Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little cracker from Philips
Thirty years ago, consumer electronics was a very different world. As I recall, Technics (remember them?) was an aspirational brand, as was Sony. Philips gear was a little cheaper that the premium brands and was pretty fragile in terms of build quality, which made buying Philips a bit of a non-starter for me, despite their impressive technical specs. A player like this...
Published 13 months ago by Peter Piper

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
unit works well as a dvd player using discs, but when trying to use the usb port on the front,the films stop half way
through, Its like reading a library book only to find the last four chapters are missing.
Still searching for possible answers!
Published 3 months ago by P. Entwistle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little cracker from Philips, 21 July 2013
By 
Peter Piper - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Thirty years ago, consumer electronics was a very different world. As I recall, Technics (remember them?) was an aspirational brand, as was Sony. Philips gear was a little cheaper that the premium brands and was pretty fragile in terms of build quality, which made buying Philips a bit of a non-starter for me, despite their impressive technical specs. A player like this (had DVDs been around then) would have been Amstrad and would have been a somewhat risky purchase. I would have expected it to be pretty creaky mechanically, poor in performance and likely to fail quickly. Anyway, time passed, brands evolved, and whilst Sony expanded to encompass a broader market and allow their once prestigious badge to be found of some fairly feeble gear, Philips kept to their policy of high tech, low-priced electronics, but now with improved build-quality. If you're of the thought "You get what you pay for!", and I'm inclined to agree up to a point, then you might be tempted to dismiss this player as cheap tat. That would be a mistake.

This is an excellent DVD player you can own for comfortably under 40. The DVP2880/05 is not a cut-down "good enough" player, it's a very competent, richly featured player.

First impressions are that it's very small and light. At one time this always meant cheap and nasty, and it still can in some instances, but in this case it just means cheap. It's about a third of the footprint of a regular full-size DVD player. Neither imposing nor impressive, it's a neat little thing. Round the back are the connectors: There are DIN sockets for composite video (yuk) and analogue stereo audio, as well as a din for digital audio. There is no SCART connector, s-video or whatever, so if you need old-style connectors, stop now. This DVD player is all about getting the most out of DVDs via your hi-def TV and HDMI is the only show in town for that.

The DVP2880's remote control is a dinky little thing and operates on a single AAA battery. It has no more than enough functions to do its job, but it doesn't require you to be close to the unit or be pointing exactly at the right part of the player.

Powered up, a process that's a little leisurely but acceptable and perhaps to be expected at this price, the set-up menu is fairly basic but covers all the important bases allowing you to set the output as you want it, including a variety of picture styles. Performance is excellent, with DVDs up-scaled to give a rich and detailed picture, and the player operates quietly and smoothly.

So far, so good. The great thing about Philips is they throw a lot of features at their customers. So not only do you get the bare necessities you also get a fancy pro-drive for reading damaged disks, you get a USB slot on the front to allow you to play pretty much any recent format on a USB drive through your DVP2880, and you get EasyLink which allows the DVP2880 to be controlled by other similarly equipped devices. That's a lot of useful features for your money!

The bottom line is that this is a little diamond from Philips, and if you're in the market for a player that impresses by its output rather than its appearance, this player punches well above its weight. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice compact player, 3 Aug 2013
By 
S. R. Tracey "Simonsaga" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
My daughter bought this based on only a couple of reviews, but both were positive and the player sounded good for the price. Arrived today and looks good - appears to do everything it should and is good value for money. Quite a bit smaller than most other players if you want to reduce the footprint from standard players. One problem, however, I forgot she wanted multi-region but eventually found the following hack on the internet:

1. Power ON the DVD player with no disc inside
2. Goto SETUP and go to Preferences
3. With preferences highlighted, Press NEXT CHAPTER>|, PREVIOUS CHAPTER |<, NEXT CHAPTER>|,
PREVIOUS CHAPTER |<
4. The OSD will show the current Region Code
5. Press the Navigation Up or Navigation Down buttons to
select your desired region, or 0 for region free
6. Press OK to confirm your region selection

This appears to have worked OK (second go), so I'm really happy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD player, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Good DVD player. Plays all my DVDs including region 1. Easy to use and comes with little remote. Fairly small in size too which is always better in DVD players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality DVD at cheap price, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Brilliant ! I would have paid more for this - not often I say that! Would recommend supplier and product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars small but perfectly formed., 28 Nov 2013
By 
Rw Gilmour "Bobby G" (Notts UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Ok, the size does not matter in this case. The DVD player does not look impressive & is rather small compared with previous players I have owned. The on screen menue is basic, maybe even a little simplistic.

That said, the viewing experience has to be one of the best I have seen. So far, there has been no lag, jumping of frames or any out of sync films. The USB works perfectly, I have only used a 16GB Kingston G3, so I cant vouch for any larger sizes yet.
I deliberately watched one film in very low quality resolution, & the player produced such a clear picture I could not tell the difference between that & other films. I have not tried any CD's or JPG's yet, so cannot comment, but feel confident that they will not be a problem.

If you want a great picture on a budget, look no further than this small but perfectly formed box.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philips DVP 2880/05, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Great little player, as expected from Philips. At the price great value for money. Also has the bonus that, with the right amount of twiddling, can be made region free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philips Advance Movie Vewing., 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Philips have introduced an outstanding D.V.D vewing experience with their new player. THE PICTURE AND SOUND QUALITY equals any on the market and is better than most in my opinion and with the U.S.B. and HDMI conectivity meets the needs of connecting a P. C. to the player.Ten out of Ten to Philips.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
excellent, easy to use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Stopped playing DVDs sent back for refund
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good little DVD player, much better than Sony one which didn't work!!!, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips DVP2880/05 DVD Player with HDMI 1080p Upscaling for Sharper Pictures, CinemaPlus, DivX Ultra and USB (Electronics)
Bought this player after purchasing Sony SR170 which didn't work at all, and so far very happy with it. Came two days earlier than expected which was great, and came included with HDMI to HDMI cable included which the Sony did not. Bit slow on loading etc but does what it says on the tin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews