Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A novel with more twists than a US Presidential campaign
Carl Hiassen's writing technique by far outshines any other mystery writers in his class. With such an aptitude for characters and entwining plots, he is a modern day Dickens. "Trap Line" is a story of intrigue and pure comedy which is so tongue in cheek and well written, we wonder how he has remained a secret for so long. With the success of "Strip...
Published on 16 Jan 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best
As genre fiction, not awful but not great. A straight-through read but a bit formulaic, characters somewhat stereotyped and not as witty as one expects from Hiaasen.
Published 10 months ago by Jonathan Miller


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A novel with more twists than a US Presidential campaign, 16 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Trap Line (Paperback)
Carl Hiassen's writing technique by far outshines any other mystery writers in his class. With such an aptitude for characters and entwining plots, he is a modern day Dickens. "Trap Line" is a story of intrigue and pure comedy which is so tongue in cheek and well written, we wonder how he has remained a secret for so long. With the success of "Strip Tease" (both in writing and on the big screen), it is surprising, nigh on unique, to see that Hiassen has not been fazed by success: his succinct style and the daunting, but equally hilarious reality he portrays renders the reader incapable of putting his books down. An amazingly captivating book for those dark months ahead and a smile-a-page, what more can you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Carl Hiassen, pure delight., 19 May 2014
By 
Thomas D. Wilton "The Diver" (Chesterfield, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
The villains get all they deserve in any Carl Hiassen production in many inventive and comic ways as possible! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating. Well structured. Humorous., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
This is the seventh book by Hiaasen I have read and though not as funny as many it still pulls the reader in, makes you want to keep reading, paints deep pictures of the main characters and concludes well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 20 Feb 2014
By 
E. Fewster - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
I'm pretty new to Carl Hiaasen, I bought Sick Puppy/Skin Tight from a charity shop and there's been no going back since! I though I'd have a look on the kindle store and found this book and really enjoyed it. It's easy to read and a witty, fun book. I'll definitely be reading more Carl Hiaasen books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
As genre fiction, not awful but not great. A straight-through read but a bit formulaic, characters somewhat stereotyped and not as witty as one expects from Hiaasen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, 8 Mar 2013
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
As usual Carl Hiaasen delivered another excellent book with great characters. Could stop reading once I started! Got another one lined up ready to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Trap Line, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
Pacy and well described but seemed to die off too quickly at the end
Characters well filled out and to get sympathy for a smuggler is an achievement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
This is one of my favourites! Classic Hiaasen moments throughout, with an added edge to it. Brilliant writing, a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars So so., 14 Oct 2014
By 
D. Bull "Bully." (West Midlands, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
I read this but it didn't have any sort of a wow factor. It was okay but it seemed to me to be writing by numbers, it never surprised me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars carl hiassen, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trap Line (Kindle Edition)
Good story if you like Carl hissed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trap Line
Trap Line by Montalbano Bill
£5.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews