Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Par excellence
Eight short stories from the dark prince of noir, all very different but all of high quality.

The opening story, London Calling, is a seedy tale. Local thug boss Jonny Lad wants another guys girlfriend so he sets him up with a prostitute. Don, a minor drug dealer, gets involved but decides to turn the tables in an attempt to get his girlfriend back. Short but...
Published on 6 Feb. 2013 by K. Nixon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars collection of short stories
A collection of short stories. not bad for when you can't decide what else to read, you can put your feet up and enjoy a few different stories.
Published 17 months ago by I Love Reading


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Par excellence, 6 Feb. 2013
By 
K. Nixon (Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
Eight short stories from the dark prince of noir, all very different but all of high quality.

The opening story, London Calling, is a seedy tale. Local thug boss Jonny Lad wants another guys girlfriend so he sets him up with a prostitute. Don, a minor drug dealer, gets involved but decides to turn the tables in an attempt to get his girlfriend back. Short but funny.

In Hound of Culann, protagonist Gilmour agrees to collect a crate in return for £2000. But inside the crate is a trained, killer dog. Gilmour doesn't like the idea of such a dangerous dog being loose and takes matters into his own hands, for money of course. An example of the great writing:

"He was your typical 'Troubles are over, my arse' Ulsterman. Tats. Sovereign rings. A swagger you could dry clothes on and a number-one to the nut. They were ten a penny in the city now. Usually, I'd have sent him packing with a brick up his hole but the well used Webley in his waistband said he meant business."

Last Orders is the original short version of the recently published novella of the same name. Worth a read to spot the differences.

Pretty Boy follows Stauner who's cheated the gang boss out of money, but he finds out...

This Charming Tam is about as short as you can get...

Ten Bell's At Robbie's takes some concentration as it's written in the local accent. It's well done, a different take on Christmas family celebrations.

Jailbait Stalemate is an anti-romance, a guy spots a girl in a pub and decides to chat her up but there's a problem with his one-liner.

In The Gift of Family two relatives knock off a couple of bookies in perhaps my favourite of the lot.

All sharp stories, with similar themes. Gritty, taut, great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A feast of short crime stories, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. M. Sharp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
This collection of short stories kept me gripped. Some are only a few pages long but the ideas are so well thought out they could have been expanded in to novellas or even full books. Many are morality tales but each offers a new slant on the world that will make you think.

As it is, good things come in small packages and I enjoyed each turn of the (Kindle!) page.

Tony Black's ear for dialogue and dialect sets him apart as the finest crime writer of the day. And if you don't believe me, Irvine Welsh (of Trainspotting fame) thinks the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars collection of short stories, 19 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
A collection of short stories. not bad for when you can't decide what else to read, you can put your feet up and enjoy a few different stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buzarre, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
Took a while to get into and confused me sometimes but made m laugh a lot too. If you are offended by swearing Thu book I nit for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars london Calling, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
I really liked this book. I like Tony Black books.
I sit and read the books instead of watching tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mean literary snacks!, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
N. Helfrich "Thriller Addict" (Not from this Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
This is a collection of fast, brutal and mean short stories of which Tony Black is a true master!
Black conjures up a gritty world of crooks and crime with only few words whereas others fail to do that with entire books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality shorts!, 13 Feb. 2013
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
Not just Irvine Welshs favourite crime writer, but my favourite writer! A collection of sometimes gritty, sometimes humourous short stories. Including an outing for Gus Dury (now released as a novella). Can't wait for the next Tony Black novel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIGHLY ENTERTAINING!!!, 7 Feb. 2013
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
I couldn't agree more to the previous review by K. Nixon! These are eight witty, gritty and ever so fukn-great short stories by the MASTER himself, including the most recently published novella of LAST ORDERS. Although already being published - it is really worth a read to spot the differences!

As for the other stories, all very different but with that 'certain touch' Tony Black puts into every single one of either his novellas and/or books, his story telling reaches its climax at each individual story!!!

I'm not a native Scot, but I really love stories written in the local accent, so "Ten Bell's At Robbie's" and "The Gift Of Family" had me both in stitches and especially the latter is my favourite story of the lot!!!

FANTASTIC READ!!! GO AND GET IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal, brilliant and funny, 10 Feb. 2013
By 
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
There isn't a wrong note in this collection of shorts from one of the most compelling authors working today. Black seems to get better and better with each new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This didn't hold me at all, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to like this book - something different from the usual American based thriller - but I found the writing style too contrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Calling
London Calling by Tony Black
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews