Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic
Having just watched the 39th (I think) and final episode of Spartacus, I have been inspired to write my first review.

When this show gets you it really gets you. This is escapism on an epic scale, but with a real message of liberty, equality and brotherhood. I will not spoil the end, but there was a tear in my eye at the end of the last episode, 'Victory'. The...
Published 13 months ago by WS

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Epic series... But
First of all let me tell you that I love this series. It has everything in it, allowing the audience to simply switch off and get lost in the moment. Now, my issues are with the box set itself. I have watched this before I purchased it in the box set and I know the episodes; therefore, I know that some of the episodes have scenes cut out of them and then they do not have...
Published 6 months ago by Katherina


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Epic series... But, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
First of all let me tell you that I love this series. It has everything in it, allowing the audience to simply switch off and get lost in the moment. Now, my issues are with the box set itself. I have watched this before I purchased it in the box set and I know the episodes; therefore, I know that some of the episodes have scenes cut out of them and then they do not have the added "extra" included somewhere else. This disappoints me hugely because certain bits to the story are missing...annoying considering the money I paid for this.

All in all, I'd say that if you have never seen this series before then watch it because it is completely worth it, the friendships, family, blood and gore - as well as the plot, very well done and acted out perfectly. Those that haven't watched this wouldn't notice those missing bits. But, those that have watched this series, I would recommend buying a different box set that has all those extra bits included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, amazing series. Poor Boxset !, 11 Jun 2013
Spartacus - complete box-set; First to say, this is an amazing television series which everyone I know who has seen it, has loved.

My poor 3 star review is for the box-set and the fact that series 4 has absolutely no extras whatsoever. I'm holding out for the release of the American Blu-Ray box-set in September - to which the fourth season holds extended episodes, commentaries and lots of other goodies.

So if you're not interested in extras this is definitely a must buy.

If, however, you like bonus items such as commentaries and having a look behind the scenes I'd hold out until September! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 7 Sep 2013
Having just watched the 39th (I think) and final episode of Spartacus, I have been inspired to write my first review.

When this show gets you it really gets you. This is escapism on an epic scale, but with a real message of liberty, equality and brotherhood. I will not spoil the end, but there was a tear in my eye at the end of the last episode, 'Victory'. The gratuitous violence, sex and explitive-laden language, which might shock and to begin with are a 'distraction' are part of the show's unique charm and style. The cast are superb and the respectful transition from Andy Whitfiled to Liam MacItyre as Spartacus adds to the telling of the tale.

Buy it. Enjoy it. I miss it already. Back to episode 1?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 67 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series - very poor blu-ray boxset, 2 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spartacus is an amazing series - some of the best TV ever made in my opinion - but this UK blu-ray boxset has been rushed.
The cover looks cheap, and inside you just get the 4 Blu-ray series that are available for purchase separately.
The third series (War of the Damned) hasn't been released on Blu-ray in the US yet, but has been rushed for this UK release and as such has NO special features!
No commentary/making of/behind-the-scenes/deleted scenes... nothing! Alot of these things are available to watch on youtube etc, so they do exist, and the cast have talked of recording commentary's.
I'm sending my copy of this back in anticipation of a better, complete release with all features around September time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 59 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sad to review brill series like this but, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Anchor Bay must be really trying to push sales of the individual discs as well because the complete box set has NO SPECIAL FEATURES for War of the Damned. None whatsoever. This, after the director Steven De Knight has been all over twitter answering excited fans about all the extra scenes and info that would be on the disc when it's released. Then nearly £60 later ... nothing. I was wary because Amazon was trying to push people to pre-order it without giving any detailed info about what would be in the box set and now I see why. Really exploitative and unnecessary. Was hugely excited to get this and now feel really used. And the makers of DVDs wonder why people search wildly online for special features that people upload illegally to youtube and tumblr. This is why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great tv-series, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
loved the action, intrigues and acting
hated that no subtitles was avaliable in any language - sometimes their english was difficult to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simply Just OK, 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The film is fine. The major turn-off is that it does not have any subtitles, even English and the manufacturer does not really support by giving a soft copy or whatsoever. The extras (behind-the-scenes, etc) are not that interesting either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The True Story of Spartacus ??, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The four season,s I bought were excellent. This is certainly entertaining but his very violent and contains sex scene,s .So not recommended for the under 15,s. The whole series contains loads of "blood & gut", but is probably an excellent history lesson in what life was like in pre-Christian Roman. The whole season is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, sexy and gritty, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched this season on TV i knew what to expect. Lots of action, nudity and awesome story. This is definatley one of the best recent tv series. However, I will warn you there are alot of nude scenes in this and is not for the faint hearted. But if your into romans and gory battles then is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-crafted, high-octane thrills and compelling drama, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spartacus is a stylised telling of the story of the slave who broke his shackles and rose up against the might of the Roman Empire. This is a larger-than-life tale, told with exaggerated visuals: men winning often against the odds, shown in slow-mo with heart-pumping electric guitar accompaniment, and more blood than I've ever seen in a TV show before. The action is over-the-top, but it's a good over-the-top, with exciting, visceral fight choreography and quality photography and editing.

The writing, too, is decent, with the creators having gone for a poetic and semi-archaic feel which serves the intense drama of the show well while being pleasing on the ear.

It's an ugly tale, however, wherein ugly things happen. Suffering and terrible plots are the order of the day, and few smell of roses. The harsh life of those under the yoke of Rome is portrayed with bitter earnestness, as is the suffering on both sides that results directly from the rebellion. For all its visual extravagance and wry embellishment, this is still a show where the characters' actions and ultimate limitations are rooted in the grim reality of a grim world, where for many there is little chance of a happy life.

The very first episode is not that great and it takes a couple to get going, but it is easy to quickly be sucked into the trials and tribiulations of House Batiatus (the man himself played brilliantly by John Hannah, and his devoted wife equally well by Lucy Lawless) and the gladiators that spar there. Andy Whitfield is the man who plays Spartacus in the first season; sadly he succumbed to cancer and from Season 2 onwards was replaced by Liam McIntyre. The change is not too jarring, and McIntyre does a commendable job filling the sandals of the Thracian.

Craig Parker, Haldir from the Lord of the Rings films, is a compelling presence as the high-ranking military official Gaius Claudius Glaber, who starts the ball rolling with his taking of Spartacus and his wife into slavery. He remains a gripping antagonist, as in the final season does Simon Merrells as the driven, ruthless and spectacularly rich Marcus Crassus. The female characters also hold interest, with Viva Bianca in particular putting in a delightful turn as the devious wife of Glaber and Lawless perfect in the role of the other half of the Batiatus duo (now there's a formidable and terrifying marriage unit).

This show outdoes Game of Thrones on the violence and sex counts. It doesn't outdo it on quality, story intricacy or character depth, but it serves wonderfully as an extremely watchable programme to get the fists and the blood pumping. It has few pretensions but fulfills its brief admirably, with the sense at the very end of it all of having followed an epic tale, at times stirring, grim and moving and normally exciting.

The Blu-rays in Spartacus: The Complete Collection do justice to some of the magnificent visuals in the show, and generally look and sound fantastic. Extras are generous - each season has a number of featurettes with interviews, and commentaries on the majority of episodes. There's a lot to get through, but the creators' obvious enthusiasm for their programme make most of the extra materials an entertaining and interesting investment of time.

Overall, a gripping package and a unique show that is well worth checking out for those curious. Watch the prequel mini-season as it was broadcast - between the first and second full seasons - for maximum impact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD]
Spartacus: The Complete Collection [DVD] by Liam McIntyre (DVD - 2013)
£39.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews