Customer Reviews


901 Reviews
5 star:
 (796)
4 star:
 (68)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minions come to fore
For me this was a sequel which actually improves on the original. There was plenty of eye-popping visual inventiveness and some great laughs that were cross generational and kept the whole family entertained, The minions are as a adorable as ever, and in this production it was great to see that they got more centre stage billing and they do really deliver the goods with...
Published 6 months ago by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable Me
The sequel, or as it is sometimes known – the cash in. Many second instalments of a series have been a quick turnaround to try and make money out of a newly popular franchise. However, there are exceptions to the rule; the ‘Toy Story’ films for instance. Unfortunately, ‘Despicable Me 2’ is no such exception and instead feels like a film...
Published 3 days ago by Sam Tyler


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Minions come to fore, 22 April 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
For me this was a sequel which actually improves on the original. There was plenty of eye-popping visual inventiveness and some great laughs that were cross generational and kept the whole family entertained, The minions are as a adorable as ever, and in this production it was great to see that they got more centre stage billing and they do really deliver the goods with lots of minion mischief.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 85 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A greatly successful sequel with even more hilarity, despicability, girl power and minions - and agent Lucy Wilde..., 1 July 2013
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I loved this movie and both my daughters loved it even more. It is AS GOOD as the first part, therefore this review follows the main lines of my review of the first "Despicable me". This review contains very limited SPOILERS.

1. Hilarity - Exactly as the first film, this sequel is HILARIOUS! There is hardly any 15 seconds in this movie that would not contain a really good gag, children or/and adult oriented. Whoever wrote the scenario was a genius!

2. Despicability - in this film Gru is a little bit different from what he was in the first part. He is no more so grumpy, mean, petty and permanently aggravated - he certainly smiles more and all his attitude softened. He remains however exactly as insecure as in the first film. That being said, there are moments in this film when the old Gru resurfaces, when his heart is broken or when somebody REALLY upsets him. His geriatric sidekick and only friend (well, kind of) doctor Nefario didn't take all this change easily and he has some trouble to adapt his evil laboratory to new tasks of producing jam and jelly... Gru's murderous (and toxic) dog/rat/wolverine/skunk like pet on another hand felt completely under the spell of the girls - but still gives a great show! The two "bad guys" are also excellent - which is a real achievement, considering that one of them belongs to species usually not associated with evil villainy...)))

3. Girl power - as in the previous film, I believe that any parent of little girls will fall immediately in love with Margo, Edith and Agnes, the three little orphaned sisters Gru adopted in the first part. Those seemingly defenseless creatures took him since under the sweet and soft but in the same time surprisingly totalitarian control little girls exercise over their fathers, adoptive or not...))) Agnes, the youngest of the three (I think she is 5) is still particularly sweet - if only she was real I would adopt her on the spot and spoil her silly all the rest of my life! Tomboyish Edith, aged around 8, still wears permanently her pink hat which seems to comfort her, but as you will see she certainly recovered from her previous traumas...))) Margo, the oldest one, is now a young teenager (she is about 13 I think) and starts already to think about boys, something which TERMINALLY freaks Gru out - and I can relate here! Honestly, if you already are a parent of a little girl, you WILL LOVE this movie. And if you do not have yet a young daughter, get one!

4. Minions - as in previous film, as far as reasons to watch this movie go, even the girls must cede the first place to the minions! The totally devoted, fearless (well, mostly) and highly professional and in the same time impossibly immature and conflicted army of Gru minions is THE greatest treasure of this movie. In this film there is even more minions and believe me - they pack incredible fun! I am very impatient to see their own film, which should be released somewhere in 2015.

5. Agent Lucy Wilde, a young rising star in the Anti Villain League, is a new element and a new delight added to this film and her character is a great success. Well trained in martial arts and using some extremely cool gadgets, she is also a mixture of perfect lady and a tomboyish, contagiously enthusiastic adventurer, still lacking a little bit of experience and therefore prone to attack first and ask questions later...))) And she is also cute, which certainly doesn't hurt.

I purposefully omitted in this review some of the characters and did not hint at most of the gags and scenes, to avoid big spoilers and keep things short.

To conclude, this is a TREASURE OF A MOVIE. A thing to see in cinema, then buy on DVD, watch, keep and re-watch on regular basis. And I ABSOLUTELY hope for A SECOND SEQUEL!

PS. LONG LIVE MINIONS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YOU DON'T NORMALLY SEE THAT IN BUNNIES, 14 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Former criminal and now nice guy Gru (Steve Carell) is recruited by secrete agent Lucy (Kristen Wiig) to find a bad guy. They set him up in a mall bakery. There is something about a redhead named Lucy working in a bakery that jogs the memory.

While there are a few things for adult, the humor is geared at kids combining generic spy humor with fart jokes. Gru calling Mr. Ramsbotton, Sheep-butt got the biggest laugh among the kids. The colorful Candyland looking scenery along with the type of humor clearly indicates a this is for a younger crowd, i.e. tweens most likely won't be overjoyed sitting through it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Forgettable Me, 22 Oct 2014
By 
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The sequel, or as it is sometimes known – the cash in. Many second instalments of a series have been a quick turnaround to try and make money out of a newly popular franchise. However, there are exceptions to the rule; the ‘Toy Story’ films for instance. Unfortunately, ‘Despicable Me 2’ is no such exception and instead feels like a film that does not really need to exist and actually retracts slightly from the wonderful original. ‘DM2’ opens after the events of the first film with Gru now living in domesticity with his three adopted daughters. He is trying to be good, but his skills as a bad guy are perfect when he is asked to hunt down a mysterious villain who is hiding somewhere in plain sight.

The issue with ‘DE2’ is that is has many of the same elements of the first film, but little that feels new. The Minions are great fun as before and they deserve their own film, but the humans just are not up to snuff. Gru is thrown into a shopping mall environment and the film basically consists of his awkward relationships with normal people. The joke wears a little thin towards the end, especially as the various potential enemies are a little drab.

Despite the film not being excellent like the previous outing, it is still very solid. The voice cast do good work with Steve Carell once more shining. The animation is also excellent; there is plenty of colour and mischief on the screen to keep a child happy. Even an adult will sit through the film and enjoy it, but there is no repeat value like before so watching again and again and again will be very troublesome. It is a shame that the script was not made a little stronger as this could have been a classic series, as it is, this sequel will probably be forgotten in time like ‘Weekend at Bernies 2’.

Depending on what version of the DVD/BluRay you buy the extras will differ. I watched a reasonable light BluRay – the imaging was excellent and it is the better format, but with only two small featurettes and a directors commentary I was a little let down by the extras. However, as in most cases it is the film that really makes the difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cynicism rules !!, 8 Aug 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Refreshing to see an animation with some "normal" human behaviour not the usual over-slushy American sort. The plot is about an evil-minded villain attempting to take over the world and being stymied by Despicable-Me and his minions so nothing unusual there but it's the refreshing lack of vomit making sentimentality that makes it stand out from the crowd and make it a film that's fun to watch especially if you're a bit cynical - It appeals to all age groups not just children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than the original, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I totally agree with the other five star reviews here, this film is just so entertaining for kids and adults alike. Watched it over Christmas with the family (and several times since then), and as an in-law said, you could put this on repeat play and the family would just sit there and watch it over and over again. It's a film that just makes you laugh and feel so good. Is there any better sort?

The plot in short is that Gru gets recruited, somewhat reluctantly, into working with the Anti Villain League to help with a series of unsolved crimes. Along the way we are introduced to several new characters, notably El Macho, a mad 'guard chicken' and Lucy Wilde, the AVL agent assigned to work with Gru. I really like the way that Gru's and the three girls' characters have been developed since the last movie (Margo has her first crush!) and clearly much thought has been given with this. It certainly works.

For once, a sequel that is even better than the original, and bravo to the guys at Illumination Entertainment who have proved beyond doubt that they are not simply cynically exploiting the success of the earlier film. Roll on Despicable Me 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gru-tastic!, 4 Sep 2014
By 
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I'm not ashamed to say I love this film. A worthy sequel to the first one. Kristin Wiig is a fine addition to the voice cast and gets, or improvises, some great lines. I like the fact that it doesn't look like your usual run-of-the-mill animation and put this down to one of the key members being French. The characters and settings have a pronounced Gallic look which puts me in mind of many great French movies. There is more than a little Jacques Tati about Gru! Watch and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD - DESPICABLE ME 2, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This was the follow on from Despicable Me. Sequels do not always work, but this one does. Once again, the story line is solid and Gru's workers, the Minions, are even better than they were the first time around. The laughs come fast and furious, being set at two levels - one which young children will love, but at the same time at a higher level, which adults will laugh out loud at. It's a pity we have to wait until 2017, before Despicable Me 3 is planned to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 17 April 2014
By 
L. Harris "honest" (Swansea.Wales.uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Bought for 6year old who was down with chicken pox.She and her sibblings watched it 7 times in first week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM, KIDS LOVE IT, 4 July 2014
By 
Mrs. G. Low - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
GREAT FILM, KIDS LOVE IT, HAVE WATCHED IT SEVERAL TIMES AND NEVER GET BORED WITH IT.
ARRIVED QUICKLY AND GOOD PRICE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013]
Despicable Me 2 [DVD] [2013] by Chris Renaud (DVD - 2013)
£7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews