board snugly whilst allowing easy access to all the connectors (even has a slot for a ribbon connector if you want to use the GPIO interface). Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks nice but no ventilation, 18 Jan 2014
By 
P. MCKERRACHER (Carshalton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack (Accessory)
The case looks nice and provides good protection, fits together snugly and the light pipes work well, making the indicators easier to see. There's a slot in the side (not visible in the photo) to allow a ribbon cable or wires to connect to the header pins. The SD card protrudes from the case when it's assembled, which obviously allows the card to be replaced easily but also exposes it to damage or theft. I guess you could superglue it in if you wanted to prevent removal.

Apart from the side slot there's no ventilation at all, which might be a problem depending how hard you're driving the Raspberry Pi. I'm running Asterisk (a phone application) and it barely gets warm, but I imagine it might overheat if you tried streaming video, for example. The safety information leaflet that comes with the Raspberry Pi says "This product should be operated in a well ventilated environment and should not be covered", so be careful!

The two halves of the case are held together with four small screws, not shown in the picture. I would have preferred a snap-together design that was faster to open and close repeatedly and didn't require a tool, but at least it's secure and doesn't fall apart accidentally.

Update: The safety information leaflet is being a bit over-cautious. It appears that in "normal" operation (and even with some overclocking) an unventilated Pi won't get above 45°C. So unless you do something silly like wrapping it in wool it should be OK in an unventilated case. See [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sturdy Case, 16 Jan 2014
By 
R. Kleman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack (Accessory)
The case is good looking and strong however I did find that the screw holes were a bit tight to start with plus if you plan on removing the PI from the case at any point it does destroy the screw holes pretty quickly making the case lose(within removing the case on two occasions). Also, I was missing a screw from the box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Smart, sleek and good value, 1 April 2014
By 
Pollito (Bath, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack (Accessory)
I bought this for my second Raspberry Pi (my first has a Crystal Pibow case) and although it's not as pretty as the Pibow, the Pi fitted well into it and it looks smart enough sat next to my TV. The Pi's lights are well represented too. It was a lot easier to assemble than the Pibow and only took me 2 minutes to assemble as opposed to half an hour. I would definitely recommend this case as a budget solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Description of product OK, Pictures misleading, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The pictures show a VESA adaptor. Some reviews indicate the VESA adaptor is supplied. Beware, there is no VESA adaptor. Otherwise everything in order. Quick delivery and response to queries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Case, Lots of thought gone into design., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack (Accessory)
This is the second case I have bough of this brand.

The fact that you can see the LED status lights on the outside of the case, you can use it for Model A or B and that you can connect to the GPIO port through a slit in the side made this a very well thought out case.

Other notable additions is the screw mounting hole on the back to tag it onto a wall somewhere.

The only draw back over other cases I have had are the missing rubber feet to keep it on the desk. Still five stars though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, good fit and light guide feature, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really happy with this, it provides access to everything I need as well as bringing the status LED indications out to the front panel via light guides and a labelled bezel. Where the Pi doesn't have to be fitted into the absolute smallest space available, this is the best answer I have seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Raspberry Pi case, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack (Accessory)
Slightly bigger than some, but the sockets are recessed, which is far neater. This is especially nice if, like me, you're not using the HDMI, video or audio outputs. Also, you can see all the LEDs (via light pipes). Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cyntech Case for Raspberry Pi - BerryBlack
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews