Customer Reviews


346 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (68)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Danger on the edge of town
Five pre-middle-aged male friends are drawn to Newton Haven, the site of their failed dozen-pub crawl as students in 1990. They're led by Gary King (Simon Pegg). He's the one who couldn't move on from that night; couldn't get a job like them, or get married like them. Reluctant revelry and bad-tempered banter ensues, before the gang discovers that the residents of the...
Published 15 months ago by R. J. Lister

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Let's Boo-Boo"
Five childhood friends , instigated by Gary King (Pegg) are roped into reliving their youth by completing the "Golden Mile" pub crawl of 12 drinking establishments in their old home Town of Newton Haven, that they never managed to complete when 18. As past grudges re-surface, they have to try & settle their differences when they stumble across a terrible & horrifying...
Published 2 months ago by Jules


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Let's Boo-Boo", 26 July 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
Five childhood friends , instigated by Gary King (Pegg) are roped into reliving their youth by completing the "Golden Mile" pub crawl of 12 drinking establishments in their old home Town of Newton Haven, that they never managed to complete when 18. As past grudges re-surface, they have to try & settle their differences when they stumble across a terrible & horrifying secret.

Overall, The Worlds End has some genuine comedy moments & well worked in ideas, but apart from the fresh, neat introduction of what they are up against, it just felt like i'd seen this movie before. And that's because it's essentially a combination of Shaun of the Dead & Hot Fuzz with a new surprise twist. The film was carried with two key performances, Simon Pegg's immature, sarcastic & never admits he's wrong Gary King, whose the energetic life of the party. Contrasted perfectly with Nick Frost's more mature & solemn outlook on life, Andy Knightley. Truth be told the other characters were a bit forgettable and just tagging along for the ride.

The build up with these old mates forced to reunite was enjoyable itself, right up to the surprise reveal, that was so out of place & bizarre, it was a very enjoyable scene turning things on it's head. However the aftermath didn't quite capitalize on it, as the gags dried up, and it turned into a series of chases resulting in action fight sequences as the film went into a brawl. But it had good direction with neat special effects & cinematography/choreography. I guess the kicker was that i never cared or felt concern for any of them or the outcome, which was just as well as the end face off confrontation seemed to be confusing & just fizzled out in a blaze of CGI glory. Co-stars of note, Martin Freeman (The Hobbit) , Rosamund Pike (Jack Reacher) & a cameo appearance by Pierce Brosnan (James Bond).

In conclusion, The Worlds End has some nice ideas in it & the premise has a nice twist, but by the mid way point it had played all it's cards on the table, and gradually lost our interest. Contains strong language, violence & mature themes. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but not that funny, 26 Dec 2013
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
From send-ups of zombie and buddy cop films, Pegg and Frost now tackle the sci-fi genre, although this is not obvious at the outset. At the beginning Pegg's character Gary King is a depressed alcoholic with no future, trying to rekindle past glory by attempting a mammoth pub crawl that defeated his teenage self. On paper there's a great cast for his school friends including Nick Frost, Paddy Considine, Martin Freeman and Eddie Marsan.

Central to the film is the character of King, who unlike previous Characters Shaun and Nicholas Angel is not that likeable. He has little ambition, he's self-centred, no one can argue with him and he has the same clapped out car; a boy trapped in a man's body. There is potential for conflict with his more successful friends who have families and jobs and this is explored until their night out becomes more of a challenge.

Similar to the sort of encounters in Shaun of the Dead, their foes are now face-grabbing robots whose limbs make a satisfying pop as they snap off and their heads sometimes shatter like porcelain, spraying a thick blue blood all over the place. From this point on the exploration of character is thrown out of the window and it's more about pub brawls, spilt pints and Frost's character proving he's actually good at fighting.

Unfortunately for a comedy, it isn't that funny. I laughed occasionally and smiled at some of the other jokes but it felt like it worked better as a slightly odd drama with actors you liked. In fact there were one or two quite poignant moments where Pegg's character elicited sympathy, where his behaviour is explained. These didn't help the comedy, but added a bit of depth to the story.

For fans of the previous two films there are some nice references, like them crashing over a low hedge and wooden fence. And like Hot Fuzz the world they enter is one where there is a larger picture, where someone else is trying to control them and they have to fight their way out.

Overall it is perhaps the weakest of the Cornetto Trilogy for being less funny. On the plus side the film is very well shot, with some of the director's trademark close-ups of action and fast cuts. It has a great soundtrack of music from their youth and the setup of the pub crawl that King is determined to finish works well to bind the story together. For fans of Pegg and Frost you should see it, but anyone else might be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Last Orders, 1 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
Like Shaun of the Dead and Hot Fuzz, this film has a snappy, well scripted and funny first half. Gary King (Pegg) rounds up his old school pals so that they can complete the pub crawl they failed to manage twenty years or so earlier. Sporting the same outfit as his 17 year old self, and apparently with about as much money as he had then, King is a loafing fantasist and a scrounger, but has a nice line in witty comebacks.

Aforesaid pals are all much more successful than Gary in that they are gainfully employed, but despite having rather more to lose than him, they return inevitably to Newton Haven to embark on the golden mile.

The attraction of this film is its affectionate take on the nostalgia that is familiar to many of us who grew up in small towns. The leaving school celebrations, the wish to escape, the being sick after 2 pints. And we are all aware of how our lives took different paths and how tricky adult life can be. Perhaps that is why the first half of the film works so well.

The second half of the film is basically a 'mash up' (as I believe the youngsters call it) of Shaun and Hot Fuzz, as our heroes battle the locals - now mostly comprising cyborgs with distinctively zombie like mannerisms. I don't know how this all came about and neither do the screenwriters, and though a bit of action is nothing to complain about, here it's strangely hyped up and stylised, which doesn't quite work.

There are some attempts at poignancy along the way, mostly involving the Pegg character, but the twists and turns I was expecting failed to materialise or were predictable and contrived. Almost worth watching for the first half, but rather a chore beyond that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 41 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ideas End, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Mike (Keighley, W.Yorks) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
Don't get me wrong, World's End isn't a bad film, it's brilliantly filmed, well acted and funny in places, it's just you get a sense of deja vu watching it.

I know a lot of Wright and Pegg's work has revolved around comedic homage to other popular culture references but they are ripping them selves off dreadfully here. The central premise is lifted straight from Sean of The Dead only with robots instead of zombies, the subtext is lifted straight from Hot Fuzz (strange underground movement trying to retain the niceness of an otherwise arse end of nowhere location using somewhat unpleasant means) and the unnecessarily gratuitous swearing is lifted straight out of Paul. Even Pegg's character is a less likeable version of Tim Bisley from Spaced. Possibly, after 15 years, it's just run it's course. Sean Of The Dead and Hot Fuzz set the bar incredibly high but transparently rehashing old ideas does smack of a creative block.

I'd hate to think that with Pegg getting increasingly bigger parts elsewhere, he's losing interest in his own work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Danger on the edge of town, 24 July 2013
Five pre-middle-aged male friends are drawn to Newton Haven, the site of their failed dozen-pub crawl as students in 1990. They're led by Gary King (Simon Pegg). He's the one who couldn't move on from that night; couldn't get a job like them, or get married like them. Reluctant revelry and bad-tempered banter ensues, before the gang discovers that the residents of the town have changed. That is, they have BEEN changed...

The World's End is considerably better than the ostensibly similar This Is The End, a super-indulgent American comedy which mistook f-bombs for humour and name-dropping for satire. Edgar Wright's film is indulgent also, but at the service of audience enjoyment, as opposed to the enjoyment of the players. The script is surprisingly dense and intricate, many of its jokes arriving bittersweet. In an era when so many comedies are heavily (and lazily) improvised, it's refreshing to watch a tightly woven story unfold for once.

The action scenes are given equal attention, lovingly choreographed like some kind of slapstick dance. Chief pugilist is Andrew, our sort-of-hero, played by Nick Frost with remarkable agility. This instalment is far less bloodthirsty than its predecessors - more Scott Pilgrim than Shaun.

The rest of the group is made up of Paddy Considine, Eddie Marsan, and Martin Freeman. The performances are all top-drawer, although it takes time for their individual personalities to emerge. But then, the fact that they are now practically indistinguishable may be the point - for all their disapproval of Gary, they are the ones playing it safe.

What's most impressive about The World's End is the fact that it's actually about something. Nostalgia is easy to indulge but difficult to deconstruct, but this film genuinely aspires to explore the idea of selective memory - as with a bad hangover, our memories tends to return in subjective spasms, and the truth is only accessible by gathering multiple witnesses. And the truth isn't always what it cracked up to be.

The World's End is, for me, the best of the "Cornetto Trilogy". Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Newton (westworld/stepford) Haven, 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
I think my age puts me dead smack in the middle of the demographic for who this movie would be good for. All the nostalgia elements were right on the nose for me and so I laughed a lot (mostly in the first half). It is inevitability an older team making this than made the previous movies and yes they have lost some of their edginess, but for a bit of a romp it was great. I found some of the action sequences hilarious, although I do admit the endless bashing of empty shells that no one placed any value on got dull. I think it is one of those movies where if you had high expectations and were paying for an expensive blu ray or premium cinema tickets it may be a bit of a disappointment, but if you want a cheap laugh on a night in it is great (with caveats about the end sequence which may be best just entirely ignored). Solid cast although with some of them it did feel like they had been written in to give a mate something to do. (almost talked my self down to 3 stars so will end there).
Decided it should be 3 stars, 4 stars may be misleading considering how little the 2nd half of the film held my attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
I can't help but love Simon Pegg & Nick Frost films - Shaun of the dead is genius - and this doesn't fail to entertain. For once Nick Frost isn't the 'dumb but loveable' best friend and actually gets to act a little more. But this is still a Pegg/Frost film so you can expect plenty of boy humour and action. Plus some rather decent cameos from well known faces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh along funny, shame they didn't know how to end it, 11 Jan 2014
By 
John R. Wade "john24526" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
This is a really enjoyable film about five friends reunited to finish the marathon pub crawl they attempted when they left school. Basically, that's it, the rest of the film is just an excuse for childish jokes, which makes it great fun.
They had no idea how to end it, so the last 15 minutes are pretty superfluous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Weakest Of The Corrento Films? I Don't Think So!, 26 Nov 2013
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World's End [DVD] (DVD)
First off, some of the reviews for THE WORLD'S END have completely baffled me. They're obviously reviewing this film in comparison to both SHAUN OF THE DEAD (2004) and HOT FUZZ (2007), when they should be reviewing the film on it's own right. Edgar Wright, Simon Pegg and Nick Frost have delivered another winner. THE WORLD'S END puts most of the comedies that Hollywood have been making this year to shame.

Just as SHAUN OF THE DEAD was made in honor to the zombie flicks, and HOT FUZZ to the action/buddy cop films, THE WORLD'S END was made in the style of 'social science-fiction' like DAY OF THE TRIFFIDS (1951) by John Wyndham, and the TRIPODS series (1967-1988) written by Samuel Youd. Even though this is the third, and highly likely last, installment of the so-called 'Corrento Trilogy', Wright, Pegg & Frost had made some right choices in making sure this wasn't a rehash of the previous efforts.

In the other two films, Pegg & Frost played the comedy-duo - the former was the normal one and the latter was the idiot. In THE WORLD'S END, Pegg plays Gary King, who refused to grow up in life and pretends that it's still the teenage years, while Frost plays Andy Knightley, who's more grown-up and has moved on with his life. Also, this film centers on five characters rather than two: As well as Gary and Andy, there's Steven (Paddy Considine), Oilver (Martin Freeman) and Peter (Eddie Marsan).

Every scene when the five does battle with or escape from the clutches of the robots is always enjoyable and exciting. As well as being funny and action-driven, THE WORLD'S END also has it's moments to shine in the drama between the characters, something that the other 'Corrento' film accomplished and what we hardly get in Hollywood comedy films nowadays.

So, yeah, THE WORLD'S END was brilliant. I would rank this among my favourite films of 2013 (alongside both CAPTAIN PHILLIPS and GRAVITY) and I'm really, really looking forward to Edgar's next film as director, an adaptation of the Marvel comic he grew up reading, ANT-MAN (eta 2015). I also hope one day, he, Pegg and Frost will team-up again to make another film together.

Reviewer: Ben David W
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A sad third film in the 'trilogy', 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A sad third film in the 'trilogy'. Not a patch on Shaun of the Dead or Hot Fuzz. Failed to raise the slightest smile. Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World's End [DVD]
The World's End [DVD] by Edgar Wright (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews